We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquail beautiful place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Lak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nang Thong Bay Resort
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tranquail beautiful place”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We come to this resort every year as our yearly retreat to rest and recharge. NTB is just perfect for that. We will always book the place a year in advance so that we can secure the beach front cottage which provides direct access to the beach. We love sitting at the front porch enjoying the sea view, listening to the sound of waves and the light breeze.

Restaurant is perched right at the beach and is a good place for watching sunset. Food is pricier but is good. The warm service of the staff will make any stay pleasant. Housekeeping is thorough, towels are changed daily and room is swept clean of sand. Internet access is good and strong. Aircondition broke down on second day but the staff got it fixed fast. The buggy will take you to the main road where you will find the supermarkets, eateries and small local shops for shopping.

For this price, location services, the resort is a good find and worth coming back to every year.

Tips:
1) For beach front cottage, book way in advance.
2) Room 101-106 have good views. Room 107 is blocked by a massage tent set right outside.
3) Room 102 has best view. No trees blocking the view.
4) Bring lots of mosquito repellent or buy it there.
5) There is a supermarket at the main road catered for tourist. Stock up on food/ snacks/ drinks in the fridge and enjoy them to the sound of waves.
6) Local night market is held on every Wed and Sat. Worth going for cheap finds and local street food. Ask staff for directions.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank equinoxism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    90
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
92
138
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our second stay at NTB but our first in a beach front cottage with 2 young children. The cottage is basic but nice with it's strong point being it's easy access to the beach. Each cottage will feel slightly different due to the view from the porch. We had the view of the massage tables which was a bit worrying at first due to a lack of privacy however we got over it pretty quickly. Some cottages have nicer looking gardens while some others are still a work in progress. The only downside to the cottage we were in in and may be common with the others is that the garden with the outdoor shower is not looked after. Ours had a dead-ish tree, dirt and and stones. We had to keep the kids from stepping onto the dirt while we were having a shower. I would encourage the resort to get rid of the shower gardens and replace it with concrete, making room for hanging line space to hang and dry clothes. The staff at NTB are generally very nice and it is a great service driving guests to up the hill to the main street. Free wifi was good as well. We took a look at the beachfront of NTB 2 and personally I prefer NTB 1, but there does not seem to be a huge difference. At the end of the day, the most important thing is that the price of NB represents great value for money and I hope to be able to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 120speedracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Another wonderful stay at Nang Thong Bay Resort. We were there 3 years ago (same time mid November) and I fell in love with it. At that time we couldn't get a beachfront bungalow, but this time we got one, and it was fantastic. It was really good especially for the kids (3.5 and 1.5 years old) as they enjoyed playing in the little garden in front of it. Good points:
• The staff is very friendly and very helpful.
• Booking very easily done straight with the hotel.
• Great value for money for a beach front resort.
• Their pick up and drop off service from/to airport is very efficient and worry free. Because of our 2 little kids we had lots of luggage. They picked us up with those people movers, a huge car only for us.
• The buggy ride up to the supermarket was really convenient and very helpful.
• Best beachfront bungalows are 103,104,105 and 106.
• Hotel location is very convenient, so close to the heart of town, restaurants, shops, supermarket, etc.

Points that NTBR1 could improve:
• Cots. We were given a cot that it was very unsafe. All the guards/sides were rusted. Very dangerous when a toddler's mouth is the same height as the guard. The mattress was not big enough to cover the gaps on the bottom, so when my son stood up holding the sides of the cot he fell in those gaps. Luckily I had taken with me a portable tent for the other child, but had to put the baby there, and the kid slept in our bed. One way NTBR1 could improve is investing in portable cots, they are better than the metal ones they have there.
• Massage tables in front of our bungalow was a turn off. That bungalow has the potential to be the best one in the resort, as it's the last one in the complex and it has more shade, but because the massage tables are opposite to it you lose a bit your privacy. If NTBR1 could move them to the restaurant side, this bungalow would definitely be the best one.
• These bungalows have a sort of outside shower, which is quite cool. However they are supposed to have a little inside garden next to it. But ours had just dead plants, it looked a bit barren. They could have maintained it a bit better.
• TV reception is bad. But they have a DVD player, in which I may have forgotten a child's dvd in it.
Overall, this is a fantastic place to spend a family holiday and if I could I'd go back every year.

Room Tip: Best beachfront bungalows 103,104,105 and 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have just spent 9 nights in Nang Thong Bay Resort and really loved it. We booked a family room for two people as we decided to go for an apartment and not a cottage for this length of time. The adjoining rooms and bathroom were spacious and the beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows and clean sheets every day. The bathroom was beautifully fitted, and we had plenty of towels (both bath and beach) changed daily. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but the beach facing cottages looked absolutely gorgeous and were much better situated than our room. We faced the road that runs through the resort and it is quite noisy, even early in the morning.
TV reception was not good and there is very little to watch in English anyway. We could not use the closets as they smelled very musty. We were looking forward to unpacking after two weeks of travelling but had to continue living out of suitcases.
Another problem was the internet which was often non-existent in the room. The signal was weak and slow and intermittent. (We got a much stronger signal from the next door hotel). I mentioned this to reception and were told that that's the best there is and that the internet in the lobby is better.
We had a big cockroach in the room on the first night but it disappeared. This must be due to the high humidity rate and there's probably not much which can be done. Mosquitoes were not too bad but repellent is a must!
The air-conditioning in the room is excellent as are the ceiling fans. There are no phones in the room which was a bit inconvenient as we were quite far from the reception area.
The pool is lovely. Used it only twice as we usually used the beach. We didn't have much of a problem finding sunbeds but it is annoying that guests save sunbeds with towels and don't use them all day!
The restaurant has the most amazing view. It is right on the beach and the food is good, if a bit more expensive than other places in the area. We ate breakfast at the resort a few times but stocked up with fresh bread, jam, fruit and yogurt from the supermarket up the road. The room had a kettle but no tea or coffee. We would have been happy to pay a bit more and have an inclusive breakfast.
The staff were always pleasant and very friendly and the resort is very "laid back" and relaxing and conveniently located (a short walk to Bang la On town).
All in all, we loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We first found NTBR1 in 2011 when staying at another resort in Khao Lak, we had a look around the grounds and beachfront bungalows and decided there and then that this is where we would stay next time. From the first email to Jist we knew that we had made the right choice, she was very efficient and helpful the whole time with all of my enqiries and booking
We arrived on a very wet evening on Oct 5th and had a very quick and friendly check in and finaly got to meet Jist who is just lovely. We were taken to our room, a beachfront bungalow in the golf buggy and shown into our lovely room. I was suprised at how big it was and it has everything you need, flatscreen tv, dvd player, personal safe,kettle tea/coffee, plenty of storage etc the outdoor shower is just awesome we loved it :)
The bed is very large and very comfortable, it was just great falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach, and what a lovely view to wake up to in the morning
The price of the rooms (which are very reasonable anyway) doesn't include breakfast but we would just order what we felt like on the day each morning and it was cooked fresh for us, so much better than buffet breakfast, and very reasonable prices too, great to sit there looking out over the lovely beach. You can walk up the street and eat elsewhere but we enjoyed sitting at their restaurant for breakfast and for the price and view who wouldn't? We also had a few meals here during the day and/or evening too and always had great meals, no complaints at all
All the staff were just wonderful, so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the young guy would run us up to the hyw in the golf buggy when ever we wanted to go and also on a phone call from Nang Thong supermarket he would return to pick us up again.....service with a smile :)
The rooms were always made up and cleaned every morning by 10.30am with fresh linen every day, a better service than we have had in some of the big resorts
The pool is great and so relaxing looking out over the beach, plenty of sunbeds and pool bar service, great place for R&R and a few drinks
The location is excellent for shops and restaurants just a quick walk up to the hyw and you have more than enough choices there with it being located in the main town.
we got our laundry done for 50bhat kilo just down the road walking toward NTBR2, (opposite Seaview Resort) got it back next day all folded neatly and smelling beautiful
We loved our stay here and it wasn't long enough by far with only 8 nights, but we will be back for sure, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here :)
Thankyou and see you next time Jist and staff :)

Room Tip: beachfront bungalows are excellent and the best, but some garden bungalows on second row have a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mossy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Due to unforseen circumstances, I had to cut down my stay to four nights here, in a garden bungalow during the October "Green Season" at NZ$48 a night, as part celebration of my four score & ten. I would like to commend Manager, Khun Jist and her team, on the efficient handling of my medical emergency, which was speedily resolved, by a combination of them, Khao Lak Inter Clinic and Bangkok Hospital, Phuket ;- before letting me back to recover in this ideal spot, with the help of all, including the hotel electric shuttle vehicle driver. This place compares very well with anywhere and at these prices is on my future list. I appreciated the thoughtful and pleasant assistance of the resort.
Regards Gordon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Point, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a Beach Front Bungalow and wow just amazing. Low season rates worked out to be approximately Aus $50 a night which was just outstanding value for money. Nothing could beat the sound of waves crashing at night as you drifted off to sleep.

The rooms were good size with an outdoor shower which just added to the charm of this resort. All the bungalows had a verandah with chairs and small table where you could just relax and take in the views of the beach. Great position to watch the magnificient sunsets over a couple of cold ones.

Although the rates didn't include breakfast there were ample choices in the restaurant at resonable prices. Such a great way to start the day enjoying the beach view from your table. The restaurant also served a selection of fantastic meals throughout the day.

All staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The resort ran golf buggies free for hotel guests if they were feeling relaxed and didn't feel like a walk up to the street. Which was only a 5-10 minute walk up the road.

I highly recommend this resort, and have already booked to stay here again next March

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BomJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.0 mi away
Suwan Palm Resort
Suwan Palm Resort
#51 of 68 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#3 of 7 in Khuk Khak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khaolak Oriental Resort
Khaolak Oriental Resort
#16 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
1.2 mi away
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Baan Khaolak Beach Resort
Baan Khaolak Beach Resort
#45 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nang Thong Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nang Thong Bay Resort

Property: Nang Thong Bay Resort
Address: Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#21 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#30 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Nang Thong Bay Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Nang Thong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing