We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem of a Place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Lak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nang Thong Bay Resort
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at NTBR1 for 6 nights from 5-11 October. This was my 1st time to Khao Lak but certainly wont be my last, and I will be staying here again.
The resort itself is wonderful, quite and peaceful , lovely gardens, right on the beach.
We had a beach bungalow which in my opinion was the brest place to be, with direct views to the beach, nothing better than sitting on your balcony, listening to the waves, and watching the Sunset over the ocean.
The rooms are very spacious, we had 3 adults in one room and had plenty of space, and the outdoor shower is a fantistic idea .
Breakfast is not included in the room price, so you can either go up the road to one of the local eateries or just have it at the resort which is what we choose to do, you cant beat having breakfast by the beach. Prices were very good, you can choose what you want and only pay for what you want that way. Best thing is they make real coffee so it was a few Lattes for me each morning. The resturant was also really goood value for dinner, and we had a few there.
Location is fantastic, approx 300-400m from the highway, where you wll find the Nang Thong supermarket, heaps of cafes and little bars to frequent. You can either walk, or the hotel will take you up in there golf cart at any time. Infact they were fantastic, we even got one of the girls in the supermarket to call the hotel after we had done a shop and they came back up to pick us up, took us too our room, and carried all our groceries in for us!!! You cant ask for more than that.
All the staff were super friendly and helpful.
The pool and area around it is lovely as well.
Will certainly be back

Room Tip: I loved the Beach Bungalows, they are a winner for me, totally seperate and independent of each oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussie1nsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 290 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at NTBR 1 for 8 nights from 6/10/13 to 14/10/13 in a Beach bungalow. It was my wife (53) & myself (49)

We were so glad we chose this resort, it is a nice quiet resort with beautiful grounds & although the beach is not great it is still ok. The weather wasn’t the best during our stay.
We loved our beach bungalow, listening to the waves at night & watching the beautiful sunsets when the sun was out. The bungalows have a good comfortable bed & has enough room in the bungalows. We also loved the out door shower. The pool area was also good.

The location is good, 5-10 minute walk up to the highway & if you ask the staff will drive you up in the golf buggies.On the highway in Nangthong there are plenty of options for restaraunts. The Nangthong supermarket on the highway is good for all your supplies. If you turn right when exiting resort there is a lovely little Café called Café Ó’for good coffee, some restaraunts & also a mini mart if you didn’t want to go up to highway.

We had breakfast at resort every morning & this was really good, the restaurant is on the little stream running thru resort & when the weather is good you can sit right on beach side.We ended up sharing breakfast as it was big enough. We also ate at the restaurant 3 or 4 times & all the meals we had were fantastic.

The staff are so friendly & nice & couldn’t do more for us, we loved them, & thank them for all of their services.

We can highly recommend this resort for anyone thinking of staying here.

Room Tip: Although the beach bungalows are great, they can be a little less private if people are sunning in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiger4817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just returned from 6 nights in this resort. We had initially booked into a another resort but when we arrived found the room we booked was way too small for the 4 of us (our fault entirely) but also had quite a few giant cockroaches flying about so at 9.30pm after arriving we decided to check out and head to Nang Thong Bay Resort as they had family rooms available.
We got a fabulous Family Room with 2 huge bedrooms, massive bathroom, 2 fridges and 2 tvs for $55AUD/night. Amazing value and the staff were so helpful with assisting us to move so late at night, in the pouring rain! Turned what could have been a disastrous experience into a good one.
Family rooms are across the road (not busy) from the restaurant and beach.
As this was off season we didn't see many people about at all. There is a lovely pool which we had to ourselves most of the time.
We were initially disappointed in the beach which in the mornings at high tide has lots of rubbish floating about and being swept up onto the sand. However in the late afternoons at low tide the rubbish seems to mysteriously disappear (I guess washed out to sea) and whilst the water is very rough, lots of fun to be had in the shallows with a cheap boogie board which we bought in town. I wouldn't recommend the beach at this time of the year for swimming. We have two young daughters (11 and 9) and we had loads of fun in the waves without have to go out deeper than our waists so felt pretty safe. Most of the time the green flags were up but not many people seemed to brave the water and it looked pretty daunting to me.
We ate a few times at the restaurant which is right on the beach. Lovely meal and good service.
The rooms were very clean and serviced daily, with a complimentary bottle of water each day per person.
We found it to be a good location, 5 minute walk up the road to the main drag with loads of tailors, shops, restaurants, good supermarket and taxi's happy to take you anywhere.
Each afternoon there is a lady who sets up her banana pancake stall, opposite the Nang Thong Bay Supermarket and these are to die for!
We were allowed late check out, and had our room until 3pm on the day we left for no additional cost.
Would highly recommend this resort, for value for money these rooms are amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katelucy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we stayed here for two nights on a bit of a road trip on our honda. Resort was very nice and right on the beach with affordable accom in low season. Beaches weren't as nice as Ao Nang or Phuket beaches but is low season and we basically came to see the memorials and have a look around.

Room Tip: we had a beach front bungalow and was very affordable for us in low season and was very nice. Pool b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Up the coast from phuket, this hotel is fantastic. We had a beach front bungalow. The room was spacious and clean and the staff were attentive. Breakfast in the restaurant was average, however the restaurant is right on the beach so that makes up for it. This is the best value hotel I have stayed at in Thailand. Recommended to all. Great for families or couples.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Nang Thong Bay Resort for eight nights from 1 May in a beach front bungalow (103). How good was it after flying nine hours from Sydney and arriving at 10.30 at night, to wake up to that view on the first morning.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious, the outdoor shower is very good and the bed is comfy with plenty of pillows. The wide screen tv has sufficient selection of channels.
The pool is great and there were always sun lounges available, as there were at the beach.
Being the start of "monsoon" season occupancy was low, as it was with the many hotels we walked through in our eight days in KL.
The staff are efficient and friendly, the hotel offers a golf buggy to take you up to the shops at the main road, but we decided to walk every time this trip.
Food from the restaurant is good and the prices are reasonable.
Booking was easy direct by email to Jist at the hotel, no deposit required and pay on check out. The staff were waiting for us when we arrived at 10.30pm, checked us in quickly and shuttled us to our room in the golf buggy, very efficient.
This is the best place to relax and unwind, the sunsets are amazing, we will be back again next holiday for our fourth visit.

Room Tip: The beach front bungalows are great value, plus those in row two get the view between the front bung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tezzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is along Nang Thong beach and closes to town center just 5 mins walking. So, its location is perfect on my oppinion look privacy. We stayed at standard room on building which was very clean and all facilities were convenient. We had good dream on all 2 nights of our stay.
We received higher expectation than we thought from this hotel.

Really recommend for Nang Thong Bay was very valuable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
1.9 mi away
Ayara Villas
Ayara Villas
#42 of 70 in Khao Lak
168 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
567 reviews
8.4 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak
0.1 mi away
Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak
0.2 mi away
Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nang Thong Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nang Thong Bay Resort

Address: Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#30 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Nang Thong Bay Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Nang Thong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing