We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great good value hotel on the beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Lak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nang Thong Bay Resort
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great good value hotel on the beach”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Nang Thong Bay Resort for eight nights from 1 May in a beach front bungalow (103). How good was it after flying nine hours from Sydney and arriving at 10.30 at night, to wake up to that view on the first morning.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious, the outdoor shower is very good and the bed is comfy with plenty of pillows. The wide screen tv has sufficient selection of channels.
The pool is great and there were always sun lounges available, as there were at the beach.
Being the start of "monsoon" season occupancy was low, as it was with the many hotels we walked through in our eight days in KL.
The staff are efficient and friendly, the hotel offers a golf buggy to take you up to the shops at the main road, but we decided to walk every time this trip.
Food from the restaurant is good and the prices are reasonable.
Booking was easy direct by email to Jist at the hotel, no deposit required and pay on check out. The staff were waiting for us when we arrived at 10.30pm, checked us in quickly and shuttled us to our room in the golf buggy, very efficient.
This is the best place to relax and unwind, the sunsets are amazing, we will be back again next holiday for our fourth visit.

Room Tip: The beach front bungalows are great value, plus those in row two get the view between the front bung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tezzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    90
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
92
138
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is along Nang Thong beach and closes to town center just 5 mins walking. So, its location is perfect on my oppinion look privacy. We stayed at standard room on building which was very clean and all facilities were convenient. We had good dream on all 2 nights of our stay.
We received higher expectation than we thought from this hotel.

Really recommend for Nang Thong Bay was very valuable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just got back from our 2nd visit to this super laid back hotel. We'd booked the family apartment but were given 2 interconnecting rooms on the Ground Floor for the same price which meant we had 2 bathrooms instead of 1, a godsend when you have 11 year old twin girls!
The rooms are large & clean if a little spartan with efficient air con, tv & a handy sized fridge.
The pool is a bit small & seemed to be a bit packed in the mornings but we are more of a beach family so this didn't bother us.
I would have given this an excellent rating but for the fact that the decor is now starting to look a little tired in places & the service in the breakfast area/pool bar is not quite up to scratch.
Having said that, I cannot fault the staff on Reception who were always smiling, friendly & very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited Nang Thong Bay Resort in January, a last-minute decision. We booked direct with the hotel, very simple and hassle-free. Though almost full, they didn't ask for a deposit. No bungalows left, so we got a second-floor room in the main block. There was a mess-up with airport transfer: the driver was there but had someone else's name. Once that got sorted out, it was an easy one-hour trip. At check-in we were asked if we could change to a ground-floor room at a cheaper price. No problem, we prefer ground floor anyway.

The room was spacious and comfortable with a decent balcony. Some might consider the décor spartan but it was fine for us. The extras are a puzzling mix – a DVD player but no robe, for example. The bathroom was clean and functional, also a good size.

The garden was a plus for us, lots of nice planting. One of Khao Lak's many small rivers runs through the property, which adds interest though sometimes a slight smell. The restaurant has a great position, jutting over the beach. It offers standard Khao Lak fare – a mix of pseudo-Thai and western-ish standards. Prices are much the same as elsewhere.

Khao Lak is dominated by elderly European tourists. Apart from the locals, we didn't spot an Asian face all week. Many of those at NTBR were clearly long-stayers, evading winter in their own countries. As other reviewers observe, they get up early, bag the best sea-facing loungers and pretty much stay put all day. Not a problem for us. We only wanted to use the pool from time to time and always found loungers there when needed.

The centre of this section of Khao Lak is a short walk up the road. We didn't bother with the golf carts. Most restaurants are much the same as the hotel, but without the sea view and breeze. There are also numerous 'Italian' places. It's hard to find real Thai food in Khao Lak. The locals have got so used to European preferences that they automatically serve one dish per person, instead of sharing Asian-style, and de-spice everything. Even if you tell them you like food in true Thai style, they don't believe you. Honourable mentions for Somsri (near the top of the road) and Phai Thong (a short walk south along the beach), which produced genuine Thai food after we persuaded them that we knew what we wanted.

Khao Lak has a lovely setting and is great for a few days R&R. But there's not much going on, and little in the way of historical or cultural interest. We recommend at least one trip into Khao Sok National Park, where you can ride elephants and canoe down peaceful rivers. Shop around the numerous tour agents and/or bargain till you find the going rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meigingtoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was our third visit to Nang Thong Bay Resort. We like it here, staff leave you alone to just relax. Rooms large and clean, good air con and fan, lovely outside shower. Prefer beach front bungalows to garden, more breeze.
Sadly this time the resort was over run by large groups of Germans. Of course they just leave their towels on sunbeds for a week! Hotel should forbid sunbed reservation and have a first come first served basis. Germans also like to smoke and drink a lot in the pool and make lots of noise, making it impossible for anyone who just wants a quiet soak.
Some tips: Do Not book an airport transfer - this appears to be booked via someone called Dagmar in Germany, rates are way over the top and the last two times they have never turned up! When you arrive get an official airport taxi, desks outside airport, you can bargain down to a good price. Going back we booked a taxi directly with hotel reception, again a sensible price.
Breakfast at Happy House restaurant up the road a bit, cheap and nice staff. Massage at Classic Thai massage up road by Happy Bungalow...again lovely staff.
Overall this is a lovely stay, lots of families with babies and young children, great if you have kids a disaster if you don't...beach safe and lovley.

Room Tip: Beach front bungalows are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PixiBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went back to nang thong again this year for 3 weeks. Had a great time. We always found a sunbed by the pool cant comment on the beach sunbeds we didnt use them. Our room was lovely plenty of space. Food in the hotel was fantastic, the fresh fish was lovely. Again staff at the hotel were very good, really helpful. Hope to visit again.

Room Tip: If you are unable to stay in a beachfront bungalow, stay on the top floor end rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idjizatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Okay that is the negative out of the way. If you are one of the people that didn't remove your towels for the entire week shame on you. We are had a really good time staying at Nang Thong Resort. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful. I took the golf buggy everyday to the supermarket and they would even wait while I bought my bread so got a lift back as well. All of the rooms are nice and kept clean. There are a number of decent restaurants throughout the town all offering cheap good food.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, we stayed in a beach bungalow to start with ( as our room in the main blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shotsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.0 mi away
Suwan Palm Resort
Suwan Palm Resort
#50 of 68 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#3 of 7 in Khuk Khak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khaolak Oriental Resort
Khaolak Oriental Resort
#12 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
1.2 mi away
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Baan Khaolak Beach Resort
Baan Khaolak Beach Resort
#46 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nang Thong Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nang Thong Bay Resort

Property: Nang Thong Bay Resort
Address: Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#21 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#30 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Nang Thong Bay Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Nang Thong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing