We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
201
103
17
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
201
103
17
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachfront bungalow beach front second row the main road low season sound of the waves relaxing holiday supermarket resort khao kettle rain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 331 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We came back to this hotel, which we visited 6 years ago, when everything was new after the Tsunami. We stayed in the rooms across the road just opposite the hotel. They are pretty standard, but everything works great and the cleaning is efficient. The restaurant serves a good breakfast and has a good grip on the Thai courses. I would, however, avoid the western food which is mediocre. The hotel shows some sign of wear and needs an overhaul. The staff is friendly, but service levels vary depending on English skills. If you need help with more complicated task from the reception, ask for the Manager, she's great. Location is great with restaurant to the beach and it's within walking distance of "downtown" Khao Lak. It is possible to get a good discount on the rooms in the green season. They have bungalows with sea view, which looked quite nice, but they were occupied during our stay. The pool area is nice and child friendly, but we used the deck chairs on the beach under the trees more - the sea breeze helped keep the heat down. The wireless is somewhat unstable here, and did not cover our room. The reception area seems to be the best place for communication and has comfortable sofas.

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Thomasvoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in June 2012 in a Beachfront Bungalow. NTBR1 is located at the base of a small hill on the beachfront about 700mtrs to the main street of Khao Lak town. The grounds are nice with the beachfront (1st row) & seaview (2nd row) bungalows having a view. There are numerous rows of bungalows moving back towards the road with a block of standard rooms beside the road .

Our bungalow was gorgeous laying on the bed looking out at the ocean & lighthouse. The bathroom consisted of a vanity, mirror & toilet in an internal room & the external shower of the bathroom under the stars. I never had any problem with mozzies while showering. The beachfront bungalows are stand alone private bungalows with a great balcony with comfy chairs to sit & take in the view.

About 7 of the 8 bungalows were occupied with fellow Aussies at the time of our stay. The rest of the resort had an odd room occupied only seeing one family with children during our stay. The fellow guests were friendly around the pool with enough sun loungers & the pool bar was closed for low season. The pool area would be crowded in peak season. The pool appeared to get greener & dirtier by the day & I never saw any staff clean the pool. I think in low season there are not as many staff employed so some jobs are not done very often. The mats on the sun loungers are left out overnight get wet & dirty I even turned a few over finding a dead squashed frog under one haha! The pool was the only let down with the resort at this time of year but still vital the water is healthy enough to swim in.

The beach facing restaurant had some wonderful dishes with a large menu to chose from. The staff were attentive & you could visit the restaurant from breakfast to late evening & always get a freshly cooked meal.

The staff sap around on golf carts & motorbikes with side car trolleys delivery luggage & guests to their rooms & bringing supplies. As there are no phones in the bungalows you either had to walk to the lobby for assistance or flag down one of the passing staff. We did this when our safe wouldn't work & the staff member buzzed off on his bike & returned with a replacement safe. I would like a phone in the beachfront bungalows in case of emergency especially at night although there is a security guard in a light up hut at the beachfront through the night hours.

As hubby was in a wheelchair & crutches the resort had good paths to get around in the grounds. They will drop your at the top of the main street from the resort in their golf buggy anytime day or night. The hill at the front of the resort was to steep for me to roll the wheelchair but we found an alternative next to MacDonalds which wasn't so steep.

As it was low season & windy the beach was messy, dirty & not safe for swimming. We meet a lady that had been stung while in knee deep water at Biang Nang. This is were a clean pool is essential as the weather was still warm enough for swimming in a pool. This beach must be beautiful at the right time of the year.

The main stripe has a number of eateries & bars & a small number of markets stalls. Nothing much in the way of shopping head down to Biang Niang Night Markets to buy cheap clothing, shoes, hats, jewelry, nik naks & local food.

Some of our eating experiences were My Style Restaurant run by Ga who also does the laundry, tours, taxi & runs the great massage next door. Great Thai food. Ten Star Cafe for a cheap breaky with free wifi, Kung Seafood south end of the street great curries & seafood dishes. Our favorite little street bar was Sakai Bar with friendly staff & cheap spirits.

Room tip: The rooms back from the beach would be hot & stuffy with no sea breeze. Take the beachfront bungalows in low season well worth the price.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bintang_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Amazing value for money and we loved it here. Our beach front bungalow was amazing. We loved the outdoor shower and the verandah for watching the world go by. We enjoyed the pool and found it to be a perfect temperature. There were shops and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Bed was comfy and appreciated that the rooms had TV, DVD player, jug, hairdryer and safe. There was a good selection of books at reception, but no DVDs. Also glasses in room, but not cups. We were able to arrange transfer from airport, to Nai Yang and to Bang Niang Markets through resort. The resort van was very comfortable inside. We were able to nominate our departure time. We found the staff friendly and would definitely recommend the resort to others.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have mixed feelings about Nang Thong. We were here for one night in May when the weather was terrible. They just had a big storm, and lots of issues in the hotel as a result: the first cottage they showed us had a broken-down shower, electricity was fluctuating and the pool pump was broken, which caused a greenish glow (we were asked to use the pool next door). Because of the low-season many of the reasons we came here in the first place (beach, diving) would not work out, which is why we left after one day. Also, many of the restaurants and shops along the main road appear to be closed off-season!

I feel many of these things were not the hotel's fault, though the staff could have informed us about some of this upon check in. That said, they were extremely sweet and helpful.
The villa's are nice, but you can see some of the facilities are slightly outdated or in need of repair. I can imagine us staying here for more days should the weather be better (and the pool in good shape) though.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed one night this trip . The pool was out of action.Quickly moved to NTBR2 where we are at the moment. Sorry I have to disagree with Alicialicia it is perfectly safe to walk the streets here at night.There are also plenty of restauants on the beach at the hotels. Will be back when the pool is fixed.

Room tip: Love thebeach front
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEVLOVESJULES
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews