We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely friendly hotel for a quiet holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Southsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khaolak Southsea
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel for a quiet holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely friendly and clean hotel.
It isn't on the main khao lak strip of shops/restaurants but there is a cheap taxi rank right outside and hotel staff will also drive you for a modest fee. There are also some lovely little restaurants a short walk away for good local food at cheap prices. The hotel itself also does excellent food, but while the prices are reasonable by UK standards, it's pretty pricey for Thailand.
Don't book if you want to be right in the midst of buzzing nightlife, but for us with 2 young children it was perfect. We actually only went into khao lak itself once to buy some souvenirs as we were very happy on the beach opposite the hotel and with the local restaurants.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    22
    24
    9
See reviews for
20
69
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
newmarket, suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed at the South Sea Grand for 2 weeks in April and really enjoyed our stay.We basicly had the hotel to ourselves,only 3 more couples staying so we had a very quiet pool to swim in . This hotel is not suitable for children or couples wanting a swinging time as it is 7 miles from Khao Lac where you will find good shoping etc. Close to the hotel you will find a few beach bars,good cheap food and drinks and the sea is only 30 yards from your room. We would stay at this hotel again.Michael and Jo Lambert.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank michael032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Very beautiful location, nice hotel quite new. We stayed in one of the villas, it was advertised as having a private pool, when we arrived we noticed that it was not actually a pool it was only a jacuzzi on the balcony...which i may add stopped working on 2 occassions and was very dirty.
The food is terrible, we had breakfast one time which was of 2 star standard, the room service we ordered was disgusting mush, the food we had in the restaurant was much the same. In the end we ate outside the hotel.
The aircon was so noisy one night that we could not sleep, the following day it stopped working, the staff came to repair the unit, however after that the temperature was not cool enough.
Despite the fact we set our staus to 'do not disturb' the House keeping staff disturbed us on 2 occassions, however when we requested House Keeping to come they did not arrive.
The water for the bath, shower and taps is salt water, something that you would expect from a 2 star hotel not a 5 star villa.
The free wifi did not work in the villa and could not be fixed.
The welcome fruit bowl consisted of 2 red apples.
I met with the Manager to express my dissappointment, the hotel offered an extra night free which due to our schedule we coudl not accept, in any case we would not have as we wanted to leave the hotel asap. We were then told that they would give us a free upgrade, however there was a problem with the other villa, we were told they would contact us with an update on the repairs which they did not so we never received the upgrade.
We were also offered a free meal in the restaurant, however as the food was so bad we declined the offer.
Due to our problems i was expecting the Manager to see us upon check out, however there was nobody present which was very disappointing.
On the plus side, the staff were very helpful during our stay and we forgot some items in our villa which the hotel kindly sent them to us at the Marriott the same day.
Overall the south Sea is a huge disappointment and very over priced, something that you wold not expect from this kind of property. It could be such an amazing resort but it lacks the attention to detail in so many areas. There are so many other resorts in the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rocketmanbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Khao Lak hotels

melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

A fabulous location on the best family beach in Kao Lak ...good rooms...nice pool, but the big downside was the food. The restaurant food is way overpriced , and extremely un-appealing. The room rate does not include breakfast, which was of very poor standard ...stale pastries, hot food that was cold, not enough variety and little local fruit .. it amazed me they have the nerve to charge for it.
The lack of english speaking staff also spoil the experience alittle , as it is difficult to get anyone to understand requests.
This should be a great place to stay as the beach is wonderfully uncrowded and pristine ...and it could be with a bit more focus on value for money ..and a new chef!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubistau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.0 mi away
Takolaburi Cultural & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
Palm Galleria Resort
Palm Galleria Resort
#42 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Krathom Khaolak Resort
Krathom Khaolak Resort
#56 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
6.3 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
3.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#14 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Southsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Southsea

Property: Khaolak Southsea
Address: Moo 2 44 Pakarang Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Khaolak Southsea)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Khaolak Southsea 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Pakarang / Bangsak Beach / Haadson Beach, Khaolak Southsea is an ideal spot from which to discover Khao Lak (Phang Nga). From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Khao Lak Bus Station, Bangsak Beach, Lampi Waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Khaolak Southsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing