We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUR PERFECT ENGAGEMENT NIGHT - CANDLELIT WATERFALL DINNER”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sarojin
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OUR PERFECT ENGAGEMENT NIGHT – CANDLELIT WATERFALL DINNER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

The most blissful week of our lives – we didn’t want to leave.

From the moment you arrive your pace of life slows. We arrived at night and were welcomed by the sounds of frogs, cicadas and running water, and walked through waterlily gardens & palms to our beautiful residence. We immediately cancelled plans to eat out and instead had a candlelit dinner lying on the daybeds in the cabana, and relaxed and swam under the stars.

We felt like we were in our own home with total privacy. We had a large saltwater pool in a pool residence allowing us to swim, sunbake, eat at our outdoor dining setting and sleep under the cabana. It is that feel that makes Sarojin feel like a retreat not a resort.

The suites are cleverly outfitted to avoid the normal hotel feel. The bed/living area is spacious and has a small mezzanine area behind the bedhead, with many powerpoints to place laptops etc out of sight. The bathroom is huge with a large landscaped area of riverstones. It has an oval stone bath, and a large shower rose above a stone slab, where two can shower. Features include complimentary daily fruit bowl (rather than just on arrival), free wireless internet throughout the retreat, and a fantastic stereo & TV. Complimentary CDs & DVDs are excellent – we listened to their Café Del Mar CDs throughout our stay.

The food is to die for! We loved the all-day a la carte champagne breakfast (great for when you sleep in!), under the shade of a massive ficus tree. We had dinner cuddling on a couch on the beach, and our own private seafood barbeque at one of the retreat pool’s cabanas, where we swam between courses. Our only regret was we didn’t get to try everything on the menus!

The highlight was our romantic candlelit waterfall dinner where we became engaged. It was the perfect place to propose. We had fireflies follow us up the narrow jungle road to where our path, lit by red candles, crossed the river. Our chef and waiter attended to our every need, and remained discretely out of sight, to allow us to feel we were alone in paradise. The food was exquisite and to finish off swimming beneath a full moon under the waterfall was beyond ‘bucket list’ – it was spiritual!

The first night we had booked had to be cancelled due to heavy rain and we were lucky to be able to re-schedule to the following night. We would advise you to book this dinner early during your stay, to allow the possibility of rescheduling as we did.

The advantage of being there during the wet season is the waterfall is cascading at full strength and to have a massage in the day spa with a tropical downpour thundering on the thatched roof and decking is truly blissful. The disadvantage is the national parks, where you go snorkelling, are closed. We still had many sunny periods and came home with lovely tans.

We had plans to go elephant riding, out on a boat and do a Thai cooking class, but we were so busy relaxing we will have to return for another week to do them!

If you seek a romantic escape – no clocks – no timetables - to relax, recharge and be in love – you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRANT AND LISA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,370
    172
    47
    37
    18
See reviews for
114
1,308
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

My wife and I spent 6 nights at The Sarojin in late August and found the entire experience 'outstanding in all aspects' The owners and staff of The Sarojin should be very proud of the amazing place that it is. From the well appointed rooms (including the lavish range of toiletries, the hand made woven Pandanus leaves on our pillows after the turn down service) right through to the fabulous gastronomic delights that graced our plates at every meal, we were not left wanting (or expecting) anything more.

The staff are so friendly and attentive and wait on your every need. We enjoyed a chat with Andrew Kemp at the weekly cocktail get together, as well as daily conversations with Leisa (GM of the hotel) who made us like we were superstars!

We cannot fault anything at all - the weather even turned on a terrific stay for us with blue skies and sunshine all day. This allowed us to enjoy a lounge around the main pool, where we were served iced water all day long. My wife enjoyed a treatment at the Spa and came back floating on cloud 9!

We went into Khao Lak a few times on the free shuttle, not much happening there given the low season. Notwithstanding, it is worth checking out as there are some interesting little gift shops that had many different items for sale. Plenty of shops to get a good deal in. 2 - 3 hours should be tops, inclusive of a few drinks at one of the many local bars / restaurants.

The food at The Sarojin was exceptional, especially the Thai menu in The Edge restaurant. Yes, the prices are on par with what we would expect to pay in a decent restaurant in Australia however the food that we ate was fantastic and well worth it for the quality of taste and presentation.

Congratulations to The Sarojin on working so hard to provide an outstanding place to spend a romantic and relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDATFamily_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Our stay at the Sarojin was one that we will never forget. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and our room (with our own private pool!) beyond incredible. The room was immaculate and well worth the money. The attention to detail was just so impressive. There were fresh flowers on the pillows every night, a nightly turn down service and the staff even asked us what kind of pillows we would like to sleep on during our stay!
I would have to agree with other reviews that there is absolutely no night life near the Sarojin or within the hotel. Of course we did go off peak which definitely would have contributed to the lack of guests and night life in the area. Only stay at this hotel if all your looking at doing is relaxing. We were unaware just how far Khao Lak is out of Phuket (an approximate 2 and a half hour drive to Patong beach) but this was fault of our travel agent for not tell us, not the hotel.
The staff are absolutely incredible. They are the most kindest, willing to help people I have ever encountered. They were such a delight and always looking at assisting our every need.
We were very disappointed that there were no signs on the beach or information in the rooms about the fact that your not suppose to swim in the sea during the rainy season. We went swimming off the beach and I got stung by a jelly fish. I then needed to go to the local clinic where I required injections and medication and I couldn't get wet or drink alcohol for the rest of the trip. We were disappointed that non of the staff mentioned that your not supposed to go in the water, they even waved at us from the beach whilst we swam. After I got stung they told me that you shouldn't be swimming in the sea in the off peak seasons, and then proceeded to pull everyone out of the water because another man got stung after me.
Fortunately, after that unpleasant experience, we did a private dining on the beach which was just superb. The staff were just so wonderful. They even dug little holes in the sand and filled them with candles! Was such an incredible night!
Overall a fantastic hotel, but not being told about the jelly fish in the water really put a damper on the trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We've just spent six nights at the Sarojin and despite terrible weather it is difficult to imagine a more relaxing stay. The big plus here is the staff, and the beautiful design of the resort. The two restaurants are excellent, although by no means cheap. We got a great low season room deal but beware, the food and drink add up, and it is a bit of a hike to anything open in the wet season. But this aside I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We also stayed at Ayara Hilltops and Mom Tri's Villa Royale, but Sarojin was my favourite. Serene is the word I would use, one of the loveliest pools you will ever see.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxuryonabudget_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Been a bit slack on reviews.... we stayed here twice, once in Nov 2007 and once in Nov 2008. A quite incredible place. Amazing service...the staff are amazing. The second time we stayed, they remembered us and gave us an unbelievable upgrade. Met the owners who were delighthful people and an indication as to why the place is so good with such an eye for detail. Expensive for food etc, yes but there are several very good cheap and cheerful places yards away on the beach where you can get tiger prawns the size of lobsters for bargain prices and a free shuttle to Khao Lak presents many more options and great restaurants. For a great night with live music, get down to the Happy Snapper in Khao Lak ... not to be missed !

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JezL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

My husband arranged for us to stay at the Sarojin for the first week of our honeymoon in April/May and wow, it completely blew me away, it is THE perfect honeymoon location - so romantic and peaceful. I cannot fault the Sarojin in anyway it is exquisitie in every way. The accomadation is beautiful, we stayed in one of the Sarojin Suites, very tastefully decorated, private, just perfect and luxurious. The location is awesome, just breathtakingly beautiful, the grounds of the Sarojin are gorgeous (especially the swimming pool) and the beach is stunning. The staff are helpful, friendly and attentive, the food is wonderful, without a doubt the best I have ever eaten, especially breakfast, I just loved breakfast at the Sarojin, Scrambled Eggs like I have never eaten in my life! We had some amazing experiences at the Sarojin not least the candlelit dinner by the waterfall, which was beyond romantic, I nearly cried it was so beautiful. An absolutely amazing place, I cannot recommend it highly enough, the perfect honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomato123tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

I really liked this hotel. It is about 10 mins drive from the small town of Khao Lak (about and hour and fifteen mins drive north of Phuket airport) , down a small side road and situated just off a stunning 11km beach surrounded by jungle. So its not like many other good hotels which like to make themselves out as being on a deserted beach but in fact turn out to be surrounded by a whole host of other hotels. There are two other hotels on the same beach one quite a distance away and one new one being built next door, you still end up being the only person for several km on the beach though. We looked at Google earth to check its surroundings before we booked.
The hotel itself has been built at a very low density within some very well maintained and beautiful grounds. There are three types of rooms a suite, a pool room and a garden room. As far as i could tell all teh rooms face into the grounds and the various ornamental pools (unlike some hotels where a garden room usually means a nice view of the back of the hotel). The hotel doesnt have beach front rooms as its set back from the beach. The rooms are superb we had booked a pool room but upgraded to a suite. The suite is huge - large living room, large bedroom seperated from bathroom by screen which had one of those huge stone baths and two showers,there is also a large outside sitting area /balcony with another large stone bath for cooling off in and sun lougers and various tables and chair - so plenty of room to sunbathe if you are feeling a bit white for the first few days or just want to be on your own. We had a look at the pool room - this has a large pluge pool a raised day bed area and a small garden with sun loungers - the room/bathroom isstill a good size and teh fittings are the same high quality. We didnt see inside the garden rooms but they appear to be like the pool rooms but smaller and without a pluge pool but still a day bed area. The basic layout of each block is the suites are upstairs, the pool rooms are on the ground floor at each end and the garden rooms in the middle. All have a high degree of privacy because of the low density (the hotel down the road which is pretty upmarket is crowded by comparison) of the layout and the clever way in which the grounds have been planted up.
There are two restaurants the smater one ficus which is a mix of European and Thai dishes and the beach restaurant which is mainly thai, they also have theme nights which extends the range on offer. The beach restaurant is the more informal, not that the main one is in the least bit suffy. The food really is very good, and the menu extensive as one woudl expect the sea food is superb. The wine list has two sections a sensibly priced range and a more expensive range if you want to go a bit more overboard. The prices are not silly like in Mauritius/The Seychelles. We didnt bother going into town as it was low season but there appear to be loads of restaurants if you wanted a change.
Activity wise there is a small but well equipt gym, though would be a bottle neck if everyone wanted the bike or running machine, though in the week we were there I never had to wait for anything. They had two boats when we were there, numerous canoes and al the usual boards etc etc In the better months they have their own boat which takes guests on trips to various islands in the national park (about 70km away - so a serious boat) for diving, snorkelling sightseeing which does sound worth doing.Thye offer quite a range of activities, trecking, rock climbing, jungle tours, meals in out of teh way locations (beach, waterfall, deserted islands) They also have numerous bikes to borrow, the roads are pretty good and the main roads do have cylcle lanes. The trip to the waterfall is an easy ride.
They have a spa which has a huge range of treatments massages etc - we had a massage thrown in with our deal but extended it - very relaxing you feel so much better after it.
The staff were tremendous many spoke very good english, the service I thought was perfect , freindly without being intrusive and very efficient, they all seemed to genuinely want you to enjoy your stay - they gave the impression it was their hotel not just a place where they work. That extended across the board not just the restaurant staff but also the room maids, the gardeners, the beach staff etc etc. Some have been there since the hotel opened which is also a good sign. In one report someone mentioned the plugs - if youa re from the UK take your euro adaptor and just pug your UK plug into that and tehn into the wall socket - for some reason the adaptors they have to convert Uk plugs dont really work.

All in all I'd highly recomend this hotel I can understand why it has won so many awards, great location, superb rooms and a really top quality staff. If you want a really relaxing time in a peaceful and beautiful location - this is it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#2 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
1.3 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#11 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Property: The Sarojin
Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing