We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 star?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sarojin
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“6 star?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas, our first hotel in a two week trip followed by two more in Phuket and Bangkok. I wish we had stayed here last as it totally ruined the next two! I won't cover what everyone else has already said but suffice to say it's truly stunning, breathtaking and wonderful. We have stayed in some very high end hotels but this was just different. It wasn't commercial in any way, it felt like it was being run just for the benefit of guests relaxation. The restaurants were great, eat the ostrich!! It's as good as any fine dining in the UK. Spa was out of this world, had my first thai massage. Life doesn't get much better.

Room Tip: We usually go for a suite but as it's christmas and the price was astronomical we had a garden r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    172
    47
    37
    18
See reviews for
114
1,313
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

How could anyone not rate this hotel as excellent ? I booked this hotel in September and wanted to arrange a surprise birthday meal for my fiancée. They were so attentive, replying always to my flurry of questions and emails promptly.
We only stopped for two nights as it is quite expensive but it was definitely worth the money.
The breakfast is just out of this world ! The pool is fantastic and has the best sunbeds which all have access to shade.
Unfortunately my fiancée came down with a sickness bug an hour after we arrived and was confined to his room for the two days but the staff were so attentive. They brought us extra towels and even offered to take me to the pharmacy to get some medicine for him.
The beach is beautiful with the softest sand. And again the service there is spot on.
I didn't want to leave and am trying to convince my fiancée to maybe get married there! We were lucky enough to see a wedding take place and it was so beautiful.
I can't wait to come back!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roundhaylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

1½ hours drive north of Phuket airport and totally worth journeying that bit further. The Sarojin IS as gorgeous as it looks on the website. This boutique hotel is beautiful, stylish and serene without being stuffy. We had a garden room which is a larger than average room with patio and kabana at the front. The level of privacy depends on which one you get. We were lucky and had lots of tropical plants providing a natural screen. The accommodation is only ground and first floor, the latter have private balconies. Our room was spacious, really comfy bed with a huge bathroom and rain shower.

The gardens are beautifully landscaped with tropical plants, fruit trees (banana and mango) and flowers. Two massive ponds add a tranquility to the grounds, one with a carpet of water lilies adding a splash of color. The moment you step outside, you are aware of the natural, fresh perfume in the air and all you hear are the local birds chirping away.

The Ficus Restaurant serves a huge breakfast menu from porridge to pancakes, bircher to a buck's fizz, fresh fruit to fried eggs. And table service with a smile; none of that bun-fight round the buffet. AND it's an "all-day breakfast! They also do a la carte in the evenings; the food is fantastic.

The pool is one of the best I have ever seen. Fresh water, large enough to exercise in or just float about to cool off. A Jacuzzi pool bubbles next to it. Most of the sun loungers are strategically placed around the pool ensuring personal space. Some are almost like a four-poster bed with white muslin draped over the frames for shade. Pool towels are provided and iced water is topped up all day.

Just when you think you are in heaven, head down to the beach. The hotel has managed to secure a private section of this white, sandy beach. Comfortable sun loungers, white umbrellas and beach towels are set up where you want them. Again iced water is on tap and The Edge beach bar menu has fresh fruit smoothies, lunch, snack foods and ice- cold beers. Next door on White Beach is another really nice beach bar and a great place for a massage or pedicure. You can walk along the beach in either direction; skeletal trees and a marooned fishing boat remind you of the tsunami devastation only 10 years ago.

The attention to detail at The Sarojin is faultless from the hand-bag size mozzie spray in your room to the water melon slices served on the beach at 4pm. It's the little extras that add a nice touch. And the staff are just lovely; attentive service without being intrusive. It is a resident's only establishment. Outsiders cannot use the sun beds, drink in the bars or even book a table for dinner.

This resort is not designed for young families; they don't allow kids under 10. This is more for the battle-weary corporate people who need to be pampered in a quiet, relaxed paradise. There are trips organised by the tour desk; we went snorkeling in the Similan Islands for the day. The hotel has mountain bikes and Khao Lak main street has shops and restaurants. It is over 2 hours drive south to Phuket Town. If you want the Patong club scene, then this is not for you but if you need rest and relaxation in a very pretty part of Thailand, then this is truly magical.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bertiebertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wow.

This is a special hotel.

We stayed over Christmas and New Year in a garden residence and a suite, both excellent at their price points. We would be perfectly happy in a garden residence on a return trip. The rooms are expensive in peak season but the best places are!

The restaurants are priced more at 5 star than local food but the quality and flavours are excellent. We preferred the Edge restaurant for its setting and wanted to eat Thai food. We also used the restaurants on the beach and in KL, it was good to mix it up. The breakfast was the best breakfast setup I have ever seen and available all day. Extensive menu and all cooked to order.

On the flight home, we talked about the highlight of our trip, so far, the following are all joint top; staff, service, pool, beach, food, rooms ......

It is not the place to go if you want nightlife, evening entertainment or noise and that suited us just fine.

We have always taken the view that there are too many great places in the world to go back where we have already been but The Sarojin is such that we will come back!

Andrew, Kate and all the management - well done on what you have created and are maintaining.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had 10 wonderful days at the Sarojin and it was everything we had hoped for. Peaceful beautiful calm and restful with the best staff we have ever come across, nothing was too much trouble and nothing was overlooked. The owners and management should be very proud of what they have achieved here. We ate at the hotel a few nights, very good food but yes it is costly so we ate at the beach bars and in the town as well. All the food was excellent and very reasonable and its fun going out and about. The hotel provide a shuttle bus to the town for a small charge (100 baht per person each way) or you can get a taxi (very clean and air conditioned) which will then come back and collect you as well for 300 baht each way. The hotel has a happy hour from 5.30 to 6.45 when drinks are half price, but cocktails at the beach bars are just 130 baht (about £2.30) , the best Mojito was to be found at the Boatyard about a 10 minute walk along the beach from the hotel (turn left) . A word of warning for any other Scots the hotel will not exchange Scottish money and they said the banks would not either, the hotel has an ATM but it was not working when we needed it. There is an ATM at the Kantary Hotel next door and also a small but very well stocked supermarket, you can gain access to these from the beach.
If you want a special holiday this is the place to come.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We had a room with our own small pool which was lovely but we did not get a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveltimes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just returned from our third visit to the Sarojin and found it as delightful as before.
I feel that we cannot add to the excellent reviews already posted but feel obliged to respond to the very few negative reviews. I can only consider that those people who were disappointed in the resort did not understand what the Sarojin is about.
If you want "nightlife", loud music in the bar, games in the pool and mountains of poorly prepared food at the breakfast buffet, then don't go to the Sarojin. If, however, you want peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings, excellent food with attentive, exemplary service then the Sarojin is for you. The staff are quite superb and obviously love working at the hotel.
No, it is not cheap but there are plenty of inexpensive bars and restaurants a few minutes away along the beach or just 10 minutes away by taxi in Khoa Lak. Inevitably with a small hotel , the excursions etc are more expensive, but again you are paying for the quality and exclusivity. If you want cheaper then go into town.
We have travelled a lot and lived around the world over the last 40 years, staying at many top rate hotels, but have rarely come across anything quite as special as the Sarojin.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are fine. I cannot see why anyone would want more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcopoloSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have recently returned from the most wonderful 10 day holiday at the Sarojin and we cannot wait to return. We loved the comfortable rooms, the beautiful gardens, the perfect swimming pool and fantastic service from delightful staff. The breakfast was excellent and to be served delicious food at anytime of day adds to the relaxing holiday experience. We ate at both restaurants and enjoyed the food, although the main restaurant was expensive. The hotel is on a lovely long sandy beach and the sea was lovely and warm. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday in beautifull surroundings the Sarojin is hard to beat

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#11 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
1.3 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#10 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Property: The Sarojin
Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing