We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sarojin
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Reading the reviews on TripAdvisor (after we booked) I was sure that there was no way it could be that good. It was.

We stayed in the Pool Residence for our honeymoon in late June. From the moment we arrived at The Sarojin we were blown away. Blown away by the beauty, the calmness, the staff, the food, the spa...the spa.

The staff are just amazing. So lovely. Any moment you stop they are there with a cold towel and an iced water (it was so humid it was needed). They were able to help with anything and everything.

The rooms were incredible. We had our own pool with lovely outdoor area. The view of the pool from our bed was beautiful. The room was stunning with a mock outdoor area for the bathroom. It was very spacious with two showers and with separate zones so you don't feel like the bathroom is right on top of you. The turndown service was great and when we arrived there was a lovely bottle of bubbles waiting for us.

The food was beautiful (especially the breakfast which was the best I've had). The spa was INCREDIBLE! I was lucky enough to visit it three times and the massages from Apple and Um were amazing. The prices are more expensive than if you were out of the resort but are still a lot cheaper than anything you would get in Australia. And to be honest, the value is amazing. The main pool was amazing. So beautiful and whenever you sat down by it iced water and fruit accompanied your visit.

The outings available through The Sarojin are very much worth experiencing. We did the elephant bathing and a trip to James Bond Island. Both were incredible and our guide, Nam, was delightful. The Sarojin go the extra mile to ensure that every moment of your trip is fantastic, whether that be cold towels and drinks (I promise you, they were needed), taking amazing photos and videos of the two of us, making sure we got the best canoeing guide, towels, tableclothes, bubbles...sure the last few weren't really needed but they really added to the whole experience. Once again, I had read on here that people felt they were too expensive but not in our opinion. Every cent was worth it. We also did the private dining on the beach at The Sarojin. Sak helped us pick our menu as soon as we arrived and built up the excitement every time we passed him in the resort. It was magical - I smile now just thinking about it. Our waiter for the evening was Sea and he really made us feel special.

This place really is perfect for a honeymoon but also for those who want to relax as it is quiet (no kids under 10), calm, and they make you feel so very special. In all honesty, you really couldn't ask for anything more from this very special place. Thank you Sarojin for a beautiful start to our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cblee_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
There are newer reviews for The Sarojin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

A Perfect Stay… in the pool residence

We experienced Sarojin for 3 nights, from the moment we arrived to our departure, life was great!
As the owner of a distinctive retreat/resort in Bali myself, I am quite critical critical, and I must say that Sarojin have impressed us all the way.

Pros:
Residence in perfect condition
Amenities of high quality
Excellent bed and bedding
Food is well prepared/presented and taste great.. amazing breakfast!
Staff is polite, non obstructive and gentle
Spa is beautiful
Garden is spacious, clean and well maintained
Main swimming pool/Jacuzzi is remarkable
White fine sand beach, clean and goes forever
No children under 10 for true relaxation
Internet (WIFI) work well everywhere on the property

Cons:
We had to leave… but we will be back!

To the management, I have much respect for what you have done and for how you are managing Sarojin. To the staff, keep on the good work, you all made our stay enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: The pool residence 306 is I believe one of the best as it is a corner unit, therefore only one wall...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgesbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I booked 9 nights in a 'Pool Residence' for our Honeymoon. I was absolutely delighted by the whole experience and received nothing but incredible and such attentive service through-out our whole stay.
As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a host of friendly staff, we were upgraded to a 'Suite' complimentary and we more than happy with the room. It was cleaned twice a day and to a great standard, little things made a huge difference like slippers and water left on the bed-side table at night time.
We had 2 excursions booked in with the package and were again delighted by the service we received. Again little things like a note on your bed the night before the trip as a reminder and with times that you will be leaving and returning from the trip. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and friendly, but also gave us our own space too.
The food in the restaurant was the best food I have ever tasted. We splashed out on 'Crab night', a private barbeque on the beach, the 5 course degustation was included too.
The breakfast was incredible too, every morning we started around 10am and it always lasted a couple of hours, free flowing sparkling wine was great!!!
It rained for most of the time throughout our stay but that didn't matter to us as we still had the best time.
The town of Khao Lak was a 10 minute shuttle ride from the hotel and included markets which was brilliant. In the off season the shops in the town are mostly closed, just keep that in mind.
The beach was fantastic and the staff we constantly topping up your ice cold water. The facilities to be able to use a paddle board, canoes and a catamaran was a great experience too.
All in all an amazing time was had by the two of us, this resort is definitely for couples wanting a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the top floor, I never heard a single noise from any other guests!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a great resort for couples who want 5 star facilities in a relaxed atmosphere.
We had 8 nights in a Pool Residence and it was magnificent.
We booked a day trip through the resort and although it may cost more than in the town it was worth every cent/baht. It was a great experience to have 2 sarojin staff look after you, give you local information and provide a simply perfect lunch in the national park. You won't regret it.
The food in the resorts 2 restaurants is faultless, beautifully presented and motuh watering.
We had one maintenance issue on a particular day and the Room Manager, Alex dealt with quickly and had a bottle of chanpagne chilled in our room with a note to say sorry. Now thats class.
In the end though it is the Sarojin staff that make this resort so wonderful. Jib and Naem in the Edge and Ed and Keam on the tour.
Be careful though because breakfast is a feast and so peaceful that you can linger for so long there.
All up, sensational food, limitless choices and blissful service.
Another trap is the Pathway Spa. It was so good my wife had 3 visits. Awesome.

Room Tip: Pool Residences are brilliant for those that love seclusion.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryJ5125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights and was amazed by this hotel. Starting with the airport transfer including drinks and music selection menu. From all, the best was the 150m2 room with 2 bathtub (one outside) ! All day breakfast with sparkling wine, an amazing wine menu(handpicked- many good regions and medium producers) and great food. The staff are incredible helpful. Alex one of the manager makes the difference. Such a cozy and noiseless place. You can almost not see anyone! Lovely beach and they easily arrange private tours to Phi Phi and James Bond Island!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calves33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you are looking for romance, relaxation or luxury than look no further – the Sarojin is the very definition of what you are looking for!!!

This is no hotel - the Sarojin is a wonderful resort of paths and streams winding their way round beautiful tropical gardens,. The guest-villas are tucked away behind the twisting streams, palms and high flower beds, giving you a real sense of privacy, and of being hidden away in your own slice of tropical paradise. Accompanying the sounds of the trickling streams and jungle life (replaced every night by a cheery choir of frogs and geckos), everywhere you go the scents of lemongrass, lotus and lilies waft around in the air.

Arriving pretty exhausted after 24 hours of travel we were greeted by the kindest and friendliest staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. The team welcomed us enthusiastically to their hotel, took us through to the large open lobby and plied us with sparkling wine and cold towels and my wife a little bouquet of orchids whilst sitting us down in comfy chairs overlooking the impressive lily ponds, gardens and grounds that make up the Sarojin.

The room was every bit as beautiful as their website shows – no cunning photography needed here to make things look better than they are. In fact that’s the same with all of the photos on their website – no matter how nice they look, the reality is even better.

The breakfasts down at The Edge restaurant are a treat – available all day, tasty and you can eat as much as you want, but the real highlight is its setting. Set right on the edge of the beach this is a beautiful way to start the day sitting back with croissant, pineapple, sparkling wine and a coffee whilst admiring the flat seas, white sands, and enjoying the gentle warm breeze which is a welcome respite from the heat that will kick in later that day. Everything is cooked on site, and brought fresh to your table by the ever-present friendly staff - you never have to scavenge a buffet or look round for service.

The lunch and dinners were by a country mile the finest food we had anywhere in our whole stay in Thailand. Chef Gogh and his team are quite simply superb and the pride and skill with which they present their food is amazing. Even something as simple as chicken satay was presented in a little pyramid on a wire mesh over a clay pot filled with red hot embers ensuring the food continued to sizzle away enticingly in front of you. The Beef Vermicelli noodles piled high in their clay pots served with wonderfully carved fruit and flowers was my personal favourite.

As a honeymoon couple the Sarojin looked after us so well and continued to surprise us throughout the week with unexpected personal gifts and kindness, I wouldn’t want to spoil the surprises for any other couples – but we would like to say a special thankyou to the manager for his invitation to a free private 5 course degustation meal. The food and wine was simply superb.

The staff really make the Sarojin and after a few days you move from recognising them to almost feeling a part of their family. From the delicately beautiful Aoy with her wonderful smiles to welcome you each morning, to Alex the assistant manger who has such a passion to make your holiday as amazing as possible, to the legendary Apple – the wizard who worked her magic on my wife in the quite rightfully award-winning spa who went back again and again. The spa is amazing, hidden away in the jungle with streams and fountains – if someone tried to replicate this back in the UK it would be the height of kitsch, there in Khao Lak it is pure tropical luxury.

There’s a lovely touch by Dawid the manager who throws a cocktail party once a week to meet and entertain his guests – and his passion for the hotel and his team is glowing. So impressed.

A couple of more practical things – there are plenty of day trips and evening trips that can be arranged if you want to get out and see this wonderful part of Thailand. Ourselves we went elephant trekking, rafting in the jungle, canoeing through caves and mangroves, feeding monkeys, visiting the local markets and stopping by at the James Bond Island – and still we had time for the 10km+ beach and the superb large swimming pool at the centre of the resort.

For those fancying a change there are restaurants along the beach 5 mins to the right (with the hotel behind you), or you could go into one of a couple of nearby towns for dinner by taxi or shuttle bus. Our favourite was the Takieng Restaurant in Bang Niang about 5 mins shuttle bus away. Great atmosphere and superb cocktails. To be honest though, the Sarojin food is so good, there’s really no need to experiment elsewhere often.

I read a couple of critical reviews about the Sarojin on this site before coming, having now visited myself I only wish that they had mentioned where they thought was a great place to stay – if the Sarojin isn’t their idea of paradise, I would love to know where is at it must be simply epic!

Thanks so much to all at the Sarojin, we’ll be travelling to other far flung corners of the globe first, but we’ll always be looking forward to our return, and will always have the best of memories...

From Paul & Katerina, room 306 - a pool villa to remember

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I had our beach wedding at the Sarojin in March 2013. The hotel, the beach and the grounds were absolutely stunning and the perfect place for our big day!
The staff who helped to co-ordinate the wedding were really helpful and made the day fantastic. The restaurant staff were friendly and made our beach wedding barbeque amazing. I am vegetarian and the hotel were able to make some lovely food especially for me!
Alexandra and Marie were great on the day helping to make everything run smoothly. The spa package that I received prior to the wedding was lovely; I have never been so pampered! If you are looking to get married in Thailand, the Sarojin is a beautiful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louiselovesdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
552 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 70 in Khao Lak
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
0.1 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: $182 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing