We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Krating Khao Lak
Nearby Hotels
$82
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
$43
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$34
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bangsak Village(Khao Lak)
$54
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $45/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sarojin(Khao Lak)
$197
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
42
85
56
13
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
85
56
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbag servicebeach towelswalk along the beachnice beachbungalowbalconyinternetmotorbikeresortsignallizardsphuketstretch
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 199 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Gorgeous little bungalow with a great view over the ocean. Very comfortable bed, tv, coffee/tea service and minibar, safe and small but nice bathroom with amenities. Housekeeping ladies absolutely wonderful and very kind. The hotel was very quiet, it being low season. Many many steps but that is great for the daily work-out. The hotel is set in a beautiful rain forrest type of setting and sitting against a cliff sort of.
During the quiet times it does seem to lack some TLC and staff seem to lack motivation or direction which is a shame imho. Don't know if there is a manager during the low season...
Pool is rather small and quite deep, making it not really suitable for small children. There is a nice sun-bathing area at the bottom of property from where you can walk to the beach.
Taxi cost to go to the village is 100baht by foot appr. 25 minutes.
Rarely used the restaurant so can't really comment on that other than that it did seem expensive compared to others and they add 10% service charge to your bill.
Wifi is only available in the "lobby" but was not working very well.

Room Tip: I stayed in A-9, great unobstructed view, some seem to have a lot of trees blocking the view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingBird13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful view from thai style bungalows in tropical forest. Quiet location, helpful staff. Breakfast - enough, but in long term - boring. Some time - about 7 minutes to the beach, nore than some steps. Good for health! If you need get to the town - it takes about 25 minutes by foot. Town small and quiet - almost nothing to. But if you are heading for tranquility - this place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmandasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Baan Krating in Khao Lak has a lovely location in lush green tropical forrest and beneath the beach. You have to walk quite some steps to get down and the concrete steps are not all well maintained. Same goes for the beach area where the chairs are a bit rickety..
Bungalows are clean and decorated Thai style. Pool is nice, food in restaurant is very overpriced. The place misses a bit of a soul..we only stayed one night and that was enough. We expected a little more for 3500 bath a night inc a very sad breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jippster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

As mentioned by many, there are a lot of steps but we just figured it was a good way to stay in shape! Our room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet, which came with our reservation, was one of the best we had in Thailand. Some folks mentioned it wasn't the greatest, but it was so much better, and offered more dishes, than anywhere we stayed. The staff doesn't speak much English, but wanted to please. It was a short walk to the beach and about a 20 minute walk along the beach to town. The pool has a gorgeous view! We loved our 8 days there.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have better views than others. We were in either 15 or 16 and it had a nice view and felt very private.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kacondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Baan Krating is a great place to relax and get away from it all. The bunglows sit on a hillside offering the sights and sounds of the Andaman Sea. The service is first rate: the staff are most helpful, so if you have a problem with anything just let them know and they will fix it. We arrived by bus from Bangkok at 5:30 am and were in our room by 8am. The staff also helped us shift rooms and hand delivered my misplaced hat: great service.

As others have mentioned, there are many steps at the resort which may cause difficulty for some. I think however it helps promote the feeling of tranquility.

The breakfast buffet is good and the resteraunt at the resort is excellent: Northeast style food at it's best: papaya salad and sea bass are very good.

Be sure to visit the National Park next to the Baan Krating.

Room Tip: Book ahead as the deluxe rooms are very popular, but the pavillion rooms are a bit easier to reserve. We booked our room at the Thai Travel Fair in Bangkok and got a great deal...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank himalayafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews