We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$29
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$29
View deal
Booking.com$30
Priceline$33
Travelocity$29
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
49
91
60
18
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
49
91
60
18
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 224 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Baan Krating resort was really something special. The resort consists of around 20-25 rooms that are located on the curve of the bay in Khao Lak. If I’m not mistaken, all rooms face towards the ocean and are nestled in the trees and back drop of Khao Lak beach. Our room had its own balcony with a table and chairs. It was really relaxing to sit out there and watch the ocean. The room was spacious and clean with a medium sized bathroom. Our only interaction with hotel staff was when we went to reception to ask questions, which I thought was really nice because it felt so secluded from the world. The cleaning staff were like ninjas and came in while we were out of the room, made everything nice and neat again and left without a trace. They would put local flowers or plants into a bottle of water for the room which was a really nice touch. The walk down from the room to the beach was slightly difficult as you have to make your way down a handful of steps. The stretch of beach that the resort overlooks is simply stunning with not too many people. It was a perfect escape for a couple of days. What I like about Khao Lak is that there is really not that much to do which forces you to unwind and relax in paradise!

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peppermint_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I'm staying at Baan Krating Khaolak now, just a quick decide with my bf to visit Khaolak. He feel like to try Baan Krating many times before but just select it this time. We booked room via agoda just 1 hr before we arrived, luckily the room is available.
We chose deluxe Pavillion as it stated 40 sth sq.m while normal deluxe is about 27 sq.m.

The rate is not cheap but not expensive on peak season about 145 USD unfortunately the view from our Pavillion is blocked by big trees, what special for us is only the relaxing sound of the wave. Further than that the room rate does not include breakfast, need supplement of 7 USD per head.

The hotel is on the cliff so if you want to go to the beach you must walk down for a distance. Room is well designed, a bit small for us. View is not stunning as expected since it is 80% blocked by the trees. The other rooms might have better view, don't forget to request in advance.

Next visit might happen but in low season will offer me a more reasonable price (I believe that the price would be almost 3 times lower) a better view is a must. I will need to make sure that the rate I spend will offer more reasonable value than this time.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keaw_hkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great place to unwind after two nights on Similan #4. Clean, comfortable, affordable, awesome view of the sea from our balcony. Not for people with any mobility issues... lots of steps from the road-level lobby down to the bungalows, and further down to the beach.

Did not try restaurant. Looked only modestly busy for breakfast. 100B for a songthaew ride into town, with lots of good eating options.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trowca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in the baan krating for 3 days with the wife and kids on a multi centre holiday and overall rated this hotel very highly. Each bungalow has modern facilities as well as nice furnishings and great service. Each bungalow also has a balcony that overlooks the calm beach. I booked a 15 night holiday with dreambookers.com travelling around Vietnam and Thailand visiting all the attractions and can honestly say that Khao Lak and the Baan Krating resort was one of the highlights of my holiday.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Four nights in a Deluxe Pavilion room (around AU$48 per night incl breakfast, taxes and service charge).

A very nice spacious room situated in jungle surroundings, with all conveniences and a fantastic view (probably the best of any hotel in Khao Lak) from the private secluded balcony overlooking the northern coastline. The room was clean, well maintained, and serviced by very friendly staff.

A little remote from the nearest shops and restaurants in Bang La On (around 5 mins by car), and probably too far for most people to walk on a regular basis … so, your own car (or the use of taxis) is recommended.

They advised they didn’t have off-street parking but that our car could be parked on-street under close observation by their 24 hr security guard … but on arrival, went out of their way to make space for us in their small off-street area.

Breakfast was a help-yourself buffet (as much as you could want) … with a fairly small western choice plus a couple of asian dishes … tasty, but it could get a little boring after 4 or 5 days. The coffee was good and was replenished as often as you wanted.

They do have an on-site restaurant, but other than breakfast, we didn’t see it being used (although there were very few rooms occupied). Also attached just down the hill, is the Muanlai Restaurant (see separate review)… whilst very basic in decore, the food was good and reasonably priced, the service was ok, with panoramic coastal views.

The only negative from our point of view … 88 steps from check-in to our rooms (and some rooms were more remote). Not a problem for those who enjoy a good work-out, but definitely a chore for us. We didn’t venture down to the rocks or waterfront as it was just too difficult.

Facilities: A small pool with sun loungers (although, not a lot of sun), reading room and library, public computer and free wi-fi internet.

Conclusion: A fairly good level of fitness is required to make the most of this hotel. If you are content to sit on your balcony, read a book, or chill-out and soak up the view you will probably love it.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews