We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent Hotel for the Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Galleria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Galleria Resort
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Kamala, Thailand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel for the Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

It always surprises me when people go low budget then complain about it not be "up to standards". For $35 US, this place is right on the beach and has a beautiful pool. Sure, the rooms were a bit old and worn, but not bad at all. The staff were nice enough, but typical Thai-style... they really don't give a darn about service. Breakfast was very basic, but it was free and I ate all that I needed. Overall, I wouldn't want to spend a full vacation there, but for a weekend or 3 nights...it's a good deal. However, typical of lots of Thailand beaches, the beach in front of the hotel is naturally beautiful, but was plastered with trash and debris. Truly a sad state of affairs for Thailand in general... no respect for their own country.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonMacLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    42
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
28
67
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

First impression when walking into reception was very good but after seeing the bedroom we complained to the thomson rep and where moved to a different hotel.The room had blood spattered walls, the shower head was encrusted with lime scale the bathroom was grubby as was the bedroom.Outside the apartment was accessed by a rickety wooden staircase.Around the pool the decking had broken slats.There are restaurants close by but we are so glad we moved as it was like the cheap geece holidays we had in the 80s. Icant comment on sleep quality as we did not

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liftman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked here at "small & friendly" as in the past we felt a smaller place offered more sociability . However there were only 2 English speaking guestd staying - so it wasnt at all friendly. the other guests were Russion or pretty rude Chinese guests. Breakfast a bit mean and difficult to always get the drinks required. The most disapointing feature is the beach which is accross the road from the hotel but its a scramble over rough ground and the beach here is poor, no beach bars, no hammocks and no sun beds, Also the reef here was destroyed in the tsunami and is a bit like a building site
However the pool is lovely and the staff tried hard - good beds and its very peaceful. We were evacuated due to forest fire which was a bit scary but Thomsons looked after us admirably

Room Tip: All rooms pretty similar and look out at trees thro which the sea can just be seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supergrannyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks . Our superior double room was resonably clean but toilet/shower room need some attention i.e leaking toilet , smell of suige. The sheets not changed regularly. The towels seems to looked permanently stained, grey and very tired. Sadly the was no visible management on side. On the positive note receptionist Boogie and the staff was very friendly, helpful and always smiling. The area is very quiet with lovely sandy beach. The SPA was lovely, great prices, good treatments - very much recomended.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 745Barbara_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We are here at the moment. Forget the negative reviews. We may be a long way out of Khao Lak but what you save with this hotel you can use ten times over using taxis. We have hired a car which at less than £200 for a week is enabling us to see so much more than those stuck in the main area. The hotel may be older than some but it is clean, very friendly and well positioned for the beach. There is a mini mart 200 meters away with a few restaurants where the food is good and very cheap. Everyone here is so helpful. The rooms are well equipped and very clean with a large balcony. All in all, very good value

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NannyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had two weeks here in January. Found the hotel perfectly comfortable, fussy people may not like watermarks in the shower but everywhere was clean and sheets and towels changed very regularly, room cleaned daily. Buffet breakfast had good choice for all nationalities. Found the restaurant somewhat lacking and only ate there on the first evening. After that we found the four lovely little restaurants just next door and tried them all out. The hotel was very quiet in the evenings as most people went down the road to the restaurants. The pool was clean and quiet and with enough sunbeds. We requested, and got, an upstairs room opposite the beach with lily ponds outside, with a nice private balcony. If you get a downstairs room the terraces are open to the pathways, so not private. We found the air conditioning to be very quiet and easily controllable.
The lovely beach was just across the road and the Memories beach bar just a short walk along (and a wade across a river!) for a sunbed and a lunch.
The town of Khao Lak was a 300 baht taxi ride away.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room opposite the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks. Sadly the hotel seems to be lacking any obvious management. Our room was clean but tired decor. The shower room was badly watermarked and the water drained very slowly. We had frequent towel changes but had to strip the bed after a week to prompt a sheet change. The bad was very firm which was ideal for us but not everyone's cup of tea.The air con was efficient. Room had tea and coffee and a fridge but they didn't replenish once used until we asked. Two bottles of water were left every day in room. Sadly the staff in restaurant for breakfast were unusually disinterested and the selection of food on the buffet was basic. Boogie the senior receptionist did his best to help when needed but his English is almost as limited as my Thai.
Location for us was fine. We hired a motorbike and ventured about that way or walked the length of the beach as far as possible either way. Memories Bar and restaurant is a lovely stroll up the beach and well worth going to.
With just a little bit of a spruce up and closer management, Palm Galleria could lift itself from 'ordinary' to 'special'.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe on sea side. Maybe ours wasn't top; it didn't have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MicaelaCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.3 mi away
Takolaburi Cultural & Spa Resort
2.0 mi away
Krathom Khaolak Resort
Krathom Khaolak Resort
#56 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Andamania Beach Resort
The Andamania Beach Resort
#47 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khaolak Southsea
Khaolak Southsea
#59 of 64 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Galleria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Galleria Resort

Property: Palm Galleria Resort
Address: 27 102 Tambon Kukkak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Galleria Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Palm Galleria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Galleria Hotel Khao Lak
Best Western Takua Pa
Takua Pa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing