We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Khaolak Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Khaolak Resort to your Saves list
Baan Khaolak Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   26/16 Moo7, Phetchakasem Rd | T. Khuk Khak, A. Takaupa, Phang-Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect and Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A peaceful and beautiful resort with wonderful and friendly staff members. The restaurant has a variety of delicious thai dishes. Service was great and the pricing is quite reasonable. Perfect for soul searching or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ms_solly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have been staying at Baan Khaolak Resort every year since the year 2000.
After the terrible disaster of the Tsunami in 2004 the resort has been reconstructed and reopened in November 2006. It's since then even better than ever!
Although it figures as a 3* resort, the rooms are at least 4*, well equipped and well maintained.
The garden is wonderful with all the plants and flowers and the beach is nice and clean.
But what makes the difference to other nice resorts in Thailand is the staff! All of the staff is doing a perfect job and makes you feel at home. Everybody - from reception to room-keeping to Restaurant-staff - is just wonderful! Everybody is very helpful and outstandingly friendly. Any special wish you might have is beeing taken care of.
This place is just like my second home and I can recommend it at 100%!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very nice, charming and peaceful hotel with a nice pool in a relaxing environment with very nice surroundings close to the beach.The beach is fantastic. I was there with my wife in the middle of March 2013, and we had a great relaxing time in this quiet hotel, after hard work at home. The service was good and the breakfast very good. We only had one dinner at the beach and it was very good. One thing we were missing in the room was a proper water boiler (because the one in the room we had could not boil water very good)

Room Tip: I have used different rooms and all are quiet. Of course the villas are top class situated at the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

i think there is no problem about the price for the thai cooking class usually its 1300B to the other hotels/resort so 1400 is ok its not bad at all and its all up to you if you want to join the class and you can ask them first before you pay, before you agree to something etc. etc., i think the certificates were given the next day or the night after the cooking seminar, usually if your not staying in that resort they will send the certificate in the hotel were you staying at. the problem is if the night duty receptionist in your hotel did not endorsed it to the morning shift receptionist then it will be chaos in your part. so the lesson here now is ask first ..

i've been to this resort all staff are great nice and quiet place me and my wife try their thai cooking class its ok yeah they just dont speak english well but its up to you to understand them and just remember that your in Thailand your not in the US or any English speaking country.try to book in and experience their service then comment again here..

anyways.... I'm looking forward to see those guys/gals again, see you in December...




cheers..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
são paulo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

They do not move any muscle to do anythink. Soap and shampoo available only after many claims and 12h after arrived, a lost 1,5h waiting the massage who I had booked...and no show. Nobody no about the services available in the hotel (and do not care). The front desk are atenttious but they just know to call to someone who do nothing. The safetybox was broken and theyt do not care.It's nice place with 2 star service. They do not move any muscle to do anythink for you. Soup and shampoo available only after many claims and 12h after arrived, a lost 1,5h wait the massage who I had booked...and no show. Nobody no about the services available in the hotel (and do not care). The front desk are atenttious but they just call to someone who doesnt nothing. If you want just slept and jump in swimming pool, are fine. Paid a little more for best services. I canceled other 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capitao0900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busaba17, Manager at Baan Khaolak Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for your comment. We are very sorry that you were disappointed while staying with us, and not receiving prompt services from the staff. We have checked your booking and found out about your enquiry, but not the booking, so we did not secure the room for you and did not expect your arrival.

However, when you showed up, it was 10.00 pm. and some parts of the resort were close, ready for maintenance. We could have offered better room for you, had you informed us the next morning.

For the Thai massage, we found you booked for 13.00 hrs., but when it was already half an hour late, when you arrived. The massage staff could not wait, as she had another appointment on the day.

We apologize again for the inconvenience caused, and we will try our best to improve the services in all aspects, as we desire and strive for service excellence to please all guests.


Sincerely yours,
Busaba Patanawiroj (Ms.)
Resident Manager
Baan Khaolak Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A perfect resort localized direct on the beach and 500 meters away from the little town of Khuk Khak with shops and restaurants.
The standard bungalow we stayed in for 2 weeks was great and clean and had a great balcony.
Great bed, and we could not do whithout the aircondition. The room and bathroom was very well equipped and the Wifi was free.
A nice and cosy restaurant at the swimmingpool and the beach.
The Resort have the best part of the hole beach and when the waves got to high it was great to stay at the swimmingpool, where there was no children (perfect).
The staff was wonderful, helpful and really serviceminded.
The only drawback was the tourists from the Towelcountries Germany and Switzerland, who laid out their towels on the sunbeds before 7 am and did not use them before 11 am. There was a sign by the swimmingpool which told that it was not allowed to occupy the beds with only towels for more than 1 hour. There the staff has to improve to collect the towels. As good Norwegians we removed the towels from the sunbeds we wanted and pretended not to understand german…. We only got strange looks from the germans….

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gunnar Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Baan Khaolak over New Year, having spent a week in Tong Nai Pan on Koh Phagnan, two very different places. We stayed in one of the 3 beachfront villas, which was fabulous. It was a few feet from the beach, incredibly spacious with a jacuzzi bath as well as two showers (one indoor, one outdoor). Outside we had a great little terrace with a large double recliner bed, with unbeatable views out to the lovely wide beach.

On New Year's Eve, we were treated to a Thai banquet with excellent food (huge choice and top quality) as well as entertainment from (to name a few) local schools, a lady boy cabaret (brilliant!) and a local 'celebrity' BMX group who had been on Thailand's Got Talent. We also had fireworks. And, to our great surprise, it was all free (i.e included in our normal room rate - other than a good choice of wines) - no catch. I am not sure how many other resorts would be so generous given we had spent about 1,200 Baht (for food alone) each for a Chrismas Eve banquet at our previous hotel on the holiday.

The hotel is a good place to explore the national parks and there are numerous tour operators on the main strip. However, it is not really a place with cute little bars and restaurants on the beach (the beachfront locations seem to be owned by the hotels), unlike other resorts on the islands (Koh Phagnan, Samui, Tao etc). There is a McDonalds, which says it all.

We only had a couple of negatives regarding the resort, one being that housekeeping didn't always clear away our rubbish from our terrace and room which attracted ants. The other, that the other guests were not the friendliest people we had ever come across. We are a friendly couple in our early 30s from England, keen to meet/chat with other holiday makers. Everyone else was either German or Scandinavian, with young families or in their retirement. Very few were willing to partake in the New Year entertainment (despite the efforts of the lovely Jasmine)and we also heard some rudeness to the staff at the banquet which was rather unfair given we were being treated to a great, complimentary, event. I will also remark that the loungers on the beach were always reserved (with towels) at the crack of dawn(!). Anyway, this is not the fault of the hotel, but just an indication of the guests who stay at the resort.

All in all, it was a good 5 days. Thanks to the management (Chris) and staff (especially Jasmine) for a great New Year.

Room Tip: Room 2 - right on the beach with unbeatable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LemurToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.4 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
8.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#12 of 62 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 62 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
0.1 mi away
Khaolak Laguna Resort
Khaolak Laguna Resort
#15 of 62 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
5.7 mi away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Khaolak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Khaolak Resort

Address: 26/16 Moo7, Phetchakasem Rd | T. Khuk Khak, A. Takaupa, Phang-Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#26 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Khaolak Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Khaolak Resort, your home away from home by the Andaman Sea, invites you to experience anew paradise where the skyline meets the endless sea. Unbeatable beauty which only nature can offer. The magical music from the crystal clear green wave and smooth touching a long powdery glittering soft sandy beach on a warm sunny day, friendships and smiles. Your secluded paradise will never fail to bring joy to you and your beloved family in every moment of your holiday. "Truly Unforgettable" Baan Khaolak Resort "Your Dream Place by the Andaman Sea" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Khaolak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Khaolak Hotel Khao Lak
Khao Lak
Hotel Baan Khaolak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing