We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Visited Orchid for the second time in two years and we cannot find anything negative about it. This time we stayed in a family room i the new wing, finished in november. The family room, better described as an appartment, 110 sqm with ocean view and fantastic standard for beeing a 4-star hotel. A week here is a perfect start/ending to your vacation.
Tommy
Sweden

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tommy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 531 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2008

By chance we found this absolutely great place: a friend of us recommend the Khaolak Orchid for our honeymoon.
For the reservation I just mentioned that we would like to spend 2 weeks on our Thailand trip after marriage.
What a surprise! Roses, roses, roses - even in the bathtub!
The service we found at the hotel was excellent, the possibilities to enjoy around there great, we could take undisturbed long walks along the private beach, and much more.
The meals at the Verve restaurant were delicious and the whole stay at this paradisiacal place just marvellous.
We will come again!
Felix & Doo

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Felix10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

A really nice secluded hotel, but still not far from the centre of Khao Lak.
After a couple of days in Bangkok we first found it too quiet and lonely but after a day or two when we got into the Thaiway of living we found it very nice. We were a party of eight persons and stayed in two familyrooms. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The food in the resturant was great, of course more expensive than in outside resturants but very worth while.
We were almost alone on the several km long beach. The beach was very clean. However, we recommend to rent motorbikes to get around easier.
We liked the place so much that we will stay there in april 2009 too.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Valltomta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

Booked a 3D2N package at THB4999 nett.
The package includes 2 nights stay at the Garden view room + 1 hr massage for 2 + set dinner for 2.


Room:
Stayed at Room 126.
Big and spacious. However, some of the furniture looks abit tired (e.g. one of the handles of the wardrobe is missing)
Not sure is it due to non-occupancy of the room for a long period, there's a musky/damp smell in the room whenever we enter the room.
Beds are comfortable but would be good if the room comes with a king size bed option.
From our balcony, we can see a little view of the beach and pool, which is nice.
Housekeeping of the room may need some improvement. I found a dead mosquito on my bed and the bath tub was dirty when we check in (but no big issue on our end).

Facilities
Didnt really get to use the facilities as we checked in late on 1st night and was out the whole of 2nd day.
There's a small gym and 3 interconnected pool for kids and adults of a reasonable size.
There's another infinity pool (not open for use yet) but I'm not sure whether this pool is only for the guests staying at the new wing.
From the beach chairs (facing the beach), there's a nice view of the garden landscape and the sea. Simply love it. The scenery here beats Le Meridien Khao Lak hands down (we stayed there for our last 2 nights).


Food

We had our set dinner on our 2nd evening after our Similan day trips. We'd made the choice from the menu. There's an option of a 4 course Thai menu or 3 course European menu. We chose one of each so we can sample their food. They're really generous with the food portion. Unlike other critics, we find the food tasty especially their tom yam goong.

Buffet breakfast selection is average but the food is rather tasty. Orange juice is very sweet.


Massage:
There's quite a number of mosquitos at the corridoor along the spa area. Also, we made the reservation since we book the hotel but the spa does not have any reservations at all. Massage overall is ok.


Staff:
Staff are friendly. English not much of a problem to them. Even offered to pack us a breakfast box for our day trip when they found out we have a Similan day trip next day.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazataza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

We spent 2 weeks at Khaolak Orchid Beach and we really loved it. The staff are very friendly, and the food is excellent. We had a nice room with a big balcony facing the poolarea and with a view over the sea. Our kids loved the big pool. We can recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fanny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

spent 6 nights in the Orchid beach hotel and found it to be absolutely tremendous.

went with my wife and three children and we all loved it. cost 200 bhat to get to town and 200 bhat to get back. you have to barter for this. food in khaolak town is great and in expensive. look for the red dragon restaraunt it is great.

The rooms in the hotel are big and clean and of high standard. food at the hotel is good but you need to eat in town to mix things up.

breakfast is also good.

beware of the tours as they are expensive if you book from hotel.

we took an elephant trek and arranged ourselves.

Taxi to elephant camp about 300 bhat each way and negotiate a ride to the waterfall, a swim and return ride for about 300 bhat each.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank janenetroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

Trip Advisor helped me discover this hidden gem of a hotel.

We flew from Bangkok to Phuket. We then took a taxi cab from Phuket Airport via downtown Khao Lak to the off-the-beaten-track Orchid Beach Resort Hotel. Immediately after stepping out of the taxi we were whisked away to relax on the couches in the open-air reception area. We were brought refreshing tropical fruit drinks to sip and chilly face clothes to cool ourselves while our bags were being taken out of the taxi and our reservation was being checked-in. No standing at the reception desk checking in for us, we felt well pampered from the very start.

The rooms are new, big, clean, air-conditioned, etc etc. The whole complex is well maintained and the whole staff appeared to love their jobs.

This hotel is for travelers who are there to relax. Do we want to go to the pool first, or to the beach, for a massage, or to the lawn chair loungers. And then if you do want to partake in the hustle and bustle of downtown, the resort offers an inexpensive shuttle to town.

The breakfast buffet was quite satisfying for a Western appetite. And you don't even have to lift a finger to order lunch in the pool. Every whim was answered by a courteous, friendly, professional staff member. This is a family-friendly resort.

I highly recommend this hotel for travelers looking for luxury at a price much less than a 5-star hotel. If you want a 5-star hotel, stay at one, pay the price and hope it is 5-star quality in your opinion. If you want a great value for your money, stay at the Orchid.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talk2Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
5.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
872 reviews
1 mi away
Ayara Villas
Ayara Villas
#42 of 70 in Khao Lak
169 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#4 of 8 in Khuk Khak
270 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
0.8 mi away
The Andamania Beach Resort
The Andamania Beach Resort
#51 of 70 in Khao Lak
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Address: 61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Khao Lak
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#10 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#19 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: $42 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3+ Star resort is located on the long Khuk Khak Beach in Khao Lak, run by the local family from Takuapa. We are 10 mins by shuttle bus to Khao Lak Center. The shuttle bus run every hour in the evening (2 times a day free of charge, other time costs 50 Baht/Person/Way) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Orchid Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Orchid Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing