We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hotel in Khao Lak” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Khao Lak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have been for 4 days in this excellent resort. A very nice and quiet setting close to the beach, very nice staff and very good food. Big choice for the breakfast buffet. The room is spacious and everything is very clean! We will come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weltenbummler117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    133
    32
    12
    4
See reviews for
136
231
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just had 18 relaxing days in the Orchid, we had a premier room, the bedroom is spacious with a great view of the beach and pool from the balcony. The staff are friendly and helpful and always ready with a smile. The food in the Verve restaurant is very good and reasonable priced and if you have the hotel package you receive a 20% discount which also entitles you to get the shuttle bus into khao lak free. There are plenty of sunbeds available around the pool, in the garden and on the beach. We really enjoyed our holiday there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first or second floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was our first stop on a 2 week Thailand trip - what a fantastic start! The resort is quiet and secluded with a private beach, perfect for families or people that want to rest. If you are looking for the Phuket party scene, this is not for you. The staff is friendly and very helpful, gave us many suggestions of things to do and see. In the evening you rarely see other guests. We booked a sea view room on the 3rd floor. Clean and modern with a balcony. I'm really glad we didn't book on the ground floor, the view is really spectacular, we also had less mosquitos on the higher floor. The only negative point is the bed, the mattress is really hard.
Breakfast was great with a selection of 4 hot dishes, a bread spread, cereals, fruit and an omelette station. A previous reviewer complained about the birds during breakfast, I can honestly say that this didn't bother us as we knew we were on a tropical beach resort in a open building - just made us feel closer to nature. After traveling the coast we found that this resorts' alcohol is really cheap. Cocktails go for 180 Baht and during happy hour 160 Baht. I never tried the 'western' food, but the Thai food is great!
We did a couple of treatments from the garden spa. Affordable and worth it! We rented a scooter directly from the hotel @ 300 Baht per day. It's about a 10min drive on a very quiet road to the main road. Khao Lak is small and everything you need is on one straight road, 7/11, restaurants, bars and the local market. The Tsunami memorial in Baan Nam Kem is about a 30min drive north on a scooter. Memories Beach bar is must! Walk along the beach, its about 2km north. Khao Lak was my favorite and will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors get better views of the beautiful sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charnevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just spent a wonderful 10 days at this delightful resort. If you're looking for 5-star luxury then you'll be disappointed but for us (my mum and my teenage daughter) it was perfect and I can't imagine staying anywhere better. The beach is absolutely stunning and fringed with forest and waves lapping the shore. A 10 minute walk in either direction will lead you to a little beach bar serving wonderful Thai food. Sunset was our favourite (the Phad See Ew was to die for) and we often had dinner there, all alone, watching the sun go down, cocktails in hand. Paradise!
We had 2 premier rooms on the 2nd floor with a nice view of the pool and gardens. The rooms were exactly as shown in the photos on the hotel website, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom has a shower and bath and everything was very clean. Other people have complained about hard beds, but we slept very well.
Breakfast was served in the ground floor restaurant, and the buffet was made up of the usual fare: fruit, yoghurt, cereal, juices, bread/toast, eggs any way you like, cold cuts, Thai food, etc.
Most days we had lunch at the hotel restaurant, Verve 29, and the food was delicious on each occasion. The staff were always cheerful and polite.
During our stay, the guests were mainly from Scandinavia or Germany and most people were very friendly and a lot of them come back every year. The older crowd tended to go to the sun beds on the beach, whilst the families tended to stay around the big pool.
The hotel needs a bit of a facelift: repairs to the pool decking, the adult pool needs a shower and a good scrub. Unfortunately there is a new hotel being built nearby and the works resulted in a lot of lorries going past the front of the hotel, causing more noise and disturbance than usual.
We had the most wonderful holiday at the Orchid and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_Days_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Just perfect for relax, but near for "action" Quality and the prices are in good level. Thing it is 3/4 Star Hotel . Suit for familys and couples. Restaurant verve is average. Spa was awesome and there is also massage outside. Poolbar is great. Definitevely get back next year!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatrickFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 7 nights and really enjoyed our stay.

Pros: wonderful location on the beach, very quiet and peaceful. The pools were both lovely and refreshing after a day at the beach. Staff were delightful, endlessly friendly, warm and happy. Lunch & dinner was great and reasonably priced, we also attended the Valentines day buffet dinner and show and released paper lanterns on the beach, beautiful! Fantastic outdoor massage service, great prices! Very relaxed and easygoing atmosphere which we loved!

Cons: the hotel itself needs a bit of a makeover, we stayed in the older wing and the room was clean and comfortable but a little bit tired and rundown. The fitness centre should just be chucked altogether - it cheapens the resort and makes it feel like its struggling (broken machines etc) and its really not needed!

Also getting a beach chair was difficult, not mentioning any nationalities but a particular group of tourists have the habit of arriving at the beach at 7am putting their belongings on beach chairs and not actually going to the beach until 11am or so, they would then leave their belongings on the beach chairs for the remainder if the day, even if they were leaving for a couple of hours. So its a bit annoying that this is the case. We ended up using the beach mats provided and lay on the sand instead of fighting for a chair. The hotel should have a policy of not reserving chairs, because there are so many that are not actually being used for the majority of the day but are 'taken'. Breakfast was a bit lacklustre, but the fruit options were delicious.

Overall this resort is excellent value for money, it is relaxed not pretentious in anyway and it is the perfect place to relax. If you want modern luxury this is not the place for you, if you want relaxed family friendly environment that is great value for money then this is the place!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jzer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I went to quite a few websites to understand the details and other things for my honeymoon. Well from the moment me n my hubby stepped into this resort - it was a whole new thing for us. It was beautiful , scenic , awesome.
We stayed in the month of jan - feb during our recent trip to thailand for our honeymoon. For people who dont know this place - its completely safe , you can book your own details , cars everything.

The rooms were clean and resort was spacious . Break fast was good and fresh. We were so happy with the resort that we decided to spend the entire time there and not into any tours around. We were into the local market twice and got very good deals and restaurants. We also availed the offers for valentines days at the spa. What a relaxation. We would definitely go back in recent future. A 5 star place - a great view.

Room Tip: Any room is good , but we stayed at the new wing A 26 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanimaDatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.3 mi away
The Haven Khao Lak
The Haven Khao Lak
#20 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
5.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#12 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#2 of 4 in Khuk Khak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 64 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
KhaoLak Blue Lagoon Resort
0.8 mi away
The Andamania Beach Resort
The Andamania Beach Resort
#45 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Property: Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
Address: 61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3+ Star resort is located on the long Khuk Khak Beach in Khao Lak, run by the local family from Takuapa. We are 10 mins by shuttle bus to Khao Lak Center. The shuttle bus run every hour in the evening (2 times a day free of charge, other time costs 50 Baht/Person/Way) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Orchid Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Orchid Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing