We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Suwan Palm Resort
Nearby Hotels
$117
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
$43
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$48
$34
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bangsak Village(Khao Lak)
$62
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $44/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$70
$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sarojin(Khao Lak)
$199
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
66
93
61
17
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
93
61
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice poolsea viewcoconuts restaurantlow seasonnice and clean hotelswimming poolgreat location on the beachsmall problemfive minute walkbudget hotelno liftsmall balconywould definitely stay here againnew wingincluded breakfastsound of the waveshot water
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 253 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed one night in the low season. We got a good price. The hotel was right on the beach and also has a nice swimming pool.

The breakfast was just ok, but the saving grace was you could get fresh cooked eggs.

The Irish Bar does not seam to operate anymore and the reasoning was that it was closed for low season. However I could seem to find where it would have been, so I suspect it is closed down altogether.

The staff weren't all that friendly on check in but they seemed to friendly enough by the time we checked out.

I think is a suitable hotel for people on a budget.

Room Tip: Its hard to say. I think just get the cheapest
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gafferworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We arrived by bus so dropped at the top of the road with only a 10 minute easy walk to the hotel. Greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist (Audi) & she then took us up to our room which had been upgraded free of charge. There was no-one around, the place was so quiet, being low season. Our room was lovely & spacious, certainly nice & clean & the back balcony on the second floor looked straight out to sea. Brilliant having the front & back doors open with a breeze going through, we did not need the air con most of the time. The aircon was a little noisy but no big problems, it worked well enough. The bed was very very firm, great for some, it certainly wouldn't stop me from going back. The restaurant only had very limited meals but was open for breakfast every morn. The pool is glorious & we had it all to ourselves for the first 4 days. Being right on the beach was lovely although not good for swimming as undertow is pretty strong. Maybe high season is better for the beach although further up it is good for swimming. Lovely to be able to walk so far along a beautiful, clean, mostly deserted beach! We had an 8 day stay here & enjoyed every day, Many shops are closed for a month or 3, some shops open only later in the day for a few hours but still enough to shop, very cheap & supermarkets & 7/11's everywhere, We had a motorbike $5 US per day, so were able to do a lot of touring around to visit Tsunami memorial, TuakaPa & south, but not a lot to do once the Similan & Surin Islands close for the season, so do a lot of other things! Great for a real relaxing break for sure & very easy to get to & from other parts with the great bus system.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor facing the sea is good as beautiful views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glenis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The flight from Moscow lasted for 9+ hours and transfer with our travl agent was too expensive (~200 USD for 2 persons) so we refused and hired a local official taxi (beforehand by e-mail) and paid for that about 50 USD. The distance from the international airport to Suwan Palm hotel is appr. 70 km.

We have spent 11 nights in this hotel in May 2011 and were pleasantly surprised that this low-season period welcomed us with a great weather with almost no rains and absolutelly vacant Suwan palm hotel !

That was our first visit to Thailand and such VIP conditions undoubtedly cheered us up! :)

We were absolutelly alone in here and even tagged this hotel as "ghost-hotel". During the whole stay only a few military or administrative Thai people (officially dressed) were at breafast once and one more family of three people swam in the pool. And that was all, so we enjoyed the sea and shared the beach only with ourselves.

We had an angular room on the third floor as we requested beforehand. It has a partly sea-view as in most of the rooms because the hotel stands along the shore. Partly just because there's a trees line right in front of the hotel which covers the sea views at some points.

The room was clean, simple and basically equipped. Wi-fi access was free and fast enough to skype or send/receive e-mails.

Unpretentious breakfasts will not leave you hungry.

We rented a car and fed ourselves by visiting different road cafes and restaurants in Khao Lak area and Phuket cities. Cheap and rich.

The nearest hotels were empty as well and many cafes and shops were closed or worked during limited time.

We had a great massage in Sukhita's place, who became our kind guide here.

Suwan palm is framed by very nice surroundings. We have found absolutelly beautiful and lone white sand beaches, palm forests and mountains' retreats. Khao Lak area is a part of Phangnga province and is full of national parks and reserves.

You better plan your route thoroughly before the visit then you'll enjoy your trip to the maximum. We intended to discover untrodden and wild places in this splendid area, enveloped by nature, and we patchily attained it. No touristic dirt, no fuss and garboil, just you, nature, local village architecture, mountain colonies, farms, animals and charming and hospitable natives.

The only disappointment was that we didn't have a chance to visit Similan islands because we adore snorkeling, that's why Khao Lak bacame our initial choice.

Additionally we have visited Phi-Phi and a few other islands accidentally. This was quite an impulsive 2-days mini trip as a part of this stay. :) But this will be covered by another feedback.

Roads of high quality, decent driving (after Moscow's insane traffic we drove 1000 km in total with great relish), careness for the nature, reasonable prices, fantastic views, sights and points of interest, extremely warm Andaman sea (my eighth in succession and, definitely the warmest one) and full of life region with enchanting flora & fauna and, of course, people, so nice and open - all these characteristics will definitely attract us to visit this country again and again in the future!

Thank you the Land of smile !!

We'll be glad to answer any questons ( mak@zelife.ru ) and wish a great vacation to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zelife R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had stayed at the Suwan Palm on one previous occasion and had enjoyed my stay there, so was determined to go back again. Besides, Khao Lak beach is perhaps the most beautiful and romantic beach in Thailand. I stayed for 3 nights in November 2011 and was greeted by a friendly receptionist who efficiently sorted out my room on the first floor looking towards the sea. The view was limited however by the mature trees in quite a large garden but I quite liked it because of the privacy. The balcony was small but adequate, if a bit open to the adjacent balconies. None of the staff spoke good English, but I didn't expect them to, so it didn't matter. There were few guests as on my last visit and the price was a bit on the high side for what you get. However, Khao Lak is a very expensive resort generally due to the fact that it is a diving area and close to the Similan Islands.

Style-wise this is a very attractive hotel with a rustic feal about it. The rooms are spacious and clean although unless the maids were reminded the bed linen and towels weren't always fresh. There is a decent sized swimming pool between the bulidings and as a sun trap will attract people who like to roast by the water. It must have been a top class hotel when new but the lack of recent investment was obvious with a lot of maintenance required to bring it up to the standard a lot of quests would expect. I suppose the best way of describing it is 'tired-looking'. The breakfast provided was average with little in the way of variety and the staff doubled up in various roles. I also never saw a manager of any sort during my stay.

The hotel is literally on the beach, less than a minute's walk down a sandy track. Then breathtaking panarama of white sand and turquoise sea opens up to you, with an emerald green back-drop of tropical rainforests and mountains. It is beautiful and just walking along the beach is memorable. Swimming, however, can be a challenge. The beach at the end of the sandy path slopes down sharply into the water and the waves can be huge and the undercurrent strong. I saw people swept off their feet on several ocassions. Further along the beach is a gentler experience. In the evening we ate at the beach restaurant just to the north of the hotel, the one just across a little stream that flows across the sand. The service and food is excellent and to sit there watching the sunset is memorable.

Khao Lak itself is being developed rapidly with several new hotels being built. In this transition stage the town and surrounding building sites can look scruffy. But the tsunami took its toll and it will be a while before this resort is back to top notch. It was sad to see photographs of children pinned to trees from families who still return to remember them. I get the feeling that ultimately the Suwan Palm will have to be upgraded or re-built to keep up with the new hotels. Even with everything I've said, nothing really detracted from my stay at this hotel and I enjoyed my time there.

Room Tip: The best rooms face the sea on the upper floors. You may be told that they are not available when booking but then can be upgraded when you arrive. The first floor has views limited by trees, but the rest are okay.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Got totally confused booking this place. Our fault completeley after reading the revirws There is virtually nothing nice about staying here. The list is long of deficiencies really not worth listing. I was upgraded to a suite still can't say anything good. Unfortunately this place survived the tsunami. I think it is just poised to be redeveloped on a great beachfront lot that must be worth 10s or 100s of millions of $$. Meanwhile it should be closed. We paid 2500 B which was way too much but if you get it cheap and can't find anything else then go for it! there appear to be several excellent adjacent properties.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muskoka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews