We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Money well spent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leaf on The Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leaf on The Sands
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Money well spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here as we were going to a wedding at the 'sands hotel' so this was more than handy. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were nice and all with a balcony. The pool is just fantastic and you can relax with a drink in there. The grounds are peaceful and tropical giving that chilled factor! We love the value for money here and would easily stay again!

The beach is minutes away down a lane way but if you do go down to the beach make sure you find Peter Bar......there you will get a real relaxed chilled out bar with staff too match and great food!

Room Tip: My daughter went back to stay at the leaf and got a ground villa which she said was new and really n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingsolo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    89
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
100
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Brilliant resort, with incredible value for money, highly recommend, Katathani resorts are among the best in Thailand. Rooms are modern, grounds are beautiful, 2pools are awesome, pool bar is great, rice barn restaurant great for all 3 meals free breakfast is also fantastic

Room Tip: Ask for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

we stayed in June 2014 for 10 days in one of the villas which are quite spacious, nice quiet relaxing resort. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Ideal resort if you are wanting to just relax, just 2 mins from the main road and about 5mins to the beach. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sherryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yzerfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 for 3 nights. Lovely room, comfortable bed, quality bathroom towels. Good breakfast served with lovely Thai food, but Western food choice available. Friendly staff. Enjoyed the pool and just lounging under umbrellas. Comfortable walk to the beach. Not too far. Only problem experienced were ample mosquitoes. Please take precaution! Gardens are beautiful and well kept. Did not make use of Spa, but loved the calming music when we passing by. Will certainly return to this hotel and recommend it to all friends and family back home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oudste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt gambier
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Leaf offers good size rooms two pools and great location. Recently refurbished set amoungst tropical grounds and adequate buffet breakfast, you want be disappointed as this is true value for money.
Paul Chuck

Room Tip: Depends what you want to spend all good, near peace pool with no children or near family pool with c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckyMtGambier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here in May 2014.
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel this year.
It is reasonably small but with two pools and nice clean spacious rooms. There is an onsite restaurant which also serves breakfast The restaurant is good. The breakfast is basic but generally adequate. The hotel is a short walk of a couple of minutes from Khao Lak centre where there are many restaurants/shops.
To get to the beach you have to use a long (c. 300m) hot concrete path besides the sister “Sands” hotel.
The beach is good and there are beach restaurants/bars open (although not so many as in the high season).

Pros –
Nice hotel with generally friendly staff.
Gardens.
Close to Khao Lak centre.
2 pools – never seem crowded.
Free internet terminals in reception – with printer.
Free WiFi

Cons –
Not on beach, long walk to beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank intheairsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We came here in the low season and stayed in a villa room. The price for that room was really good. And we enjoyed a couple of days here. Next to the villas is the fun pool which features a pool bar and some fountains. There is another pool on the property at upper levels, but we didn't care so much about it. The hotel is not located at the beach. It's a not so nice walk down to the beach along their partner hotel 'the sands'. But you can not use the facilities of the sands. However. As the Andaman sea in the low season is not so nice for swimming (big waves), we didn't really care. The room was very good and the service members did a good job. Everyone was really friendly and happy to help. Prices at the pool bar were also reasonable. Breakfast was very good.

I would recommend this place. We had a very relaxing visit. Bear in mind that Khao lak in the low season is an ideal place to relax. It's not made for party people.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ickwarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.5 mi away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#2 of 4 in Khuk Khak
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khaolak Oriental Resort
Khaolak Oriental Resort
#26 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
0.5 mi away
Suwan Palm Resort
Suwan Palm Resort
#45 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leaf on The Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leaf on The Sands

Property: The Leaf on The Sands
Address: 40 Moo 6 | Kukkak Subdistrict, Takua Pa District, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Andaburi Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leaf on The Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're a nature lover looking to relax at a budget resort within a convenient location, Khao Lak's The Leaf on The Sands is the perfect place for you! On a flatland embraced by hundreds of tropical trees and plant species, this resort is suitable for travelers of all ages.Enjoy the sounds of exotic birdsongs while cooling off in the sparkling pool as you soak up the sun. Relax all day with an ice cold drink at hand; enjoy a nature walk to the beach-- what holiday can be better?The Leaf is located in Khao Lak center, 5 minutes from Nang Thong beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Leaf on The Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing