We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish i could stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Khaolak Wanaburee Resort
Ranked #58 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Overall, very good. All staffs was very very nice, some of them don't understand english but it did not bother me. Nice buffet breakfast. I stayed 2 nights in Estate Room top floor. Wish i could stay longer. Only wifi signal was poor from my room. In front of the beach, beach bar, massage, got everything to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeliaSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We did not stay here but went through the hotel which is quite narrow and long going down to the beach. The rooms looked very nice from the outside and the gardens are very tropical as the hotel is on a slope town from the hills at one end of Khao Lak. We went for a meal that I booked on the beach as a repeat of the same that we did 4 years ago. We were staying at the other end of town this time and I emailed Wanaburee to see if they still did tables on the beach and could we book if they did and this was all handled very well and we were booked.

There is a restaurant next to the pool overlooking the beach and they had laid out two tables for us and another couple out on the beach itself ( no extra cost ) near where they had a display of seafood and a barbecue. The service was really nice and friendly and we had a great meal under the stars with the waves lapping, very romantic. I think the other couple may have been honeymooners as they were a lot younger and asked us to take a photo etc. and they also seemed very happy. So, I cannot review the rooms and what it is like to stay there and this restaurant is not on the Khao Lak restaurant list as in a hotel but is is worth a visit if you want a quiet meal on the beach. Wanaburee is right next to Khao Lak Resort so if staying there you can pop along.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ponytailpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Second leg of a relaxing break having stayed a week at the rest detail in hua hin. Upon arrival we were greeted with drinks and cold towel. We were then told we had been upgraded. Service was very good and always with a smile.

Upon arrival in the caurasina suite we were instantly disappointed. The room was ok but rather dark and dingy, especially the bathroom which also smelt musty. The back of the villa had an outside area with a outside jacuzzi. This sounded nice but when we saw it it was not! It looked dirty and with closer inspection we noticed the water had tadpoles in it! Given my wife was 3 months pregnant I went straight to reception to complain and seriously considered phoning our kuoni rep to demand a transfer. After speaking to Sally (who was excellent and got poached from a rival hotel) she immediately got the jacuzzi drained scabbed and cleaned. Despite this we were not keen to use as the area was very closed and dark, the complete opposite of our private jacuzzi at the rest detail in hua hin. Khoa lak is full of wildlife and the frogs came out every evening to use the jacuzzi so it was completely impractical.

We stayed in the caurasina for 3 nights and they eventually got us in a rendezvous villa, number 5. What a difference! More open, nice outside shower and more natural light.

The food and service at the wanaburee was excellent, with the team friendly and attentive. Nick was a great host and the team were always smiling. Prices were very reasonable and included service charge and tax. Khoa lak is a short taxi (100bht) from the hotel or a 15 min walk. There is wifi zone at reception which was free, it would have been nice if they had it on the beachfront, I think they are planning to do this.

The 2 pools were disappointing but the beach was beautiful so this isn't a problem. Massages were good value at 300 baht and it was beautiful having a cocktail watching the sunset. There is also a nice bar/cafe next to the hotel on the beach which has a massage area again for just 300 baht.

Whilst there I would recommend the sea kayak trip exploring the caves near James bond island, great day out.

In summary, hotel accomo was about 3 and a half star, food 4 star and service 5 star. Enjoyed our stay there but the first 3 days in the caurasina suite did tarnish it slightly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilbertos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

On arrival at the hotel we were given towels and a welcome drink
We were shown to our room by Sally who also gave us a tour of the resort.
We stayed at the manor room which included a balcony main bed room and a bath room area , this area only had a shower. The room was clean and tidy.
The resort is set in the rain forest and the resort reflect this with trees,plants bushes and wild live all around you. 
We were given  a free evening meal the first night as part of the deal with Kuoni  it was just great service with a smile and good thai food.
The town of khoa lak is some 15 min walk it nothing like the main resorts like Phuket  just a sleepy village with shops 7/11 ,yes the tailors pain! restaurants massage palors.
On that note the hotel massages are only 300 Bart the same as the town and are okay.
We upgraded our room from a manor to the rendezvous room which was on the beach at a cost of £400 (10days).
The main benefit was that you  had a toilet you could use while on the beach  as there are no toilets at the beach or at the beach restaurant.
If you do not mind a walk do not upgrade,I would not if I had the choice again.
The bed you had to climb up a wooden platform which would not suit an older couple with walking problems.

The last day . We asked if we could hold the room for an extra 3 hours as we were informed that nobody had booked the room.The management decided that they would allow us to stay in in the room at a cost of 1000bart per hour this is how they treat you after staying with them for 17days ,yes it is a business , but they! What about customer relations!!!!!!!

In conclusion the staff where happy helpful and always had a smile for their customers. Having said that we did not see one of the senior managers of this small complex of 38 rooms in our stay of 17nights.
Improvements should include toilets at the beach area, tables with the sun lounges at the beach and to add a small touch bring around cold water to the sun beds during the day.

The send off from the team was good and a number of them saw us the taxi.
Now the long journey home

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gisomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have just had 19 days of pure relaxation, the staff could not have been more helpful they would go that extra mile to make our holiday one to remember. We stayed in the beach front Rendevous villas very spacious, the fridge was empty so you have the choice to stock yourself or have the hotel stock it.
The hotel food was of a very good quality, reasonably priced, and many restaurants within walking distance in particular Sand and Sea 2

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank babs085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

what a fantstic setting, right on the beach, to sit their with a glass f someing cold, whilst the sun goes down, is something that will live with me for a long time.
Stayed in a estate roon, which was very good, clean and tidy with loads of room for the single travelller.
Beach resturant very goos thou dearer then in town, however service was very good,
Hotel is very good, about 15 minite walk ionto town, nice walk to bould up that apetite for some great food that was availible in the restuants in towm, too meny to mention I want to a diferant one eack night, never had a bad meal.
Without doubt I would stay here again. small compact and just right for that relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Estate Rooms good, however if I was with my wife, one of the bungerlows on the beach would be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyHornet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Nice, small (only 34 units) and very charming resort in the Khaolak area, north of Phuket. Perfectly clean, very comfortable and well maintained bungalows. Can recommend the beach villas as well. Warm-hearted and motivated staff. Their English may not always be perfect, but who cares, they do an excellent job. Very nice beach, the resort is located some 10 minutes' walk from the village. Excellent beach restaurant within the resort, but also many nice places nearby.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
7  Thank dimetrius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.2 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
9.2 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort
Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort
#50 of 70 in Khao Lak
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Khaolak Paradise Resort
Khaolak Paradise Resort
#32 of 70 in Khao Lak
203 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Andamania Beach Resort
The Andamania Beach Resort
#46 of 70 in Khao Lak
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Wanaburee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Wanaburee Resort

Address: 26/11 Moo 7 Petchasem Rd. | Khuk Khak Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: $106 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Wanaburee Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Khaolak Wanaburee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaburee Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing