We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$39
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Expedia.com
$35
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Agoda.com
$25
View deal
Priceline$41
Hotels.com$35
eDreams$39
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,217)
Filter reviews
1,217 results
Traveler rating
702
302
128
51
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
702
302
128
51
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews families with children family vacation very nice hotel chinese new year clean rooms kids club khao lak center kids pool breakfast buffet is thai food free shuttle table tennis egg station local restaurants great holiday happy hour jp
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 1,217 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

First impression of the hotel was a bit disappointed.. It was a bit dark and not as classy as I had imagined. But that changed fast.
The kids loved the pool. It was big and the area around it was open and spacious.
It was really relaxing and very friendly staff.
In the restrooms they had beautiful flowers floating in a bowl and it was clean and neat everywhere.
The hotel is close to the sea and it is close to the center.
The beach here is beautiful. Long and wide and you can walk forever. It is really a relaxing and quiet area.
And we discovered that everything is much cheaper here than in Krabi Ao Nang...

Room tip: We had deluxe and was happy with that, top floor was great.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mac9na
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I love to visit Thailand so I can escape the people and the concrete walls that contain them, that's why it was unusual that we ended up here.. though it was a pleasant change. At first they gave us a room which looked onto a road but after politely asking them for another room they hesitantly gave in and we got a much nicer one facing the ocean. The room while modern tries to stay within Thai style and they pretty much pull it off. They are big with REAL comfy beds and all the mod-cons you'd expect from a 4 star resort. The bathrooms were above average with a large bath and massive shower head. All up the rooms were great, we were very happy. There's 2 pools, one for kids which is like a big playground.. I wanted to jump into this and the other is on the beach which is quite beautiful and modern. The beach is nice but it's not what you'd expect from a typical Thai beach.

The restaurant! Now this is what we loved! The food was amazing! Every morning there's a buffet with an amazing omelette bar. I would eat so much here I wouldn't be hungry till dinner.. seriously! There's also a 7/11 type place which is part of the resort, it's cheap and you can buy everything here from alcohol to ice cream.

Now if you like piece and quite and want a relaxing or romantic Thai holiday then I'd probably look somewhere else, it's just a little too commercialised for me and not intimate enough. There were couples who seemed to be enjoying themselves there (mostly Russian) but it wasn't really my idea of relaxing nor tranquil. But on that note if you want a change from the bungalows and huts then for the price and what it offers you can't go wrong and as I said if you have kids they'll LOVE IT!

Of all the places I've ever stayed in Thailand this was the first with rude staff though not the cleaning staff, they were absolutely wonderful, so much we gave them a huge tip. The floor staff at the reception were extremely rude, to the point were they acted as though you were lesser then you. This was odd for Thailand and my first real encounter of rude staff.. but not the cleaners :D

Room tip: If they give you a room facing the road, be persistent and ask for an upgrade.. they will cave :)
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sk0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I had stayed alone once in the mid October'11 during a conference that was arranged in this hotel itself. i find the room neat and clean with all basic facilities, like umbrella, torch, sleepers, bathroom gown, safe box, etc. The food quality and variety is also ok. One main problem with the hotel is of room service. If i request something from reception/room service over telephone, i find the staff faces problems in understanding english language. Sometimes, the staff do not understand as to what is being requested by guest and they simply say yes/no and never turn up to the rooms. the beach is very close by within the walking distance. The surroundings of hotel are peaceful, although there is a small cluster of some 20-30 shops/restaurants within the walking distance of 10 min. Evening life is really enjoyable, one may take a motorbike (300 baht for 8 hours and fill own petrol from a nearby filling station, @45 baht/litre) from some shops just in front of the hotel and can move around smoothly. i recommend the hotel for stay of a family.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arubkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Went to Emerald with low expectations after having read several bad judgements. When we arrived (2012.03.14) we were greeted with cold drinks and towels. The room was very nice, we were seated on the top floor, and the wiev was the one of the lagun. The breakfast was OK and we had dinner a few times at the hotel and that also was OK. Beach and pools were clean, a few jellyfish by the tide and my husband got burned but it was no big deal, gone after one day. It was nice to walk along the beach and take a swim now and then and I could recommend massage at Kumal(?)l corner, go left from the hotel and you see the sighn, they were very good at massage of all sorts there and we took all sorts several times, foot, neck, thai, pedicure and manicure. The place is slow but go in to Khao Lak at night (cheapto go by tuctuc) and go to white sand beach also, 500 bath for four people and it is worth it.
Can recommend this hotel, but would not like to live om the ground floor since there was a damp smell from several of the rooms there. Had no problem with sunbeds, clean beachtowels every day. Bathrobe and slippers in the hotelroom.

Room tip: If you can choose a room on top floor, even if you have to walk all the stairs (no lift) it it worth it. Lived in room 2749.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

From my point of view an average resort. Good swimming pools for kids, but not too clean. Beautiful beach and good service with beach towels and sun beds. The restaurants were not good and rather expensive. We had problems with ants and mouse/rat in the ceiling, but that was taken care of but the resort. Ok but not great, we will not be going back.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mortenkjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews