We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Flora Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here in March for a much needed holiday to get away from the stresses at home and La Flora absolutely delivered. It had been a long journey during which I wasn't well but as soon as we arrived that was all forgotten and I started to relax straight away. La Flora offered everything we were looking for: fantastic Thai service & hospitality, beautiful surroundings, fantastic beach, great food options, hotel spa and beach massage available, local village of Bang Niang with interesting market, supermarkets, restaurants.
We stayed in a standard 'Deluxe' room and it was perfect for us and our specific requests had been met. Like many others have said, the Pool Villas actually didn't appeal to us as they looked like they lacked privacy and were tucked away at the back of the hotel. We had no problem with the decor - this is a comfortable beach hotel.
We never had a problem finding sun loungers - the pool area does fill up first but we preferred to be on the beach and even though there are only a few loungers here there was always a pair available after breakfast.
Food in the hotel is excellent, especially breakfast where there is a huge spread of different types of food and service is exceptionally good. We also had the lunch special which is good value and tried the seafood evening in the hotel restaurant - wonderful fresh fish & seafood beautifully cooked and presented. Most of the time we ate in the local beach restaurants nearby - there are several to choose from offering delicious simple Thai food while you look out to sea with your feet in the sand - idyllic. We preferred these restaurants to the many choices in the village, although I do recommend the Thai pancake stall on the main street.
One word of caution: don't tell your local beach restaurant waiter that it's your last night of your holiday. We made the mistake of letting our guard down and doing so and found to our surprise that he had assumed that he could keep the change when we paid (which would have amounted to a 100% tip if we hadn't acted!) - that said, this is the first time it has happened in the 7 years we've been going to Thailand.
If you are looking for good value beach massages, we found 'Lovely Massage' (halfway down the beach to the left) to be the best.
Bang Niang market is worth a visit, especially the Thai food section. I also recommend a visit to the Police Boat Tsunami Memorial - fascinating and sobering.
The local taxi companies offer cheap prices to the airport but it was a very hairy ride and at times we really didn't think we would make it (double the speed limit, repeated over-taking in the face of on-coming trucks on hair-pin bends etc). I'm all for supporting local businesses but not when it comes to safety issues - next time we will pay more and use the the hotel car.
One of the things that really impressed us about La Flora is their very obvious commitment to genuinely listening to guest feedback to make improvements - this included a welcome cocktail party, a phone call to check all was ok half way through our stay, a survey, and on our last night an invitation for drinks and chat with the training manager - very impressive.
We were only able to stay a week at La Flora but we left feeling like we had had a much longer holiday and we can't wait to return. Thank you and please don't change too much La Flora, we loved you just as you are.

Room Tip: Corner Deluxe rooms don't have interconnecting doors (therefore quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, General Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear UKYork,

Thank you very much for using our services and your nice comment here on Trip Adviser.

It makes us proud to read that we could be a part to take your stress away from you and were satisfied with us in your expectations. Thank you to confirm that private Taxis are dangerous and that you would use our Hotel-Limousine Services in the future. The private Taxis are, like the word private says it already, private cars with private white colored number plates and are illegal. Our cars have the green Taxi number plate or the Mini Busses the yellow ones for commercial person transportations and are insured and legal. Thank you again for another compliment, of course we try to keep a close contact to our guests to ensure that everything is convenient for the guests. That’s why we have the farewell party with complementary drinks with our managers before you leave, the evening before and not just filling out a comment form. On all your verbal or written comments, we act immediately to improve and ensure our quality of our services. We will be happy to give a warm welcome to you and see you again in your next vacation when you return to Khao Lak, thank you very much in using our services again 


Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at end of April for 10 days. Great location for walking out to eat and drink. Hotel bar very overpriced hence why we rarely saw anybody drinking there! We had a sea view room which was great. Staff very helpful and always smiling.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjcox10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, General Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear coxeybouy,

Thank you very much for using our services and your nice comment here on Trip Adviser.

It is really nice to read that you certainly will return to La Flora Resort & Spa. This gives a very good feeling to all of us and we appreciate to give a warm welcome to you, also in the name of all our staff, again when you arrive in Khao Lak.

Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at La Flora during April. We flew with Singapore Airlines, who were brilliant. We both had birthdays during our stay and the hotel staff surprised us with cakes and flowers, which was a lovely touch. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly. The hotel is right on the beach. We couldn't have wished for a better setting.

Room: We had a nice room above reception with a view over the swimming pool and out to the beach. Two beds were pushed together making one huge bed! The only downside was that the shower drain in the bathroom smelt of sewage when you first turned it on, but we just left it running for a few minutes until the smell went. No dramas.

Food: Breakfast was really nice with lots of choice. The restaurant has a lovely setting overlooking the beach. We mostly ate dinner out at several of the little restaurants down the road. Lunch was usually spent at Ton Son - a small beach place next to the Ramada Hotel. The food there was gorgeous! Our favourite restaurants were... The Rusty Pelican - a superb Mexican run by a very laid back American chap. Food is superb here! Siam - did the most amazing BBQ tiger prawns and Thai curries. Pinocchio - fab pizza/pasta. The Garden - an awesome setting in a beautifully lit garden, great food too.

Weather: It was raining when we arrived. The next 4 days were hot and sunny then most days after that we had some rain each day. The rain didn't last long though and we were soon back out on our sunbeds!

We really enjoyed our stay at la Flora. It has a nice relaxed atmosphere and the staff go out of their way to make your stay a happy one. We would certainly return!

Room Tip: Room 421 which is one of 4 rooms in the reception block which overlook the pool and beach. No road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear craice,

Thank you very much for using our services and your nice comment here on Trip Adviser.

It is a pleasure for us to surprise you on your birthday, especially both of you had birthday during your stay in our resort. We will be happy to give a warm welcome to you and see you again in your next vacation when you return to Khao Lak, thank you very much for your consideration in using our services again.

Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here in April and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a garden villa which was just wonderful. The staff are all so friendly and the location right on the beach is perfect. We also used the spa and found it to be excellent. We would definitely return here. There are some nice restaurants just a stroll away but you can also take a taxi into Khao Lok itself. We did this on one occasion but preferred the choice close to the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, General Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear L M,

Thank you very much for using our services and your nice and recommending comment here on Trip Adviser.

Of course we would appreciate to give a warm welcome to you, also in the name of all our staff, again when you arrive in Khao Lak.


Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

we stayed in a pool room in April, it was very hot and the pool access was perfect to cool down and have a swim. The hotel is in a great location, the beach is gorgeous and you can walk out to lots of lovely restaurants within a 5 minute stroll, either along the beach or out of the front . the food in the hotel is very high standard for breakfast, lunch and dinner-plenty of choice, beautifully presented and authentic thai or European food if you fancy. The staff were great, friendly , helpful, all the service was fantastic. I would definitely return here and recommend it over other hotels close by, it has such a pretty aspect versus well known chains but offers the kind of service you would expect from a big US chain.

Room Tip: Pool access worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam1010123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear sam1010123,

Thank you very much for using our services and your nice and recommending comment here on Trip Adviser.

We will be happy to give a warm welcome to you and see you again in your next vacation as you consider when you return to Khao Lak, thank you very much in advance in using our services again 


Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at La Flore in early April 2013 and we had a very good stay. My two children (13 and 11 years old) enjoyed the swimming pool, the beach was beautiful and food was excellent. The hotel is close to other restaurants and this is a nice walk in the evening. We can only recommend this hotel for people who want to quiet in a nice location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herschdorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear herschdorfer,

Thank you very much for using our services and your nice and recommending comment here on Trip Adviser. We would appreciate it to welcome you in our Resort again for your next vacation in Khao Lak.

Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at la Flora from 10-20 April. What can I say that hasnt already been said before. The hotel is on a fabulous beach but yet so near to the town, it wasnt far to walk to anywhere really. The gardens, grounds and beach area were always immaculate. We stayed in room 901 whch was an upstairs room to the pool access rooms and it was perfect for us. Everything so clean and the girls who cleaned the rooms were just adorable, so friendly.

The breakfast choice was amazing, everything and more, from fresh fruits, cereals, toast etc, to a full chicken and beef joint, if that rocked your boat for breakfast. The serving staff were so polite, everyone mentions Mickey as he was so cheery but the others all deserve a mention too.

It was Thai New Year when we were there and there were plenty of activities to keep us occupied, a lot of hard work had gone into the planning of this.

We didnt eat in the evening in the hotel as there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance in to the town. We could also come out of the hotel and turn to the left and there were beach shacks serving quality food. Where else in the world can you sit on the beach, sand between your toes, hear the lapping of the waters, the stars shining above you, and if you paid £4 for your meal, you were being extravagant :-)..............the setting was perfect.

Khao Lak town wasnt too busy. although maybe it was getting to the end of the season. We did have a few "rainy" hours but it was so warm it didnt really matter, it certainly didnt stop us from doing anything.

We took the bikes out for a couple of hours but didnt go too far. It was very moving to go to the Tsunami memorial, you cannot imagine how they must have felt on that awful day.

The local market was on mon, wed and sat I think, worth a look i guess but please have a drink in Mr Chay Bar, what a lovely couple and son, that own this, we spent an evening there and met 2 german ladies, ava and monika (i think).....needless to say we were a bit wobbly on the walk home but a good time was had by all.

As part of our deal I attended a Thai cookery class, that was so much fun, im looking fo Mossaman curry ingredients as we speak :-)

On the last day, it was my birthday and the hotel presented me with a birthday cake and card and mini bouquet, such a lovely thought.

I would def return to la Flora, it has it all. There appeared to be lots of Germans and other nationalties and not too many British...........just how we like it :-)

It was a very friendly hotel, i would recommend you book if you like a quiet, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: 901 was above the pool access rooms, not too far from beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pink-sparkly-shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear pink-sparkly-shoes,

Thank you very much for using our services and your nice and recommending comment here on Trip Adviser. We appreciate when you received more than you expected. Even our housekeeping and kitchen department will appreciate your comment and they will be very happy to be named in a comment as well. Mostly the persons in the back, which mostly never are seen are forgotten to be mentioned. To celebrate the Songkran water festival, the Thai New Year from 13-15.April every year is a great opportunity to get involved into the Thai community as well as the Thai people like to be happy and share their happiness with others. This is, as you recognized it well, a part of Thai culture. Sharing and to be happy ! The local market in Ban Ban Niang on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday is great for shopping or eating around the food stalls or even for shopping and buying souvenirs. Of course, the Chay Bar is a very nice place to relax and have a drink with friendly Thai people around, Mr. Chay, Mrs. Maeo and his son.

We will be happy to give a warm welcome to you and see you again in your next vacation when you return to Khao Lak, thank you very much in using our services again 


Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
1.9 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
567 reviews
7.2 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 70 in Khao Lak
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Flora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora Resort & Spa

Address: 59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: $86 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Flora Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Flora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Flora Resort And Spa
La Flora Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel La Flora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing