We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Flora Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bangsak Village(Khao Lak)
$63
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sarojin(Khao Lak)
$752
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MANATHAI Khao Lak(Khao Lak)
$61
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
$47
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveler rating
669
334
89
29
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
669
334
89
29
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio roompool access roomview restaurantsunny sideday bedhappy hourbars and restaurantsbeach barour honeymoongarden villamain poolsun loungersinfinity pooljames bond islandchinese new yearplenty of sunbedselephant trekking
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Flora over Christmas and New Year and we ahd have only the highest of compliments to pay to the resort and staff. Having visited a lot ofThailad and Malaysia we wanted something a bit more removed from the Phukets of this world and this is excatly what we got. The hotel was perfectly located on its own beach and very close to local restauarnts. Eventhough the hotel was said to be full the facilities at no time appeared crowded with plenty of sun beds, restauarnt tables and seats at the bar. The beach with its white sand was never busy and the daily hawkers only added to the experience and in no way were they intimidating. The sea was clear and warm and always appearing very empty.

The hotel itself was of a traditoanl style comprising seperate villas as well as 3 storey complex in which we stayed. We stayed in a deluxe room which was on the bottom floor room 312 opening onto the pool area which was ideal. The room was very spacious and with the exceptoon of some mould in the shower, was perfectly adequate and ideal for our needs.

The staff = well what can i say - Everyone on the whole team walks around with a smile on their face and great you everyrtime which makes you feel very welcome. The smiles were infectious and then when you think it cant get any better Mickey, the restauarnt manager, goes the extra mile making everyone feel welcome culminating in his own version of Gamlam Style on New Years Eve = magnificent.

Having visited may places this is top of my list to return to.

If you want all the statues and over the top 5" pictures and furniture then look elswhere but if you want a very friendly smaller hotel on a perfect beach in an ideal loaction look no further.

Thanks to all stsff for making our christmas and New Year so enjoyable and see you gain soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Tim H,

We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay at our resort. We are glad that you have joined both the Christmas and New Year’s Eve Party which were surely some of the highlight events of our hotel this year.

We will pass your regards to all our staff and the special mention of Mickey on to him. We would love to welcome you back again for another stay in our resort to enjoy Thai service with a smile.

Best wishes from sunny Khao Lak,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family and I spent a week over christmas 2012 at La Flora. It was a really good experience; staff, facilities, beach, location are all perfect and good value for money. The hotel only got one restaurant (which has a very nice breakfast), but there are lots of nice local restaurants within a 5 minute walk.
We booked their christmas eve party, which was quite fun, but massive overpriced in my view.
The local village has all you need, but a total lack of nightlife, which of course then means no noise either :-)
Khao Lak village on the main road is a few minutes in a (overpriced) taxi. The taxis really seem to run a cartel in Khao Lak.
The only downside in my view was lack of any near snorkling facilities. There is a peer right outside the hotel, and while the hotel seem to have a boat, they only offer full day trips to places like Similan Islands.

Room Tip: We chose not to pay for a pool access room, as these are at the back the building accessing a separate pool.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Michael R,

We are happy to hear that all in all you have enjoyed a relaxing and nice stay at our resort.

Regarding the snorkeling trips, we do offer a trip to a snorkeling site which is located only about 10 minutes from the hotel – however, there is not as much to see as e.g. on the Similan Islands.

We do hope to see you again at La Flora Resort & Spa and send you many sunny greetings from Khao Lal!

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited La Flora in November last year. Overall, the hotel was very peaceful and quiet. We were told that they were fully booked but it didn't feel crowded at all. No problems with finding space by the pool or by the sea in the morning. There was a large selection of food for breakfast. Staff were extremely polite and helpful.
If you plan to go on any trips while in Khao Lak, don't be afraid to use service from outside the hotel. We booked a trip to Tachi Island from a girl down the streat just nearby the hotel. We ended up on the same trip with people who overpaid and booked it elsewhere.
Feel free to eat food down the beach. One evening, we bought a massive white snapper that came up to £7. A real bargain.
The only nightmare that nearly spoilt my stay were tailors outside the hotel. It was a real struggle to leave hotel and go for a quiet walk as they would always try to convince you to use their service. They were polite but as soon as you managed to get rid of one of them, there was a second one waiting across the road. I ended up walking in the middle of the street trying to look busy and ignore them. Can't mark the hotel down for that but I found it very difficult to cope with.

Room Tip: Do not upgrade to villa or pool access room. It's not worth it as you will probaly spend your time by the sea or the seaside pool located elswhere.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Marta S,

thank you very much for spending your time to leave some comments here. We note that you have been satisfied with our service, food and hotel's facilities.

Although the tailors are outside our control we thank you for your comments about this matter.

We hope to welcome you back again at La Flora Resort & Spa and send you sunny greetings!

Best regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband, a couple of friends and I stayed at La Flora for four nights and stayed over Christmas. It really is a great hotel. Very large but you never feel that it is over crowded. The breakfast buffet is great and all the other food we sampled was also very good. The restaurant manager Mickey was fantastic and always so smiley, he put on a great Christmas Eve show and we all had a ball.

Plenty of sun loungers throughout the complex, staff don't speak great English but we got there in the end.

The rooms were great and we had a pool access room so we spent all of our time there rather than the main pool. Little tip though if you like the sun make sure you request a pool access room which is in the sun, ask for the ones opposite the pool bar.

There are a few good restaurants around and worth going to rather than staying at the hotel all the time.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for a pool access room in the sun. There is one row in the shade and one row in the sun.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Kelly A,

First of all, thank you very much for taking your time left a nice review on us here in TripAdviaor. We are pleased to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us recently.

I have passed your mention to K. Mickey our F&B Manager and of course, he was so joyed to hear that.

Best regards,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the moment we got to La Flora we have been highly impresses, not only with the quality and beauty of the hotel itself, but also by the friendliness of its staff. We have felt accommodated by everyone here, especially by Tang, the frontdesk manager, who has taken a interest in us as I'm sure she dies with most guests.

We are also blown away by this ideal location. The pool area is amazing and a few steps away from the beach and ocean. It's great for our 11 month old who can crawl around on the sand and grass. I love how the staff come out and bring chairs at sunset for the guests to watch the sunset over the horizon.

We feel no need to even leave this place while we are here as the restaurant is reasonably priced and ideally situated next to the beach.

We highly recommend this place. It is great value for money, and better than some 5 star places we have stayed.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Michael_Ketz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Michael_Ketz,

thank you very much for spending our family holidays with us recently! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed all of our facilities and felt at home here! We have passed your comments to K.Tang who was very happy to hear that.

We would be glad to welcome you and your family again to stay with us in the near future!

Warm greetings from Khao Lak,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews