We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What rainy season?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Flora Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Flora Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What rainy season?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at La flora from the 7th to 16th of October 2012. Our sole point of reference was tripadvisor and what a great decision that turned out to be. The hotel, from start to finish and from top to bottom, exceeded all expectations. The staff were fantastic, the rooms great and the facilities were all that we could want. Highly recommend the pool access rooms. The hotel itself is absolute beachfront and for most of our stay the beach was almost deserted. Turn left at the beach and 100m along the beach are a couple of great little beach bars where you can eat and drink the day away for less than the cost of a pizza back home. Khao Lak in general represents great value for money. This was supposed to be rainy season but we had sunshine every day, all day! We are regular visitors to Thailand yet we were truly amazed.

Room Tip: spend a tiny bit more for the pool access room and it will be money well spent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    290
    72
    24
    3
See reviews for
168
604
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at La Flora for 10 nights in October and could not be more pleased with our choice of hotel and with the area around the hotel

We had a studio room and were very impressed with the amenities and with the layout which was different to any hotel we had stayed at previously but very convenient

The hotel grounds were delightful and well maintained and we were only a few steps from the beach which had plenty of sun loungers with umbrellas and tables

Breakfasts were good and the staff were all welcoming and worked hard to ensure you always had coffee or tea

Around the hotel there were plenty of bars, restaurants and retail outlets within easy reach with a super restaurant just along the beach where you could eat with a table on the sand watching the sun going down

We did have one small problem with a leak in our shower room from the floor above but we were quickly moved to another room with a number of staff helping us to move our belongings so we were settled in our new room very quickly and were given a meal in the hotel restaurant in compensation for the inconvenience

In all a very pleasant stay in a great hotel in a wonderful part of Thailand

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 900Dave900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

will come again.

We stayed at the La Flora from 3rd to 11th October and had a really great stay. It is conveinently located near to the town and the restaurants that are available there.

All of the staff were frienly and helpful. We booked four trips via the hotel and was escorted on all of them by Ae who was a great ambassador for the hotel.

We stayed in a deluxe room which unfortunatley was opposite the hotel next door and was quite noisey some nights, however this did not cause too many issues.

Would definately be back to the hotel in the very near future.

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Andrew S,

Thank you very much for a week stay with us early this month. It is nice to hear that you enjoy your stay and that you would definately be back is something we could proud of!

I have passed your mention to Ae our tour guide and of course, he was so joyed to hear that.

We all look forward to your re-visit in the very near future!

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived at La Flora after ten wonderful days in Samui and with great expectation of the hotel and Khao Lak. Initially we were shown to a deluxe room which was beautifully decorated however had a strong damp smell which we could not ignore. After much deliberation between myself and my partner we highlighted this to the staff who could not have done more to accommodate us and upgraded us to one of the Garden Villas at no extra cost. We were told the smell was due to the recent monsoon weather which I could understand.The Garden Villa was overwhelmingly large with a living area, separate bathroom facilities and outdoor monsoon shower.The housekeeping staff made sure it was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and linen for the super comfy king size bed. The hotel is set within beautiful tropical gardens with a maze of paths which lead to the main reception area, restaurant and the stunning pool. The staff are all very pleasant in the usual Thailand way. We ate only once at the hotel and although the food was more expensive than in Khao Lak itself, it was delicious. As the hotel is set right on the beach the sunset were spectacular especially when drinking one of their happy hour cocktails! Their are many superb restaurant, bars, massage parlours and taylors within walking distance. A special mention goes to the My Friend restuarant on the beach along from the hotel, their food is cheap and the best I tried while visiting Thailand!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Gary B,

Thank you very much for choosing us as part of your holidays and we all pleased to know that you have left us with a pleasant memories!

We do apologize for an incovenient during your arrival, regarding smell in your original allocated room due to the monsoon just before you arrived. However, we are glad that you appreciate our offer which reflex our effort to ensure that our guest will be treated properly.

We all look forward to seeing you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the La Flora during the second week of October, 2012. The hotel overall is quite nice, although the furnishings in the "Deluxe" rooms area bit dated (but completely functional). The hotel is divided into two parts, with the bungalows at the bottom near the ocean and the other rooms at the top. Each section has a beautiful pool area, but I think the rooms in the 800 block (especially the pool side rooms) looked the nicest. Our room was in the 700 block, which, along with the 600 block, is right next to a not so noisy street.

Our only issues with the room were that there was a door adjoining the room next door which didn't have a lock and allowed sound to travel through very clearly; it was easy to hear what TV station the neighbors were watching! Also the 'king' bed in the room is actually two super single beds pushed together. This is generally ok, but the sheets and duvets are the size of super singles as well which became a bit awkward at times for sleeping.

Aside from a few problems with the online booking, the staff at the hotel were infallibly helpful and accommodating with early arrivals, late checkouts, and lots of information. The breakfast at the hotel is generous and tasty and there's lots of nice restaurants down the beach. We were particularly fond of anything on the menu at "My Friend" restaurant.

Overall it was a very nice stay and if you're looking for a medium/large sized resort in Khao Lak, this one is a great choice. Also, try to get the room price that gives two free 60 minute massages at the spa and USE IT. I'm not usually much for massage, but this one was great. Very professional, clean and peaceful.

NB - there's lots of families at this resort, so probably not the best place if you're looking for an 'exciting' time with lots of nightlife chances.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms in the 800 block, or the private bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youregoingwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear youregoingwhere,

First of all, thank you very much for taking your time left a nice review on us here in TripAdviaor. We are pleased to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us recently.

Your valuable comments about room layout and sound proof has been taken to our improvement plan which we will do our best to rectify and sort them out properly. And hopefully, you will be here once again to see the improvement :)

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Ok let's do it in order:
Reservation:
We had a coupon purchased on a discount website. We sent several emails to make a reservation but were answered roughly there was no availability. In the meantime we check on the website and there was availability... We finally could get a room once calling directly but obviously they did want to honor the coupon.
The room:
We had a pool access villa. The room was standard and not charming as we would expect from a luxury hotel. The toilet were not separated from the bathroom which is a prerequisite of a luxury hotel. The shower was really basic. The only good point was the bath which was big and nice. Is it enough? We had access the the common pool which was ok but more made for kids to play rather than for adults to smile. And this pool is not close from the beach. Only 2 small bottles of complementary water for the day a bit cheap.
The spa:
The massage was nice but the spa area not really charming.
The diner:
We had a set diner as part of the offer. The taste was OK but the quantities ridiculous. There was 3 small skewers, The prawn curry was made with one single prawn and a fish that was not good. The night after we went to one of the small restaurants on the beach and there were so many prawn in the Tom yum that my wife could not finish.
Bar:
There is an happy hour from 9.30 to 10.30. It sounds like they schedules it late in order to avoid having too many people. But the drink are OK
Breakfast:
It tastes more like a middle class hotel breakfast . If you want an espresso it is charged.
Common area:
The beach beds are just in front of the beachfront villas. So avoid these villas else you will have no privacy ! The fields are too much occupied with no space lost. The common toilets were not clean. The overall furniture miss a lot of maintenance (moulds on all the sun umbrellas).

I would not definitely not classified this hotel in the luxury category. There is many things that do not match the image of luxury we are used to in Thailand. It sounds like the management is trying to make saving on details that actually make a difference. We spent one night in a small hotel the night before, the Bangsak Village, and it was much more charming than La Flora (we highly recommend it, staff is so nice and the rooms so much better). We were thinking about going to La Casa de la Flora which is a kind of more luxury hotel from the same owner or brand but due to our experience at La Flora we will avoid and would NEVER recommend this brand to anybody.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DavyParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear DavyParis,

Thank you very much for your staying with us recently and at the same time, we do regret that this stay seem not to be meeting your expectation.

After I went through the investigation, I found out that your booking has been made under Pre-paid voucher which is based on availability upon your arrival. You have sent the email to check for the period of October 26 - 28, 2012 which we are fully booked for your request room type. We replied and dealth you via emails with alternative room type and our sister hotel information for your consideration. At the end, your wife have called the hotel and asked for the availability for new period which we confirmed the booking accordingly. Please resassure that all imformation we provided to you was not wrong, we answered and confirmed our room availability upon our actual situation.

All in all, it was a misunderstanding and we do apologize for any confusion and inconvenient.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at LA Flora from September 6 for 7 nights. We had a wonderful time . We also had a swim up room which was on the northern side of the pool, it was wonderful. The staff throughout the resort are amazing and very friendly. The food in the restaurant was all you could wish for with plenty of choices. Once again thank you so much. Terry and Shahleen

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teraus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Terry and Shahleen,

It was a pleasure to have you both here and we all pleased to hear that you have an enjoyable stay with us recently. Your nice comment has been shared among the team as this reflex our efforts and contributions.

We look forward to seeing you here once again soon!

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.3 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#2 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
2.0 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
7.2 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Flora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora Resort & Spa

Property: La Flora Resort & Spa
Address: 59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Flora Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Flora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Flora Resort And Spa
La Flora Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel La Flora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing