We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel to avoid if you are looking for charm and luxury!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Flora Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Ok let's do it in order:
Reservation:
We had a coupon purchased on a discount website. We sent several emails to make a reservation but were answered roughly there was no availability. In the meantime we check on the website and there was availability... We finally could get a room once calling directly but obviously they did want to honor the coupon.
The room:
We had a pool access villa. The room was standard and not charming as we would expect from a luxury hotel. The toilet were not separated from the bathroom which is a prerequisite of a luxury hotel. The shower was really basic. The only good point was the bath which was big and nice. Is it enough? We had access the the common pool which was ok but more made for kids to play rather than for adults to smile. And this pool is not close from the beach. Only 2 small bottles of complementary water for the day a bit cheap.
The spa:
The massage was nice but the spa area not really charming.
The diner:
We had a set diner as part of the offer. The taste was OK but the quantities ridiculous. There was 3 small skewers, The prawn curry was made with one single prawn and a fish that was not good. The night after we went to one of the small restaurants on the beach and there were so many prawn in the Tom yum that my wife could not finish.
Bar:
There is an happy hour from 9.30 to 10.30. It sounds like they schedules it late in order to avoid having too many people. But the drink are OK
Breakfast:
It tastes more like a middle class hotel breakfast . If you want an espresso it is charged.
Common area:
The beach beds are just in front of the beachfront villas. So avoid these villas else you will have no privacy ! The fields are too much occupied with no space lost. The common toilets were not clean. The overall furniture miss a lot of maintenance (moulds on all the sun umbrellas).

I would not definitely not classified this hotel in the luxury category. There is many things that do not match the image of luxury we are used to in Thailand. It sounds like the management is trying to make saving on details that actually make a difference. We spent one night in a small hotel the night before, the Bangsak Village, and it was much more charming than La Flora (we highly recommend it, staff is so nice and the rooms so much better). We were thinking about going to La Casa de la Flora which is a kind of more luxury hotel from the same owner or brand but due to our experience at La Flora we will avoid and would NEVER recommend this brand to anybody.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DavyParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear DavyParis,

Thank you very much for your staying with us recently and at the same time, we do regret that this stay seem not to be meeting your expectation.

After I went through the investigation, I found out that your booking has been made under Pre-paid voucher which is based on availability upon your arrival. You have sent the email to check for the period of October 26 - 28, 2012 which we are fully booked for your request room type. We replied and dealth you via emails with alternative room type and our sister hotel information for your consideration. At the end, your wife have called the hotel and asked for the availability for new period which we confirmed the booking accordingly. Please resassure that all imformation we provided to you was not wrong, we answered and confirmed our room availability upon our actual situation.

All in all, it was a misunderstanding and we do apologize for any confusion and inconvenient.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at LA Flora from September 6 for 7 nights. We had a wonderful time . We also had a swim up room which was on the northern side of the pool, it was wonderful. The staff throughout the resort are amazing and very friendly. The food in the restaurant was all you could wish for with plenty of choices. Once again thank you so much. Terry and Shahleen

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teraus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Terry and Shahleen,

It was a pleasure to have you both here and we all pleased to hear that you have an enjoyable stay with us recently. Your nice comment has been shared among the team as this reflex our efforts and contributions.

We look forward to seeing you here once again soon!

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a very good time at La Flora Resort and Spa. Unfortunatly we had three days of rain, but you don't get bored you can do a lot in Khao Lak.
The staff is great and helps you with everything.
The thai food in the hotel restaurant was very very good and there is a lot of choice.
We'd love to return one day, because everything was perfect!

Room Tip: We were in a luxury room and it was very nice and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieHLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear ValerieHLuxembourg,

It is nice to see your positive review reflexing your stay with us recently. We all pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and left us with memorable experience. To see "perfect" wording from our guest is something special which prove that we are on the right track and at the same time, encourage our team to keep improving.

As you have mentioned, we would love to welcome you back here once again!

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in a pool access room which was really nice being able to go for a swim direct from your room was good. The food in the restaurant was very good and the house wine was very nice. Although the staff were all very nice compared to there sister hotel Casa De Flora they lack the personal touch. We stayed in this hotel during the low season and we were disappointed that the pool bar was never opened during our stay even though many rooms around the pool were occupied. As we booked this hotel through Agoda we were unable to get the free transfer via the hotel so we used Boss Taxi who were excellent and great value and would recommend them. Place to try Sun Beach Bar situated on the left on the beach past Ramada Hotel and beyond that you will find Woody who has 2 Horses for anyone who likes horse riding great trotting along the beach. Another bar to visit Bambe Corner very nice owner ask for Joop situated at the cross roads.
There is lots of nice restaurants and did not have one bad meal through out our stay.
For bargain hunters there is a market opened Mon, Wed and Sat.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Andrewpauline,

Thank you very much for your staying with us recently and we all pleased to know that, in general, you have had an enjoyabel stay.

However, we do apologize for the pool bar which we nomally close during off season while most of main services and facilities are operating throughout the year, there still some facilities shut down due to weather, maintenance or demanding reasons.

We do hope to have a chance to welcoming you back here once again in not too far distance.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here in early September and were very lucky to have sunshine. A friendly driver from the hotel picked us up at the airport and drove us to the hotel. At the hotel we were greeted with refreshments and cold towels while we checked-in. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and loved the pool access. So nice to be able to go from the bed to the lounge chair in a few steps. There are a variety of foods for breakfast, both Thai and western. For dinner the hotel drove us to their restaurant Ingfah near this hotel's sister resort, Casa de La Flora. The Thai food was some of the best we've had, especially the masaman curry.

The staff can't be thanked enough. They are so attentive and nice everywhere. At reception, in the restaurant, in the spa. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Khao Lak.

Room Tip: Pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwistedGecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear TwistedGecko,

Thank you very much for your nice review on us and for choosing us for your recent vacation. We all pleased to know that your stay was an enjoyable one and you have left us with memorable experience.

Your appreciation of services from our staffs has been shared among us in order to reflex our efforts and contribution. At the same time, we look forward to welcoming you back here once again soon!

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent three fantastic weeks in one of la Flora's beach front villas with our 6months old baby girl.

The staff were amazing and made our stay even memorable - thank you very much, again.

This is a place we can warmly recommend to anyone who needs a time out at a beautiful hotel.

We'd love to return to la Flora.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Torminator,

Thank you very for your three weeks staying with us recently, we all pleased to know that it was one of your memorable experience.

It is nice to see you mentioned your appreciation to our staffs, this reflex to their efforts and contribution.

We look forward to your returning in not too far distance!

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Arrived at the hotel after an hours flight from Bangkok and an hours drive from Phuket. The staff were really welcoming and very efficient. We were taken to our room which was situated on the second floor. Everything was explained about the room and hotel amenities. The balcony had a view of the sea and a view over the hotel complex.Very quiet as well as it was low season and the hotel had very few guest.You can step right onto the beach from the hotel grounds but we found that exploring was limited by a river to the left of the hotel and a constructed sea wall(belonging to another hotel) to the right.There were plenty of sun loungers and we looked over the sea every day. The pool is very refreshing and large enough to do some serious exercise if the fancy takes you.Breakfast in the hotel was very good. Plenty of choice and very fresh.However the drinks were rather expensive to what you paid in the surrounding bars. Very little atmosphere in the evenings which made us find outside places to eat. Lots of choice in the village some 300 yards up the road from the hotel.We found the Green Pepper where we loved to eat and have some happy hour cocktails. Then onto the Lazy House Bar. Live acoustic music every night sometimes into the small hours.The owner is a musician of outstanding talent who is backed up by fellow musicians who seem to turn up throughout the evening.Very relaxing holiday with plenty to do in the area.

Room Tip: We liked the high room. It gave you a good view of the complex and there was always a cooloing breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear fraddock,

Thank you very much for a nice review left here on TripAdvisor. We all pleased to know that your staying with us turned to be a memorable experience for you.

It is a bit of shame that we could not offer atmosphere in the evening due to the season, we normally offer weekly theme nights in the high season which very successfull and entertaining. We look forward to your returning and should you wish to do so, please drop me an email and I will take care your booking personally.

Best regard,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.2 mi away
La Vela Khao Lak
La Vela Khao Lak
#3 of 70 in Khao Lak
138 reviews
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 70 in Khao Lak
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
0.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#4 of 70 in Khao Lak
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Flora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora Resort & Spa

Address: 59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: $81 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Flora Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your La Flora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Flora Resort And Spa
La Flora Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel La Flora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing