We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, comfortable pool access room, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Flora Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, comfortable pool access room, great food”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here in early September and were very lucky to have sunshine. A friendly driver from the hotel picked us up at the airport and drove us to the hotel. At the hotel we were greeted with refreshments and cold towels while we checked-in. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and loved the pool access. So nice to be able to go from the bed to the lounge chair in a few steps. There are a variety of foods for breakfast, both Thai and western. For dinner the hotel drove us to their restaurant Ingfah near this hotel's sister resort, Casa de La Flora. The Thai food was some of the best we've had, especially the masaman curry.

The staff can't be thanked enough. They are so attentive and nice everywhere. At reception, in the restaurant, in the spa. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Khao Lak.

Room Tip: Pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwistedGecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear TwistedGecko,

Thank you very much for your nice review on us and for choosing us for your recent vacation. We all pleased to know that your stay was an enjoyable one and you have left us with memorable experience.

Your appreciation of services from our staffs has been shared among us in order to reflex our efforts and contribution. At the same time, we look forward to welcoming you back here once again soon!

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    306
    76
    26
    3
See reviews for
182
638
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent three fantastic weeks in one of la Flora's beach front villas with our 6months old baby girl.

The staff were amazing and made our stay even memorable - thank you very much, again.

This is a place we can warmly recommend to anyone who needs a time out at a beautiful hotel.

We'd love to return to la Flora.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Torminator,

Thank you very for your three weeks staying with us recently, we all pleased to know that it was one of your memorable experience.

It is nice to see you mentioned your appreciation to our staffs, this reflex to their efforts and contribution.

We look forward to your returning in not too far distance!

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Arrived at the hotel after an hours flight from Bangkok and an hours drive from Phuket. The staff were really welcoming and very efficient. We were taken to our room which was situated on the second floor. Everything was explained about the room and hotel amenities. The balcony had a view of the sea and a view over the hotel complex.Very quiet as well as it was low season and the hotel had very few guest.You can step right onto the beach from the hotel grounds but we found that exploring was limited by a river to the left of the hotel and a constructed sea wall(belonging to another hotel) to the right.There were plenty of sun loungers and we looked over the sea every day. The pool is very refreshing and large enough to do some serious exercise if the fancy takes you.Breakfast in the hotel was very good. Plenty of choice and very fresh.However the drinks were rather expensive to what you paid in the surrounding bars. Very little atmosphere in the evenings which made us find outside places to eat. Lots of choice in the village some 300 yards up the road from the hotel.We found the Green Pepper where we loved to eat and have some happy hour cocktails. Then onto the Lazy House Bar. Live acoustic music every night sometimes into the small hours.The owner is a musician of outstanding talent who is backed up by fellow musicians who seem to turn up throughout the evening.Very relaxing holiday with plenty to do in the area.

Room Tip: We liked the high room. It gave you a good view of the complex and there was always a cooloing breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear fraddock,

Thank you very much for a nice review left here on TripAdvisor. We all pleased to know that your staying with us turned to be a memorable experience for you.

It is a bit of shame that we could not offer atmosphere in the evening due to the season, we normally offer weekly theme nights in the high season which very successfull and entertaining. We look forward to your returning and should you wish to do so, please drop me an email and I will take care your booking personally.

Best regard,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was the second hotel we stayed at during our Honeymoon in Thailand and it was a great finale. When we arrived we were greeted with cold fruit drinks, a friendly smile promptly taken to our room. The room was a pool access room, it was luxurious and had a jacuzzi bath. On arrival our bed was decorated with a honeymoon message and wine and cake were delivered soon after. We were also given a voucher for a bottle of Champagne with our evening meal, which were all really thoughtful gestures.
The hotel complex was small and quiet during our stay, we were lucky to have the swim up pool, which normally served 28 rooms, to ourselves on most days. Unfortunately due it being low season some of the amenities, like the swim up bar, were not open.
The restaurant was very good, the food first class and the prices very reasonable. We had just moved from Phuket and the prices at La Flora were about half that of Phuket. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an issue involving our transfer and they sorted this out for us quickly and with no fuss.
The resort is a short walk to the main street where restaurants are plentiful and the food delicious, it is also right on the beach and perfect for a quiet walk.
The only issue we had was the bed due to the mattress being very hard, we spoke to reception who tried to rectify this by putting another layer under the sheet making a slight difference.
We would definitely recommend this hotel, we enjoyed our stay, but would return during the high season when the weather is better.
Thank You to all of the staff for helping to make our honeymoon memorable.
Darren & Sara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Darren H,

It is nice to read your nice review about us and to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Your review has been shared among the team include the minor issue regarding the mattress. Despite the fact that this is always a challenge as it down to the personal feeling, but we will look into this matter and will find a better solution on this.

As you have mentioned the possibility of returning to us during the high season, please drop me an email at rm@lafloraresort.com prior to your arrival so that I can personally take care of your booking.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE UK
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hi well my wife and i had our 25th Wedding Anniversary trip the end of August so we came back to la flora this time we had a pool access room . we stayed here in 2009 in a first floor room that was almost perfect but the pool access rooms wow .
the staff are great cant help you any more than they do i must say a big thank you to the restaurant staff at breakfast sory for the spelling but (oiy, very helpfull and perfect at her job )
and there is a trainee too very very good i wish i new her name but not on her tag , and i cant forget MIKEY well what can i say the man never stops he is the restaurant manager a top top man for sure i think he will break his leg if you asked him to nothing is a problem .
Our housekeeping staff were very efficient and friendly. with bed decorations wow se photo
there is a new la flora the casa de la flora aprox 10mins walk on the beach going to the right of the hotel or you can ask at reception and they will have a car take you for a meal now this is also
a top hotel and only aprox 1 year old .its quite a bit mor expencive but when you se the rooms it will blow you away very swanky .well thats all for now

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familybass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear familybass,

Thank you very much for choosing to return to us for your special occasion and at the same time, congratulation for your 25th Wedding Anniversary!

We all pleased to know that you have left us with memorable experience. Your review has been shared among the team and to Aoy and Mickey personally, all of us were so joy to hear this.

Please let me know via rm@lafloraresort.com if you have any plan for your 3rd visit and I will personally take care of your booking.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a nice place to stay. My kids love the swimming pool and the staff is very helpfull. The breakfast buffet provided has a good variety and we hardly have room for lunch! The rooms are nice and clean. Ours has a great view of the ocean. I undserstand that it is the "low season" but there is plenty to do in the area. Some lovely waterfalls are just miniutes away and there is a fine evening market just up the road. I recommend La Flora to families traveling in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear David W,

It is nice to see your review about us here in TripAdvisor. We all pleased to know that you have left us with a memorable experience and you were enjoying your stay with us.

Your review has been shared among the team and we all happy that you appreciated our services and facilities. At the same time, we look forward to welcoming you back here once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just returned from a family holiday for the first time to Thailand from 6th to 18th August 2012 and stayed in two interconnecting rooms (222 and 223) in the La Flora resort. We travelled with our children aged 19 and 16. We didn't know what to expect as it was classed as low season and rainy season.

We didn't need to worry, as the hotel and staff were fantastic, food and beer cheap (and cheaper still outside the hotel where there was a vast choice of where to eat), and the great weather we enjoyed as there was no rain until the Thursday before we came home. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and well looked after by the maids. The breakfast was plentiful in choice, and you could choose to sit indoors or out by the beach. We also ate at the hotel for evening meal on four occasions, including the evening celebrating the Thai Queen's 80th Birthday, which the hotel put a special night on for.

Internet access was free and very good, and we all took the opportunity of a free fifteen minute massage at the hotel spa, which was excellent.

There was a free pool table so my son (19) and myself had quite a few games. The infinity swimming pool looked out onto the sea, whilst there was a quieter pool towards the rear of the resort which had the villas walking into the pool from the door. You wre given new pool towels n your room each day, so no need to cram the suitcase full with your own!

The staff were brilliant, friendly and always had a smile, but special mention to "Tiger", the staff pool champ eventually beaten by my son "Typhoon", (not Hurricane Higgins) who was a real laugh, and a big LFC fan too. The other was the mine host "Mickey" who co-ordinated the Thai Queens Dinner even giving out words in English so we could sing along with the Thai anthem. I'd also like to mention "Tun" who helped us rescue a stray two month old puppy from under the wheels of the vehicle, and found a home for it.

We saw children having Thai Boxing lessons, which the staff gave them and they really seemed to be enjoying themselves. There are shops on the top road, (about ten minutes walk), although a taxi into Khao Lak Town is only £4 each way (200 Bahts) for the four of us, and takes ten minutes, where there was an ambundance of restaurants, our favourites being "Smile" and "Bussaba".

We also enjoyed the two Northern Thai Restaurants at the top of the main road from the hotel where we also visited the Market which was held from 2 p.m. until 7 p.m on a Monday Wednesday and Saturday.

We went on the elephant trek which was about five minutes away from the hotel, which we booked separately through "Seaweed Tours" in Khao Lak Town as we found the hotels tours a little more expensive. We also booked the Phi Phi and James Bond Island tours with "Phuket Adventures" through our travel rep which saw us travel on speedboats.

My son and I also played the Thai Navy Golf Course at Tublamu, complete with your own personal caddy, whilst a we all went and visited the hotels satellite complex called "Stella De Silva" which has free transfer from the hotel and has its own monkey island, as well as pedalos, canoes, and a banana boat.

Whilst respecting other posters opinions, my family and I could not fault the hotel, the people or the country, and it is true to say we have fallen in love with Thailand. We hope to return, and if to Khao Lak, then definately to the La Flora. Ifor one, can't wait to go back, thank you La Flora for a great holiday and fantastic memories.

Room Tip: We had 222 and 223 on the first floor which were excellent, with adjoining doors, ideal for a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank istanbul5times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear istanbul5times,

We appreciate your nice review about us and all pleased to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us recently. Additionally, thank you very much for taking part of our special occasion "Celebrating Our Queen's 80th Birthday"

Your personal mentioning to our member has been shared to "Tiger", "Mickey" and "Tum" and of course, all of them were so joyed to hear that.

We look forward to welcoming you back here once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
541 reviews
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.5 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 69 in Khao Lak
495 reviews
7.1 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Flora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora Resort & Spa

Property: La Flora Resort & Spa
Address: 59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Flora Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Flora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Flora Resort And Spa
La Flora Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel La Flora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing