We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive compared to others”
Review of Sun Ray Restaurant - CLOSED

Sun Ray Restaurant
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive compared to others”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We read about this restaurant in a local magazine and thought we would give it a try for something different. It wasn't walking distance so this increased the cost of anything already. In the magazine, it implied that they didn't sell wine but you could take your own and so as it was supposed to be our Valentines meal, I took a bottle - anyone who has been to Thailand knows wine is not cheap!
On arrival, the restaurant seemed friendly and welcoming and very pretty with all its lights. The menu's were hand written and a little difficult to read as the writing was very swirly and it was quite dark.
We ordered the prawns wrapped in noodles, the barracuda on their recommendation and 2 tiger prawns. All the food was delicious and served differently compared to other meals we had had but the cost was very high in comparison to all other places and in my opinion not really worth it even for a special occasion. The table next to us we think also got served our prawns and we had to remind them that we had ordered them - it was only after when chatting to the table next door that we realised they didn't order the prawns they were served!
Good but actually wouldn't rush back and not number 1.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleALuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Different but nice”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was rated number 1. Not my no. 1. Lovely ppl. Good service. Food was yummy and we'll priced. Lots of dogs around. Hard to get too. Located near the Marriott.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimmycoo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Lak, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dont go for lunch there.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is not in Khaolak area. It's in Kukkhak village that we spent 40minutes to find it without map.
We knew that the restaurant would open at 11am for lunch because it is clearly cited on visit khaolak website.
It was 12:20 when we arrived there. But nobody there. Waiting for 5 minutes and a thaiwoman showed up and told us no lunchtoday. No other restaurants around there because it was in a very small village. Just waste our time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank blueandamandiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Creative authentic thai food in charming atmosphere”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is the best thai food I have ever eaten. It is creativity mixed with top notch execution. We had prawns wrapped in noodles as apitizer which was perfect in every way. Then we had chicken satai and was expecting the ordinary stick with chicken but no no....it was served on toast and it tasted like god. The family who owns the restaurant are really something and the little kid taking orders was so cute. Just go there and you will see for yourself.It is not your ordinary thai restaurant. The only negative thing was that we had to wait almost forty minutes for our pancake for dessert but even that won't make me give this experience anything else than a 5. This is Thailand!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qayotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcasltle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderul creations of tastey authentic food”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I and two friends recently enjoyed a wonderful evening, having pre booked, of tastey authentic Thai food, created by Nop and his friendly efficient staff.
The service was excellent and we will return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimrising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Ray Restaurant also viewed

 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing