We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel with competent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel with competent staff”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We only spent one night at Monochrome before leaving to Similan Islands but had a very good impression of the hotel. Rooms are decently large and the complex well built. We had a comfortable stay there and would recommend the hotel for people who enjoy a good night sleep and want to get out of their hotel during the day as it isnt a large resort and location is not exceptional.

Pluses:
- Smiling and capable staff with a good level of English (at least at the front desk, it was very impressive)
- High-ceiling rooms with a balcony, a very comfortable bed and a good attention to details.
- Amenities excellent: Beach towels, shoes, bathrobes, good quality shampoo, body lotion, etc..

Minuses:
- Price was fine when we visited (2500bht) but I believe this was an introduction price as the hotel was new. Not sure the more expensive rooms are worth it. to be checked.
- Breakfast was ridiculous for a hotel of this standard. Choice was limited, juice from cans, bread had no taste...We did not regret we only had only 10min to eat.
- Location of the pool: limited exposure to sun in the afternoon due to hotel buildings

Room Tip: cheapest room are best value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive assessment and very appreciated that you happy during your stay here. It is very important to us to get feedback in order to increase the level further or any minor "flaws" to be eliminated. In the future the Monochrome will continue to strive for the service of the guests bring well continues to advance. We will shared your feedback with our management and staff in the meeting. This implementation is achieved through regular service and staff training, and has the highest priority in our company.
Management and staff hopefully to welcome you back to our resort again.

Respectfully yours,
Pisu (NuN) Kamsap
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    153
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
42
310
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It costs more than 250 euros per night, inclusive of all taxes and service, and buffet breakfast late february, in a "family 2 bedroom suite". In fact this 2 independant but connecting rooms has a large living-dining-room and a kitchenette in between. So when the connecting door is closed, it becomes 2 independent rooms. As good to families as to 2 couples. Our 501-502 room is in the second building, and on the highest floor, and it overlooks the beautiful pool.

Location :
Not beachfront, but not far, in a quiet alley, off main street, on Bang Niang beach

We like :
-Modern design room, very comfortable bed, complete kitchen and a funny bathtube by the window for intrepid exhibitionists. Everything here is boutique feeling with all the latest amenities one may expect at this pricing level. Reliable wifi.
-Superb staff, always smiling and looking to help.
-Good and all time empty pool restaurant serving a nice section of thai cuisine, at very reasonable price. Alternatively, the AMICI restaurant serves iconic Italian dishes.
-Very nice pool scene

We don't :
-The safe is ridiculously small

To our opinion :
-We have this feeling, when in the pool, that the whole Monochrome (and all the rooms) is looking at us... This means : all the rooms are next to each other and all the balconies overlook the pool.

Tips :
- 6 rooms, 107 to 112, on ground floor have a small pool in front of their terrace.
- 4 rooms, 106 206 307 407, have almost no view as their balcony looks straight to the stairs where people go up and down, and will give you no privacy, you'll need to close the curtains. Avoid them at all cost.

So mixed feeling ; while the place is so nicely designed and quiet at anytime, the feeling of being so close to each other at this price is a bit annoying. But we did enjoy the stay, though

Room Tip: Avoid 106 206 307 and 407
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive assessment and very appreciated that you happy during your stay here. It is very important to us to get feedback in order to increase the level further or any minor "flaws" to be eliminated. In the future the Monochrome will continue to strive for the service of the guests bring well continues to advance. We will shared your feedback with our management and staff in the meeting. Most thank you for all the information that you recommended in your feedback. This implementation is achieved through regular service and staff training, and has the highest priority in our company.
Management and staff hopefully to welcome you back to our resort again.

Respectfully yours,
Pisu (NuN) Kamsap
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have just spent three nights in the Monochrome Resort & really enjoyed our stay. Their attention to detail in the rooms is amazing - the beds are so comfortable, nice big fluffy towels, even the water glasses in the bathroom are just gorgeous.
Someone very clever with colours has designed this hotel; if you look closely the outside design is really just a box, but with the right colours it looks very striking & modern.
The staff were also wonderful, especially Gabby, who gave us a lot of advise on dive & day trips.
The only negative was that it was very quiet (being a new hotel), so it lacked a bit of atmosphere, but I am sure this will improve in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TevenGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive assessment and very appreciated that you happy during your stay here. It is very important to us to get feedback in order to increase the level further or any minor "flaws" to be eliminated. In the future the Monochrome will continue to strive for the service of the guests bring well continues to advance. We will shared your feedback with our management and staff in the meeting.This implementation is achieved through regular service and staff training, and has the highest priority in our company.
Management and staff hopefully to welcome you back to our resort again.

Respectfully yours,
Pisu (NuN) Kamsap
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this boutique hotel for one week and we found it very clean and comfortable. Since the hotel is relatively new the towels and bed linen were luxurious and the fittings and fixtures were of good quality. We made good use of the free transport to the beach although it is not too far to walk if it is not too hot. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby with a good choice of food. The staff at the hotel were efficient and pleasant and those on the front desk and tour desk were most helpful. The owner Tony was always on hand and made us feel most welcome. All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: third floor pool facing with balcony a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m2reilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive assessment and very appreciated that you happy during your stay here. It is very important to us to get feedback in order to increase the level further or any minor "flaws" to be eliminated. In the future the Monochrome will continue to strive for the service of the guests bring well continues to advance. We pleased that you love our in-room amenities.This implementation is achieved through regular service and staff training, and has the highest priority in our company. I will share your feedback to our management team and staff.
Management and staff hopefully to welcome you back to our resort again.

Respectfully yours,
Pisu (NuN) Kamsap
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in Monochrome Resort for a week after Christmas and were very satisfied. The hotel looked nice and new, it still needs some improvements, especially to make the hotel more cosy and lively. The rooms were spacious and clean all the time and staff was nice and very friendly. There is also a very good italian restaurant which belongs to the hotel, so once you get tired of thai food it is worth to try it out. The hotel also provides transfers to the beach and other attractions in the area.

There were also negatives such as the selection of meals at the breakfast bar could have been wider and the pool had quite a cold water.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who does not need a luxury 5 star hotel but prefers modern and clean accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klostik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive assessment and very appreciated that you happy during your stay here. It is very important to us to get feedback in order to increase the level further or any minor "flaws" to be eliminated. In the future the Monochrome will continue to strive for the service of the guests bring well continues to advance. This implementation is achieved through regular service and staff training, and has the highest priority in our company. I will share your feedback to our management team and staff. We will improve for what you have suggestion.
Management and staff hopefully to welcome you back to our resort again.

Respectfully yours,
Pisu (NuN) Kamsap
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Excellent rooms and amneties, very modern.
Bed and linen were the most comfortable in the world.
Attentive manager and staff.
Amazing Italian restaurant (Anici) with superb Italian products and a real Italian chef!

Despite not being on the beach, the hotel's electric car can take you to the public side of the beach (after all the hotels, few minutes away by car) which was nicely remote, nice and wild (great surprise!!), away from the buzz, no long tail boats around and with just a small a hut bar/restaurant and massage girls. Bliss!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nono19fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive assessment and very appreciated that you happy during your stay here. Also for what you like our decoration and design. It is very important to us to get feedback in order to increase the level further or any minor "flaws" to be eliminated. In the future the Monochrome will continue to strive for the service of the guests bring well continues to advance. This implementation is achieved through regular service and staff training, and has the highest priority in our company. I will share your feedback to our management team and staff.
Management and staff hopefully to welcome you back to our resort again.

Respectfully yours,
Pisu (NuN) Kamsap
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had booked another hotel but were transferred here due to a bathroom problem - and we loved it. The room was beautiful, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the staff was really friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive assessment and very appreciated that you have a pleasant during your stay here. It is very important to us to get feedback in order to increase the level further or any minor "flaws" to be eliminated. We glad to hear that you feel comfortable. In the future the Monochrome will continue to strive for the service of the guests bring well continues to advance. This implementation is achieved through regular service and staff training, and has the highest priority in our company. I will share your feedback to our management team and staff.
Management and staff hopefully to welcome you back to our resort again.

Respectfully yours,
Pisu (NuN) Kamsap
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
547 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.3 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#15 of 69 in Khao Lak
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani

Property: The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
Address: 67/238 Moo 5, Bang Niang Beach | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Monochrome Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters is an adult-friendly resort set in the heart of Bang Niang Village in Khao Lak, close to the beach. Enjoy the beautiful water features and the serene blue pools to create the sense of relaxation and tranquility for your rejuvenating holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing