We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveler rating
669
358
75
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
669
358
75
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain wing beach bar large fridge monitor lizards gold elephant a la carte restaurant gala dinner grand deluxe room half board scoopon voucher f b manager main pool pool access room national park aqua aerobics close to town within easy walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2017

This is a very impressive resort and it’s right on the beachfront at Khao Lak. It spreads over quite a large land area with many rooms, 5 pools (we love the top pool which is quiet and peaceful), 2 restaurants, and bars with 2 for 1 happy hour cocktails.
We had a room in the Mountain wing with nice ocean views from our balcony. In the room everything is generous, the bed is a large King size with individual doonas, the fridge is a good size (with optional mini-bar or fill it yourself), plenty of power points and bench space, cupboards and drawers, and the bathroom is lovely with a rain head shower and a large selection of toiletry items. Only one issue with the bathroom is the small step down (about 6-7 cm), I tripped down it a few times and then put the shower mat next to it as a reminder and was all good after that. This could be fixed with a contrast strip along the edge I think? The air-conditioning works well (we needed it) and everything is very clean. We had a few little power glitches during our stay but it always came straight back on again.
Umbrellas are supplied in the room but we only needed ours once. We had a few rain showers and the occasional thunderstorm pass thru, but 5 minutes later the sun was out and it was steamy and hot again. Internet is free throughout the resort and works well in the rooms but you need to login each time you use it.
Our package included breakfast and either lunch or dinner. There is a large selection of food for breakfast, definitely something for everyone and our coffee cups were never empty. Our lunch options were 3 courses from a set menu but plenty of choices there too. Dinners at the Beach Restaurant are buffet style but always with a couple of freshly cooked Thai options as well. The drinks selection is good and reasonably priced. The Gala night dinner included a glass of champagne and a carvery of pork, chicken, and beef and different options in the cold foods and warmers, which was a nice change.
The staff here are truly lovely and nothing is ever too much trouble. Our package also included a 30 minute massage each day and we made the most of that. There’s a well equipped gym and fitness classes as part of the complimentary daily activities (also cooking classes and beach volleyball).
No children here so (sorry kids) it was very quiet and peaceful with adults of all ages and many of them from Germany as can be seen from the selection of books at reception (not many in English). There are plenty of things to do if you don’t plan to just lie by the pool or the beach all day. We tried the new Elephant Fly Zipline which is about a 20 minute walk up the hill from the resort, seriously good fun! We also did the walk thru the Lam Ru National Park which was great but do it when it’s not too hot. The Tsunami (Boxing Day 2004) memorial museum and patrol boat is in Phang-nga, the next town along near the traffic lights, and is well worth a visit.
The local town is just a 5 minute walk down the hill and has plenty of shops, money changers (good rates), small supermarkets, spas, tour booking agencies, and restaurants. You can get the open back taxis anywhere local for about 100 – 200 Baht depending on how far you’re going, negotiate the price first. Even tho a lot of things are within walking distance sometimes it’s just too hot and humid so a taxi is a good option.
I really loved this place, it was very hard to find fault with anything and I’d highly recommend it as a great place to stay and relax in Khao Lak.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank margynicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at TUI Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017

Dear margynicholas,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure having you stay with us here at Sensimar.

We do hope we will see you again.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017

Was surprised with so much at Sensimar. The room was spacious and had everything I needed. Breakfast was varied enough to enjoy for 8 nights. The a la carte restaurant was excellent! Everything I ordered was deliciious and beautifully presented. The beach was so interesting with the scattered rocks along the shore. The main pool was somewhat shaded so the water never became too warm. Staff were happy, helpful and fruendly. Hotel close to the town, easily walked.

Room tip: Avoid rooms near the staff pantry.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at TUI Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017

DEar Deb C,

Greetings from Sensimar Khaolak and thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted you enjoyed our varied breakfast and a la carte dining at the Culinarium.

We do hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017

We spent 8 nights here and didn't want to leave. Quiet and peaceful,excellent rooms and service. Easy stroll into town, delicious breakfast. Plenty of activities if you want to participate
We are looking at coming back next year.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at TUI Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017

Dear Ian H,

Thank you for your great review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope we ill get the opportunity to welcome you back next year.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017

I have been to many resorts, but this was the first adults only resort. There is no noise! The resort can be full but everyone is just lying around relaxing, and no water bombs or crying kids. The food is excellent, but you need to watch for the hot stuff. It is right on the beach, with plenty of lounge chairs. They don't let you reserve the lounges with towels like some people do at 6..am. If you do that they will take them away. This gives us sleep in people a chance to get a lounge looking out to sea. Staff are very polite and friendly. No night clubs in the short walk to the shops. If you are under 30, and want action, Khao lak is not for you.

Room tip: A variety of rooms, some walk straight out to the pools. I like to be off the ground so no one sees in.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank TheCoach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at TUI Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017

Dear TheCoach25,

Greetings from Sensimar Khaolak.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really are delighted you enjoyed your time with us at Sensimar especially the quietness and food.

We do hope we will see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

We spent eight nights here on a voucher which many others also told us they were also doing. Value for money is excellent!
Staff were always friendly and may not always understand but will then try to work it out with someone else.
We enjoyed two meals a day in our deal. There were always changes made to the buffet to vary the choices each day and theme nights for interest.
Bed was huge and comfortable which is not always the case in Asia.
Room size was very generous.
There is a daily program and information sheet listing activities for the day.
The southern end of town is only a few minutes walk away or about 15-20 mins to reach the centre of town.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyH2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at TUI Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017

Dear Wendy H,

Greetings from Sensimar Khaolak.

Thank you for your recent review.

We are delighted you found the resort so relaxing and our bug rooms, big beds and excellent food.

We do hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews