We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Paradise in Khao lak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Idyllic Paradise in Khao lak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

As always, this review is brutally honest, designed to provide constructive criticism rather than negativity.
Check-In/Check-out was very swift and smooth, with a welcome drink and lots of personal attention from the staff.
Our pool access room was very comfortable, spacious and functional.
The huge king bed was very comfortable, fitted with a pillow top mattress.
Separate bathroom, toilet and hand basin areas made the room very flexible and practical. There was ample storage areas for suitcases; a mid size (larger than normal) refrigerator, a large workspace with plenty of room for a lap-top, recharge area for phones etc., a lounge and coffee table.
The only downside of our room was the air-con, which was positioned high on the wall next to the bed. It blew across the bed, making it a little too cold, even with the direction set to blow as high as possible over the bed. The fan was also noisy, but it only took one night and we got used to it.
We chose a ‘Pool Access’ room, and we weren’t disappointed. Walking out our sliding glass doors directly onto a covered/shady verandah with a table, two chairs plus two sun beds was divine. Cushion tops for the sun beds would have improved my opinion of the resort.
There are three pools associated with the pool access rooms, and a main pool located a short walk away, in the central part of the grounds. It is a large free-form pool, with a swim up bar and large shade areas provided by the surrounding trees. The water was a little cooler and more refreshing (to my tastes) than the water in our warmer sun drenched pool.
The buffet breakfast was very good, with lots of choice. We read a few negative comments about the breakfast, and our conclusion was that the people who made these comments must have had a one-off bad experience, or they are simply very hard to please. Either way, we enjoyed the breakfast.
The service throughout the hotel and all restaurants was outstanding, even on Asian tourist resort standards. The staff seemed to genuinely enjoy their work.
We ate lunch at the beach bar or beach front restaurant on most days, and found the food more than adequate and quite well priced, even on resort standards. Probably due to being here in the low season, there was no service/sales from around the pool, but that was a minor issue.
As several other reviewers stated previously, prices at the restaurants and bars of the Sensimar are very reasonable. They don’t have a 10% service charge, and base food and alcohol prices are very competitive with outside restaurants, although you will still save by going ‘out the gate’ to eat if that is your style.
This resort has magnificent, immaculately maintained grounds, adjoining the rainforest. The resort is run extremely well by the resort management and staff, - they were even cleaning up the beach area while we were there.
The gym is very well fitted out and a pleasure to use.
We don’t normally return to resorts, preferring to experience new places each visit, however we will return to the Sensimar, and I highly recommend it to travellers looking for a quiet, peaceful holiday to recharge their batteries.
If you want to party all night and sleep all day – go to Patong where all the other party go’ers are.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool access rooms are worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Hs656409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Hs657409,

Greetings from Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

We do hope you will return at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    192
    48
    10
    4
See reviews for
34
449
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Sensimar and loved it. It is set on a beautiful little rocky beach corner of Khao Lak. We had a pool access room and it was just perfect and very shady. The rooms are very spacious and set out well.
The staff are very smiley and helpful and seem to like their jobs.
Food and drinks are well priced. So you can afford to eat in the hotel. Omelettes are cooked to perfection every day.
It's a very peaceful place to stay and we cannot wait to go back.
When you go out the hotel and turn left there are plenty of restaurants, bars and massage places nearby so it's not isolated.
It is also very clean and well cared for.
We are in Patong now and wished we had stayed longer.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Louise S,

Thank you so much for your recent review. The staff at Sensimar are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

We do our best to create a positive work environment for our staff and its great to see that you noticed it.

We do hope you will come back again in the not so distant future - and dont forget Patong is only 90 minutes away!!

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erina, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Nice quiet resort( child free),well maintained,great breakfast buffet and on site restaurants,beach not suitable for swimming this time of year.
All staff friendly and polite.
Good eating options near resort.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Steve L,

Thank you for your recent review.

We are all very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you have said swimming in the ocean this time of the year is not advisable. This would apply to pretty much the entire Andaman Coast during the rainy season.

We do hope you will return at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Once again chose this resort for no children policy, room was large with a balcony view over the main pool and partial beach view, low season was quiet but that was not bothered me i just felt the resort was bland looking never did i feel like wow what a special place as if it had no atmosphere.
Staff great rooms cleaned to perfection everyday, breakfast real disappointment coffee machine don't bother using.
I could not work out why the daily hotel information in the breakfast area was only in German so no clue what that was about.
Pool area average if you needed to use the toilet you would have to walk around to the breakfast restaurant area and use that one or back to your room, perhaps they could make a way so guests do not have to access toilet through restaurant.
Walk 10 - 15 mins to some great shops and restaurants in Khao Lak across the road from hotel a fun bar for cocktails, we had a massage at the hotel which was great lovely staff, but this was set up in what looked like two hotel rooms opened up to use for massages bit ordinary as far as ambience.
I can recommend khao Lak area lush and green 2 hours drive out of Patong area rent a car the roads are better than some in Australia and once you get out of the main area traffic is smooth sailing for most of the trip.

Room Tip: Front rooms closer to the beach area have good views, no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne1031Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Joanne1037Sydney,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments on TripAdvisor. They are very much appreciated.

We will definitely take on board some of your comments in relation to atmosphere, breakfast and the coffee machine.

The Daily News is in both English and German - the reason German ? Sensimar is a German franchise resort.

Each week our management team meet to discuss the events of the week, and your thoughts will mot definitely be reviewed.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

we had a fantastic holidays in this hotel! It's a children free hotel so for those who are looking for relaxation, midday sleep by the pool this is an ideal place.
All room are big with a great view, the territory is very very clean, calm, very good swimming pool and no problem with sunchairs both by the pool and on the beach.
Breakfast was very good with a big choice and always fresh fruites, juices.
we tried both restaurant, prices is the same as in the restaurants outside from the hotel, Thai dishes are tasty, service is very good, staff is helpfull and attentive.
Beach is very good and you have a great opportunity walk long and enjoy sun, breeze and see.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nurn_ele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Num_Ele,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed your time here with us.

I have passed on your comments to the Kitchen and Restaurant in relation to your positive comments about food and service.

We do hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here late February to meet up with friends who were staying here for nearly one month. Hotel is well situated for surrounding beaches and the town for evening entertainment. Only drawback was the hike to our room. Ours was situated at the top of the hill well away from the main reception and restaurant areas but the walk and steps kept us fit for the 4 days we stayed. Reception were very efficient and other staff appeared friendly. Would not hesitate to stay again and may well do so next February.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your thoughts and comments are very important to us.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Grand Deluxe Rooms are indeed located up the mountain but currently we are installing a lift to take some of the walk out of it.

We do hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for 7 nights at the end of April. We booked a Pool Access room and were very pleased with the room.
Upon check in we were greeted with a very welcome fruit cocktail as it was so hot and had been travelling for 14 hours.
We filled in a quick form and were then showed to our room and luggage arrived very quickly after.
Our room was lovely and modern and due to it being our honeymoon there was a bottle of bubbly and a bowl of fruit on arrival as well as a fab flower arrangement on the bed.
The bed was huge and the bathroom and shower were very good.
It was lovely to walk out onto the terrace and being able to dip straight into the pool
The grounds were very well maintained. The beach area by the hotel was ok but we preferred to walk about 10 minutes further along to the left as it was much nicer and there was also a great little beach bar where you could stop for a beer and lunch.
Breakfast was great with a big selection of foods.
The pools were lovely with the option of a larger pool or 3 smaller ones which were by the pool access rooms. The only thing is they are not cold enough! but this is just down to the weather and the constant heat!
We ate out every night and there are plenty of restaurants if you turn left out of the hotel and walk about 10 minutes to reach the main 'strip' we didn't have a bad meal the whole week and actually ate twice at Smile Restaurant as it was so nice but you do need to book in.
We did a trip locally which we got for half price due to it being the end of season to do an elephant trek and a kayak down the river. A full day trip and a great experience.

We thoroughly enjoyed our first week of our honeymoon in Khao Lak and would recommend to anyone wanting a chilled week with great food and a lovely beach with the option to do local trips. We would also recommend the Sensimar for couples as this is an adult only property which we were very grateful for for a peaceful week.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beebntt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Beebnt,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted we got to partake in your honeymoon celebrations in a small way.

We hope you will return at some point in the future.

Once again Congratulations!! We hope you will have along and happy life together.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.2 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
2.0 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 64 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#14 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#11 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
5.9 mi away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort

Property: Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort
Address: 26 15 Petchkasem Road, Khuk Khak, Takuapa | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of the finest beach front locations in Khaolak, Khao lak beach. Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort is an extraordinary exclusive retreat, perfect for the discerning travelers who like to spend a tropical vacation in a relaxed and child-free environment. Its natural elegance, classic tropical beach charm and Malays-inspired Thai style set this resort apart from the rest.It is not just in vogue with couples or people on their honeymoon but also is a great option for parents looking for a romantic getaway and adult singles who seek to make new friends.Enjoy a well-earned, kid-free retreat amid the tropical beach landscape of Khaolak, or spice things up a little for shopping and nightlife of Khaolak Center (Bang La On). Everything you could possibly want in a tropical getaway is just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing