We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,965)
Filter reviews
2,965 results
Traveler rating
1,816
880
179
54
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,816
880
179
54
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating market talay restaurant peace pool kids club seaside junior suite kids pool coconut bar family room manta ray floating restaurant the main road happy hour swim up bar games room peter bar pool access great resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 2,965 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2018

Our first trip to Thailand and we were not disappointed. The staff were excellent and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The Hotel was well spread out with 4 bars, 3 restaurants and 3 pools with a lazy river, slides and an adult pool. Breakfast is served in two restaurants and both had a fantastic selection, something for everybody, we loved it. Suitable for families, couples or older people. Thai massage available near the beach on the resort. We had a great time at the Sands and would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank annemJ3653VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your great review about your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to read that you spend such a wonderful time at our place and that you loved our friendly staff, our relaxing massage at the beach, our breakfast as well as our facilities.

Hope to see you soon again!

Best wishes & Merry Christmas,

Evelin Boos (Lin)
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2018 via mobile

This is our 4th time at The Sands, we meet up with a group friends we have met over years to enjoy the “Peace Pool” at the front of the Resort and stay in a Junior Suite close to the “Peace Pool”
Extremely disappointed and bewildered to find out upon our arrival they have changed the conditions of the Peace Pool and allow kids in it. I would have thought with a brand new million dollar kids pool and slides attached to the new wing would have been sufficient for children. They did re name the old kids pool to a Peace Pool, however this was too shallow and not an appropriate pool for Adults.
I implore Management of The Sands to re think this decision and change the front pool back the the Peace Pool.
Will I return??? I’m not sure, and I’m pretty sad about that.
MANAGEMENT PLEASE CHANGE YOUR POLICY

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank JudeandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2018

Dear JudeandJeff,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a feedback about your recent stay with us.

We are sad to read that you could not enjoy your vacation as usual while staying with us. We take our guest comments serious and will discuss it within the team.

Thank you for choosing The Sands Khao Lak so many times for your vacation - we hope it was not the last time.

Best wishes & Merry Christmas,

Evelin Boos (Lin)
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2018

From the first step into the hotel lobby until the last, everything was just great. they put in so much effort, very clean, hygienic, and proud people working at the hotel. the food is just a world-class resort... I would highly recommend this hotel - great value for money...

Room tip: The seaside facing rooms at the front of the property are the quite rooms
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regal101_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

Dear Regal101_13,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience about The Sands Khao Lak with other travelers.

We are very happy to read that you loved our friendly staff, the restaurants and facilities and that you even would recommend us to others!

Again, thank you for choosing The Sands Khao Lak for your vacation.

Please find time in the near future to visit us again!

Best wishes & Merry Christmas,

Evelin Boos (Lin)
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018 via mobile

We loved staying here. The beach, pools, food and staff were fantastic. @The Sands: you did great. I hope we’ll return soon!

Three things I wish I had been prepared for:

It’s certainly not 5 star but a wonder filled 4 star (e.g the weed filled sandpit next to the abandoned children’s room). The attention to detail you find in 5 star places was often missing.

Unfortunately, our two rooms smelt very bad. The staff tried to remove the smell with oil burners but they could only mask it with an overpowering scent of soap.

The restaurants that are only a short walk away are set up for tourists and have tourist prices and selection. I found myself missing Thai food (and Thai prices :) ) At the Sands they do a Thai night in the main restaurant and it was was much better than I found on the streets.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank S6937CMlukeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2018

Dear S6937CMlukeh,

Thank you very much for your detailed review about your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience about The Sands Khao Lak with other travelers.

We were very happy to read that you loved our resort and that you even plan to come back soon.

Again, thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation.

Please do find time to visit us soon again!

Best wishes,

Evelin Boos (Lin)
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at 8am and were shown to our rooms within a hour or so . We had requested by e mail a high room and following reading reviews that we had a mattress topper .. Superb room overlooking the lagoon room 3308, perfect views , excellent facilities, bedding changed daily and extremely comfortable bed. Nothing too much trouble for the staff , breakfast plentiful and varied. The hotel is kept pristine. We wee lucky that hotel was at 50% occupancy so no issue with sun beds , adults pool was virtually deserted and beachside pool also quiet . They have a fantastic facility for children , pool, slides , play facility and most people seemed to use this which makes it good if you are there without children and like to relax .
We did not eat at hotel other than breakfast as great alternatives on beach to left and right of hotel , we prefers the one to the right The Lah Own , good food and drink at reasonable prices . We did use the happy hours at the hotel where drinks are comparable price to everywhere else . Maybe if prices for food and drink reduced the hotel would gain more from residents staying there but this is our only negative.
There are restaurants and super markets very close our favourite restaurants were Phu View , they collect and drop you off for free just get reception to contact , fab views , Pams again they arrange transport by sending taxi which costs 400 TB . Food at these both amazing .
Other good restaurants .. Larn Deo (was Orchid) turn right at top of road , khao Lak seafood ( we think owned by Phu View as same menu) . The Monkey bar serves the best value wine - large glasses for £3 . Also happy hour at Happy Snaper 6 to 9 recommended.
We booked trips through JK travel .. on main road to right of hotel , very reasonable and great tours especially the Elephant riding, monkey temple and rafting .
We were invited to the hotel cocktail party which was really good and included lovely food and drinks.
The weather was great , high 30s , few mosquitos and daily rain but lasting only about 30 mins .. look out for the black cloud and mist as this warns of the rain and heeds to make a run for it . We left the hotel at 2.45am and due to flight times with Tui this meant we kept our rooms another bonus.
Would we recommend .. absolutely ! Fantastic hotel, staff and no expectation of tips which were humbly / gratefully received , the management should be proud of this hotel and their staff and we would return without hesitation

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank garyrose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2018

Dear Rose & Gary,

Thank you so much for your great and detailed review about your recent stay at The Sands Khao Lak. We appreciate that you share your experience with other travelers.

We are very happy to read that you have been totally amazed with the resort, our service and staff. I have already passed on your kind words to our team. They are truly grateful and appreciated that you acknowledged their hard work.

Thank you for choosing The Sands Khao Lak for your vacation - we deeply hope that you will find the time to visit us again!

Best wishes and Merry Christmas,

Evelin Boos (Lin)
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews