We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Studen, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blissful”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Me and my wife were booked at The Sands which was recommended by our friends who had stayed here earlier this year. We took their advise and booked ourselves pool facing room and we blown off our feet with the fantastic view and the rooms, so comfortable nothing more you could ask for to make your vacation so memrable.
the staff and the service is a perfect and the location is just a stone throw away from the main Khao Lak market, very conveniently situated.
Highly recommend this resort to all visiting Khao Lak. wish the team Luck and keep up the great service, Thanks!! Edger....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edger988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your recent staying with us at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    616
    124
    39
    29
See reviews for
619
984
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in a family room with our 2 kids aged 6 and 7.

From the moment we arrived, the hotel offered a peaceful feel just what we were after. Having arrived late in the evening, we went straight to the room and were surprised how big the room was.

On the first morning we could get a good view of the hotel and surrounds from our balcony. Looking back at the reception area you could see the beautiful mountains, and looking in the other direction the blue sea. In the middle of the resort is a lake full of fish

The staff at the resort were very friendly and they made our children feel really special, playing games with them and generally offering the kids a great holiday experience

Breakfast was amazing, as mentioned by others, lots of variety, and eggs cooked to order

We ate in the hotel most nights and the Sunday BBQ with fire display was good except for the rain spoiling the show.

We also ate on the deck at the Talay Restaurant overlooking the amazing ocean. The seafood was great and very reasonably priced about $60 AUD for 4 of us including drinks. Anyone staying at the resort must eat at the Talay and ask for a deck table!

We had daily massages on the beachfront again very well priced at about $15 AUD for a 1 hour massage

The kids club is nice offering a range of activities as well as play areas. There are 3 PlayStations as well as a TV playing movies or the Disney channel. The origami, kids cooking class and necklace making were the highlights of the activities

The resort is very well maintained and if there is an issue, the team are onto it straight away.

Whilst the resort is located about 1.5 hours from Phuket, if you are looking for a relaxing holiday, or if you have kids, The Sands is the place to go!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSJM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your recent staying with us at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here from 19th September as part of our belated honeymoon and chose the resort withoutvany real insight in to what it was like. We didnt know when we booked that it was the wettest time of year to go and after reading about the weather were concerned about the trip and almost cancelled. I am however so glad we didn't.

As others have said the resort is very new still so can feel a little bare. The lobby area is very impressive and booking in was quick and easy. We stayed in a pool access room and this was definitely a great choice. We didn't really venture to the other pool as we we were almost always the only people in ours. The rooms are spacious and modern, open plan with a lovely seating area both inside and out. The bed was enormous and probably the comfiest I've slept in. The room was cleaned daily and there is a small empty fridge so you can stock up on drinks/snacks. There is room service available 24/7 which we tried on a couple of occasions. The food was excellent and really reasonably priced.

Breakfast was wonderful. The variety was huge, I couldn't think of anything else that could possibly go on the menu and it was never too busy. Anybody saying the variety is poor must have been at the wrong place! We ate out every day so I can't comment on the lunch/evening restaurants.

We also made use of the spa at the resort. There is a great range of treatments available, something to suit everyone and after a long journey was so welcome! The swedish massage was awesome although really expensive compared to the beach side massage and places outside of the resort.

The staff at the hotel were amazing. Always friendly and so kind. I became ill whilst there (not food related may I add!) and needed a doctor asap. My husband rang reception and staff came immediately, called the local surgery, picked me up in a golf buggy to take me there and collected me 4 hours later. The next day we had a knock at the door and it was a staff member with a beautiful flower arrangement and Get Well Soon card which I though was exceptionally kind and thoughtful.

Despite being rainy season the weather was great. We did have a few rainy days but it didn't ruin it and it was so nice to be in the pool in a huge rain shower! There is plenty to see and do in Khao Lak and beyond whatever the weather. The hotel fronts on to the beach and although it was too rough to swim in the sea most days I can imagine how beautiful it is in the dry season. The coastline looks like something from Jurassic Park and makes for a nice post breakfast walk.

Overall we had an absolutely brilliant time at The Sands. The staff are a real credit to this resort and we would definitely go gack. I'm assuming it will only get better when the plants and foliage mature and give it a slightly less industrial feel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bullski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Values Guests,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

2 years ago we stayed at the other Katathani resort in Phuket so when we jumped on a Deals.com cheap holiday to it's new sister in Khao Lak we were expecting the same excellence. Loved it even more!!! The resort is brand new, bright and well set out. A tranquil setting. It's nowhere near as massive as the other resort, but we did notice they are working on what seems to be another annex soon to open called 'The Leaf'. We liked it that it was more compact. The beach is cleaned every morning by the workers. The pools are amazing, while we were there families kept their kids to the kids pool. Happy hour at coconut bar was awesome. Loved the Margaritas!! The resort and rooms are kept immaculate, thankyou to the cleaners who made our anniversary more special by doing an elephant with the towels. Mr Big did a great job hosting the Thai cooking class and cocktail making class. English isn't fluent among the workers but they are amazingly polite and friendly and try hard at english. We had amazing weather, it really only rained a couple of times to then open up to beautiful sunshine. Warm weather 24/7!! The 2 restaurants are beautiful and serve beautiful resort quality food but in saying this we only ate here to use our coupons, we always prefer to share our business with the locals as well. Which brings me to the next review....You must go into the main strip of shops and restaurants, to the right of the resorts main driveway entrance. On the other side of the road, about 10 minutes walk we found our favourite little restaurant called GA restaurant. I'm sure all of the restaurants are similar but this one became our fav after the first lunch, we returned here 3 more times for dinner. The spring rolls, chicken satays and chicken green curry are the best we have ever had, and we love our Thai food! The business seems to be owned by a lovely Thai lady who has her kids working for her, like all the restaurants they diversify with taxi service, laundry service, motor bike hire & free wifi but her food is amazing and soooo cheap 360 THB including beers!! The night before we left the lady gave me a gift as we were both sad to say our goodbyes. The Thai people are just so lovely!! We hired a motorbike for 200THB from Lees shop, on the main strip just out from the resort, they were happy to take my drivers license as ID instead of my passport. We took the bike north and discovered beautiful beaches, poor villages and the Baan Nam Kem tsunami memorial which was very moving and very much worth the 40km trip. We hired a car, which the resort organised with half an hours notice and went into the mountains to see the Wat Bang Riang Buddhist Temple, beautiful!! Khao Lak itself has obviously come a long way with the rebuilding in the almost 10 years since the tsunami, it still has a way to go, but we & other tourists we spoke to were feeling happy about contributing to their livelihoods. If we go back to Thailand, and we hope we do, we will definitely return to Khao Lak over Phuket. It's far less commercial and felt more authentic. It's certainly not a place for those looking for big partying scene but for families, couples and those wanting a peaceful paradise in Thailand it's A+ for me. The only sad thing for me was accidently leaving my 'Tigerlily' Sunglasses at the pool and not having them returned to lost property. If the person who took them sees this I hope they give you as much pleaseure as they gave me!

Room Tip: Our ocean view room was on the 3rd level for best views. Ask for one nearest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sonya4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Values Guests,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 8 days at The Sands, it was beautiful. The rooms were spacious and lovely. Wished I had of staying in one of the pool facing rooms - maybe next time. Had some excellent activities set up, if you did not want to leave the Hotel. Stay friendly and helpful. Gym, table tennis, pool table, library and computers were well set up and maintained. Breakfast was excellent. They even organised extra activities on rainy days.

Room Tip: If you can afford it treat yourself to the pool facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Values Guests,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Sands
a delightfully placed hotel to spend time exploring Khao Lak.

October when we visited, the weather not brilliant - wet but warm! Plenty to do if you want to keep occupied, pool table, table tennis, fantastic gym and area for children. The hotel provides you with a brolly and sorry to say that most evenings we did have use of it.

Hotel is very well maintained, even the standard rooms are large with plenty of storage space, a large shower and plentifully clean towels daily. A supply of clean beach towels left in your room daily....perfect. Safe was situated in the wardrobe and air-conditioning easy to control. Hot water in the shower any time of day or night and a good supply of hotel shower gels, shampoos, body lotions etc.

Breakfast is buffet style catering for every nationality. You can eat as much or as little as you want - the choice makes it difficult not to try something different everyday. Coffee machines a plenty if you need your morning fix!

Plenty of restaurants and cafés heading out to the right of the hotel. Choice again is great, although depending on your time of visit, some will be closed due to the low season. We found a couple of cracking restaurants that we visited on a number of occasions during our stay. Prices all reasonable. We didn't eat in the hotel purely by choice and no other reasons. The hotel menu did look reasonable, but we were looking for the Thai experience and wanted to put something back into the local economy.

A number of beach bars if you head off along the beach (more to the right of our hotel than the left) but again depending on tides and season, some will be either difficult to get to (tides) or closed (low season). Chang beer reasonably priced at all of these (between 50-90 baht a bottle)

Khao Lak is quiet - it's what we expected and what we wanted. If your into your nightlife and clubs - perhaps, not the place to come.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dickie899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your recent staying with us at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,
---
Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My family and I stayed here in September as part of a voucher deal and could not fault anything. The staff were friendly and happy always happy to help. My 11 year old son enjoyed the games room and activities especially we he came to the Thai cooking class. Love happy hour at the pool bar, meet some great people.
Thank you for a relaxing beautiful holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raelene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your recent staying with us at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,
---
Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
539 reviews
1.0 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
775 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Haven Khao Lak
The Haven Khao Lak
#20 of 69 in Khao Lak
828 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#13 of 69 in Khao Lak
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Property: The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Address: 10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing