We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Cronulla
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Such a pleasure”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Husband and I had a week at the resort and thoroughly loved it. Sooooo relaxing and they could not be more accomodating. The accomodation was excellent, the staff were very attentive and eager to please. The beach was beautiful and you can run for miles. We had perfect weather but the water did tend to be quite warm. It is an good 1.5 hours drive from the airport and Khao Lak is quiet, this is a perfect stay for time out. Breakfast is really well provided with everything to choose from - dinner in Talay Restaurant which has a beautiful outlook need to be bought up a notch. Steak wasn't tender and the duck still had the a layer of really chewy fat and was served with baked beans! But our 2nd dinner there we had different choices and these were better but still felt like the meal was very mediocre.

Room Tip: We had beach views and were closer to the beach and infinity pool which was a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluepole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Bluepole,

It is great to read you enjoyed your staying with us and that the hotel supported your relaxing time with it's excellent location and our attentive staff. Your comments about the duck and the steak have been already passed on to the Chef and I am confident we can present you better dishes upon your next visit.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again!
Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    601
    118
    39
    28
See reviews for
598
963
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is my first to be in Khao Lak. It is less colourful than Phuket but relaxing and enjoyable to be there. The food is as tasty as other parts of Thailand except seafood. The best is, it is cheaper. This resort is located at a very convenient place of Khao Lak. However, you enjoy a quiet, fresh and relaxing environment in the resort. I think I will return shortly having the advantage of living near Thailand.

Room Tip: Junior Seaside room is great but not expensive. If you choose to stay in pool-access room, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keungkeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear keungkeung,

I am very glad to see your first trip to Khao Lak left a positive impression on you and that you would like to visit us again. It is indeed less colourful than Phuket but if you are looking for a place to unwind and relax there is no better place to visit.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again soon!

With warm regards, Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel looked amazing, just as what was in the website. Everything was spanking new and at night, the resort was beautifully lighted.

We had a Sea side view junior suit for three nights. There were three blocks of Sea side view junior suit and we got one that was furthest from the sea side on the ground floor so there was no sea view of any to boast of. We were however just a couple of steps away from the pool except that the balcony door did not allow us to lock it from the front so we had to do a slight detour of going out by the main door, looped around the block in order to get to the pool.

Having said that, the room was great, designed in such a way that gave us a great view of the outside while retaining our privacy. We enjoyed the patio which also had a fan, great for those warm afternoons.

The free wifi was a hit and miss depending on the time of the day and the load. As expected it was crawling in the evening and at night when everyone was trying to get on it.

There was a decent spread for the breakfast buffet, though there was no change in the spread in the three days we were there. It started to get a bit boring by day three.

We had a one hour Thai massage at the garden. It must have been the “lightest” Thai massage I ever had. I was just been lightly touched… not massaged. Certainly not worth the money!

As noted by other reviewers, the level of English among the staff was not very high, including those at the reception doing the check in and out. The reception girl was unable to find our reservation and after 15 minutes had to call the back office which promptly found our reservation after I gave my reservation number, which by the way was in the voucher I gave the reception girl. After half an hour of sitting at the reception, they finally had our room sorted out only to tell us that they needed another half an hour to prepare the room and our room would only be ready around 4pm! Quite shocking.

At check out, we saw another European gentleman having the same issue with his check-in, and he too was put on the phone before his reservation issue was resolved eventually.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfflatedMizzlinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear travelbunnyadv,

Thank you very much for the extensive review provided on TripAdvisor, I was glad to see you enjoyed the room with the patio and the modern Thai design of the resort.

For the sliding door on the balcony it obviously has its advantages and disadvantages. While it is indeed very convenient to have a spacious patio with an almost direct access to both main pools, for safety reasons the door can be locked only from the inside. I will forward this aspect to our engineering and see whether it will be possible to find an adequate solution for the future to improve the comfort for our guests.

On that occasion I would also like to apologize for your check-in experience. For a very short period we had a communication malfunction with several online travel agents such as Expedia and Agoda which caused a delay in receiving the reservations. To ensure you get what you booked all the details needed to be re-confirmed, thus the delay. The level of English is certainly a challenge in all properties in Khao Lak, however with the rainy season coming up and a lower hotel occupancy we are already about to plan extensive English trainings to improve.

Once again thank you for your review and we will gladly welcome you back again on another occasion.

With kind regards from Khao Lak, Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed in a Pool Access Junior Suite type. The resort is new and clean. First moment when we entered the room, we impressed with the decoration. The room has an extra area of living room, with a sofa and small table. Especially the bathroom, its size is quite big and convenient. We can access the pool from the room. The pool is connected and shared with the other rooms with the same type. However, there is a partition between each room, you will still feel as you're in your private section.

The resort has its own private beach and large swimming pool. My friend and I stayed at the hotel in February, which is normally a good period of each year. There are 2 main swimming pools in the resort for kids and adult, where there are a number of beds for their guests surrounding those pools.

Other than swimming pools, fitness room and kids room are also available for guests.

In the morning, we had breakfast at the resort's restaurant. Quality of the food is good. Fruit and meat are fresh. Variety of choices are provided.

We also join a day trip to the Tachai island with a company called "Love Andaman". Their services are superb and the island is so beautiful. This is a recommended activity if you want to do something out of the hotel. Traveling from the hotel to the pier takes only 20 minutes. Transportation is provided.

In summary, the resort is value for money. Their staff are very friendly and helpful. Since the resort is huge, you won't feel crowded. Swimming pools and rooms are reasonable size. Hotel facilities are great. If I have a chance to revisit a hotel, The Sands is one in the list that I won't deny.

The only comment that I would have is the service hour for the massage. It's closed to early at 7pm. We've just come back from the island day trip and couldn't use the service. If it's possible, extending the service hours is preferred.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keng J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Keng J.

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and the great feedback. The hotel location and facilities are indeed very convenient and while the beach is not private, it is not crowded and compared to other destinations in Thailand completely unobstructed.

For the massage in the garden we will take a little bit more time to evaluate the opening hours, however so far there is almost zero request for massages in the garden after sunset. Instead guests prefer to book our SPA for the evening hours but again I will gladly put more emphasis in getting more details about the requests of our guests concerning this issue.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back in The Sands whenever you decide to visit Khao Lak again. Until then my best regards,

Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we have just come back from staying at this hotel on 23 feb 2013. The resort has a huge space in the middle with giant lagoon. The atmosphere is kind of mix between khao lak phang-nga and chiang mai as the back view of this resort surrounded by the mountain. The room is well equipped with bathtub and separated shower. Air conditioning works well. Although the resort is newly opened, the service is good and no smell of painting in room.

I ate lobster pasta at the restaurant at the beach front. It was delicious with the reasonable price. Moreover, I really like to shop in mini mart as items sold in this hotel pretty much the same as mini mart outsides. you don't have to worry to buy anything from outsides. All you need is there....

the process of check in and check out was fast and they asked all ID of guests staying when sharing the room together.

there are 2 main pools.one of them is kid friendly pool. My nephew really enjoyed to swim in that pool.

I strongly recommend you to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myadvisor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Myadvisor2012,

Thank you for your review and I am glad to read you enjoyed the stay. The hotel location, layout and facilities have been carefully planned prior to opening and combined with the effort of our staff I am proud to see the result that reflects in happy guests.

We will gladly welcome you back again in the future and I will pass on your comments to all departments which will surely push the motivation even more to deliver excellent services to our guests.

With warm regards from Khao Lak, Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were staying further up the coast and had originally planned to stay here but were put off by information in some forums that said the hotel would not be ready. They were wrong, so we went along to see what we were missing. It does obviously look like it is newly built and the grass and trees etc dont look very mature but it was all very nice and we had a lovely cocktail and the numerous staff seemed very keen an organised and happy to help.

The pool looked lovely, and there seemed to be plenty of sunbeds and the furniture all looked very good quality. We both agreed that we would have been happy if we had gone there and it seems from most other reviews that most guests agree.

One constructive comment, from the beach the big concrete frontage could do with making a bit more attractive to look at, not that it is visible from inside.

I would not hesitate to book us in there from what we saw.

Room Tip: As a visitor, nearer the beach the better looked best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ponytailpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Ponytailpaul,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Next time you come by please feel free to drop by the reception. Our staff will gladly arrange to show you around and also give you an opportunity to take a look at our rooms which I am sure will encourage you even more to make a booking with us without hesitation.

Looking forward to welcome you in The Sands soon, Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We wanted a quiet holiday away from the crowds of Pukhet. This place really fitted the bill, the hotel itself has beautiful grounds with ample sunbeds for all guests. Additionally you can step straight onto the beach and walk in either direction for quite some way. There are numerous small eateries along the beach for a lunchtime break. Just a short walk up the hill there are numerous eating places and shops to browse in the evenings. Or you can simply stay put at The Sands for all your meals. We found the food was good here but the prices were a bit on the high side. They even charged for bottles of water - something which we had not experienced in either Bangkok or Chaing Mai.

Room Tip: Try one of the suites that has it's own access to a pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Jill G,

Thank you for staying with us in The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. I am glad to read you enjoyed the beautiful location and appreciated the services of our staff.

Also our chefs appreciated your comments about the food. As for the bottles of water provided in your room they are are complimentary and so is the water in the restaurants that you will receive in glas during lunch or dinner. Please note that if needed bottled water for take-out we also have an on-site shop where you can buy additional water or soft-drinks at local prices to fill the refrigerator provided in room.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you back again in the future.

With warm regards from Khao Lak, Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 68 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
8.0 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
2.2 mi away
The Haven Khao Lak
The Haven Khao Lak
#21 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Property: The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Address: 10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing