We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved the Resort”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Sands in December and were really impressed. It's clearly a new resort which is both good and bad. The furnishings are all virtually brand new and everything is immaculate and it's great to have new sun lougers. (On the down side, some of the staff, while really nice, seemed new).

Value wise we thought it was excellent, we loved Khoa Lak (it's worth the hour drive from Phuket airport as Patong is disgusting - we refuse to stay there). The beach is superb and main pool is great and the breakfasts are brilliant. In fact, it was probably one of the best breakfasts we've had, huge choice, and really fresh ingredients. (Breakfasts in Thailand are far better than China or Europe).

We stayed for a week, which felt a bit short (wold have loved a few more days), but will try to plan a return trip on the way home from Europe next year.

We've stayed at quite a few places in Asia, and value for money wise, The Sands is up there with the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Jenny S,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and I am glad you enjoyed the stay with us. Your comments about the breakfast put a smile on the face of our chef who was delighted to hear it. Looking forward to see you again upon your next visit to Khao Lak!

With warm regards, Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    602
    119
    39
    28
See reviews for
599
963
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel us far overpriced compared with service level you expect in a hotel like this is Thailand. Let me give you a few example:
Brefast room. Good food, but abselute no service with the service from the staff. It was higher fiócuse in serving their own staff - and told us to go and help your self with coffey.

Main resturant. Nice place - good location, but standard on western disches was not good. Food was not cooked in the way it was told to bee cooked, and the salomon in the roos was OLD and taste bad.

Pool bar in quiet pool was good, but the quiet pool was full of cracy kids that did nor repect the difference between quiet pool, and fun pool. In adition you have several happenings with diper kids not ysing dipers in a pool. It does not make the situation better that the happening was not removed but fluating around.

It was not to many individual travelers. When the TUI - Fritidresor arrived the hotel has like a charter camp, and not a hotel. Large grupes of Swedish - FInish - Russian guests that took over the publick places.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the suites located closest to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank ths051064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear ths051064,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry to see that you did not enjoy your staying with us which seems was mainly not for the product as for the service that did not match up with your expectations.

Please be assured that upon hearing from you while you were still at the resort, immediate actions were taken to rectify your concerns and as you can see on the more recent reviews we are on the right track to ensure our guests have a great vacation with us.

On a last note I would like to mention that our resort is welcoming all nationalities equally and I was sorry to hear your notion towards specific groups of our guests.

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Thailand and I would appreciate if you consider staying with us in the future again. We will gladly welcome you back to The Sands in Khao Lak by Katathani.

With kind regards, Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at The Sands and must say, it was a really relaxing experience. It is a brand new resort, the rooms are really fresh and bright, with a nice green concept throughout. Amenities are pretty good, and the room is a comfortable size. Stayed in a Seaside Junior suite, which gave me great access to the main pool. The desk behind the bed is really handy, and the bathroom is nice - deep bath and separate show. You can also get their Pool Access rooms, which looked pretty nice, but a little further away from the beach than the Junior Suites.

The main restaurant is themed like the floating markets of Bangkok - which doubles up as the breakfast buffet restaurant, and then the candle lit, fine dining type of Thai restaurant in the evening. The second restaurant is right near the beach and has spectacular views of the ocean. I ate the Red Snapper most days, but everything was great, and surprisingly, the prices were the same if not cheaper than the lesser quality 'touristy' restaurants outside the hotel. The mixed fruit shake with blended ice is a must too!

The service at the restaurants was always excellent - 5 Star service, with regular top-ups of water and a welcome basket of bread within moments of sitting down. The live music in each restaurant added a nice touch, and

There are a few bars at the resort too, one near the lobby, another in the middle of the ground, but we tended to hang by the pool bar. Had a nice view of the ocean.

One of the most appealing aspects of the resort is the sense of space you feel when you are relaxing around the grounds. There is a lot of 'greenery' and space between the two main swimming pools. Found that everyone could relax throughout the resort without being on top of each other, which often happens in some of the other luxury resorts in Khao Lak and Phuket. I also liked the fact you could lie down on deck chairs on grass too, overlooking the ocean - without having to deal with sand! There is a 'fun' pool for families with kids, and a very tranquil main infinity pool which is beautiful to swim in any time of the day (especially during a rainstorm!).

Romantic walks along the beach is a must (weather permitting) and the resort is really close to the main walking street in Khao Lak, which makes it more convenient location wise than some of the other resorts I have stayed at previously in Khao Lak (Ramada, JW Marriott).

Overall, while the resort may not be as glitzy as some of the other resorts in Khao Lak on first impressions (the plantation around the lake is obviously new and not fully developed), it definitely grows on you, leaving you not wanting to go anywhere else to relax or to eat! Recommend for a relaxing Khao Lak getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank bubajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear bubajane,

Thank you for your detailed review and I was very glad to see that you had the most relaxing and enjoyable stay. You are very welcome to visit us again in the future and please feel free to contact us directly to support you with any request or preference for your next visit so we can do our best to ensure you have a great experience also upon your next stay in The Sands.

With kind regards, Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 6 days and 5 nights. Overall I think the hotel is great. The staff were very helpful and professional. On arrival we asked for a late check-out and this was given to us. The room was very clean and spacious with a fresh and inviting feel to the room. The hotel has three restaurants and I would say that we ate well in all three. The hotel has only been open for 12 weeks so the garden and lagoon needs to grow into itself but the design is very nice. The location is very central in Khao Lak so it is very very easy to walk int town and buy things (nappies, milk) for babies, or just go out for dinner.

The ideas they have had are super but the execution is a bit lacking. The play areas for the children is superb yet the sand in the play area still has a fair amount of building debris. The toys in the play area are new but as they are made of inexpensive plastic it is looking broken and old. There are a few things that need to be finished but I would say that nothing to spoil your stay at the place.

I strongly recommend a dive trip whilst there and the hotel has not taken full advantage in advertising what to do around Khao Lak.

Room Tip: If you have a child the family rooms are great. If you want to
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redelle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Redelle74,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to give us some valuable feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and that overall our services and facilities met your expectations.

The ideas and concepts we developed before the opening are now being evaluated while operating and will be adjusted according to our guests needs and requests. Also as always with such huge projects there are a couple of things to correct that will only come out after the operation starts but we are already about to plan corrective actions during the low season to ensure a high level of guest satisfaction.

We will gladly welcome you back again to "The Sands" whenever you decide to visit Khao Lak in the future.

Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

On the way back from London we stopped off in Thailand for some much needed sun and spent four nights at The Sands. (We've stayed at Katathani several times and wanted to try something different and a bit quieter).

Overall, it was hard to find too many faults with the Sands - while not as established at Katathani, everything is almost brand new

Positives
- Excellent sense of space and really a tranquil place to relax.
- Rooms are fresh and very comfortable. Kind of a tropical feel throughout. We paid extra to stay in a "Junior Seaside Suite".
- Bathroom great, and can separate it off. Massive, deep bathtup.
- Great little work space behind the bed too, so did some work and connected to the Wi-Fi for free.
- The food at the two restaurants are excellent. We spent quite a few nights dining on Seafood at the "Talay" restaurant (Rock lobster!) and loved the floating market boats that served Soup as part of breakfast buffet.
- Staff were well trained (especially for a new hotel) - while they aren't quite as formal as at the Shore, we were pretty impressed
- The Main Pool - it is really tranquil - and if you are lucky enough to get a day with some rain (and yes I say lucky because the weather was excellent most of the time) there is nothing more beautiful than swimming in the tropical heat with a gentle rain. Very romantic.
- The beach is solid, much nicer than Patong (and nicer than Kata as well). Reminded a little bit of Malaysia which is quieter than the crowds in central Phuket.
- in house Massages were reasoably priced for a nice hotel spa. We always prefer to spend a little bit more and get a massage in a hotel spa than risk somewhere on the main street (to save $5). There is actually a spa in the open air near the beach which is worth trying.
- location is perfect - Khoa Lak is a much quieter option than Patong but has lots of restaurants only a few minutes from the hotel. We tended to rotate and eat one night in, one night out, but good to have more options.

Tip: Make sure you arrange a transfer BEFORE you arrive. It costs a little more but you don't want the hassle of having to wade through crowds at Phuket airport. The hotel should be able to arrange for you.

Negatives

- The resort is new, so some the palm trees / landscaping hasn't been fully grown, didn't really bother us but it's probably a few months from being all done.
- Sometimes, the staff may get a little confused if you make complicated changes to the menu items (eg Add this, substitute that, can you do it this way), but we found that once we said it slower, and they repeated the order, all was fine.
- If you are into partying, this isn't the place for you. Stick to Patong. Suited us though.
- The gym was good, but if you're a real junkie (like my husband), you might want a few more free weights. It's fine if you're using treadmill/bike etc.

Conclusion:
If you intend to relax, enjoy great food, have a great beach location, good mix of relaxed people, and not intending to party like Patong, then would definitely recommend this as a good 'week away' kind of place. While not a six star resort, it's super solid and great value for money (and we'll be coming back on our next trip through).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Jill H,

Thank you for taking time to give us some feedback and I was happy to see that the hard work of our staff and the new hotel facilities were overall meeting your expectations. Khao Lak is a great destination to relax and I am glad you enjoyed the hotel as well. I also like to mention that I sincerely appreciate your support to our staff regarding the English skills. We have currently hired an English teacher and I am also doing English training on-site by myself to ensure the vacation of our guests will not get spoiled due to communication problems.

Please contact us directly whenever you decide to return to Khao Lak. We will gladly take care of you again upon your next visit.

With warm regards from Khao Lak, Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We're English expats living in Bangkok and were recommended The Sands by a friend who is very experienced holidaying in south of Thailand. We were originally going to stay in Patong, but were warned against doing so because of the crowds, noise and pollution.

Khao Lak and The Sands was an ideal long weekend getaway - and as the hotel has just opened, they went out of their way to make sure you are happy. We stayed in the top floor of their Junior Suite - right near the ocean and had view of the sunset.

Food was great and the breakfast buffet was really nice. They make you freshly squeezed juices and have a nice egg station (took a while to explain egg white omelette but they eventually got it).

Everything went smoothly, except for a miscommunication when we were asking for drinks and my partner asked for "coke and a water", and a few minutes later we got a big green 'Coconut Water'.

Free Wi-Fi worked which was good and the TV had all the usual channels.

Only minor criticism is that front desk only calls taxis if it is for the airport, and not for local trips, as they have a free shuttle (like a golf buggy) that takes you to the main road, where it is really easy to hail a cab or tuk tuk. It may have been a misunderstanding though.

Would definitely go back again because the large area of the resort means you are not on top of each other and it makes for a welcoming break to the claustrophobia of Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Jamie M,

I am glad to see you had a great getaway from Bangkok with us. Since Bangkok is not far away please feel free to drop by over weekend especially when the pollution and traffic jams start to drain your energy levels. We will be happy to provide the right environment for you to recharge.

For the misunderstanding with the transportation rest assured that we can arrange you a taxi wherever you may wish to go within the vicinity and beyond.

Looking forward to welcome you back again in The Sands Khao Lak soon!
Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I regularly travel to Phuket, Samui, and Bali and were looking for something different over the Christmas break. We heard that Katatathani had opened up a new resort in Khao Lak, and friends of ours had found a special opening offer (a free room upgrade and late check-out for those travelling in the opening month of December) so we booked in for a week.

It seemed that we were not the only ones curious to try the new resort, as there was a huge number of Swedish, German and various other European holiday makers over there at that time, so the front desk was under the pump. We were given a delicious 'welcome drink' and were shortly checked in. Some of the staff are experienced (presumably from Katathani) and others were just learning. Everyone was really polite and enthusiastic though.

I am obsessed with bathtubs, so fortunately, the room we were given (a Junior Room i think it was called) had a nice free standing bathtub, along with double shower).

We really wanted to relax and do nothing after a busy year at work, so it was a perfect destination for doing so. We did one day trip to the islands near by for snorkelling, but otherwise lounged about by the pool while reading 50 Shades of Grey (finally).

In between bouts of swimming in the main pool, drinking pina coladas, and eating seafood, we did take a few walks along the main road - which was complete with thai, seafood, italian restaurants .... and a McDonalds! It is like a quieter version of Patong - without the sleaze, and people hassling you. More than fine for an evening walk around.

Speak slowly to the staff and smile, and they are really fun and helpful. Especially the girl from the beach restaurant (the one with braces) who told me after one my meals was delayed that they had gone out to catch the fish! She was lovely and we tipped her.

No serious complaints, just a couple of teething issues - which is to be expected.

Would return.

Room Tip: Tips- Arrange a transfer with the resort before you go. Try not to stay in the 'Sands Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed The Sands and Khao Lak equally. Indeed Khao Lak is a much quieter destination offering a way more relaxing kind of nightlife when comparing with Phuket. As for the teething issues if you have a spare minute I would appreciate if you contact me directly at jakub@thesandskhaolak.com mentioning some (or all) of them. It is a new hotel, a new destination and any feedback is appreciated so we can improve and work on our services. We will be happy to welcome you back again. Until then,

Best regards from Khao Lak, Jakub Piwowarski, Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 68 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
8.0 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
2.2 mi away
The Haven Khao Lak
The Haven Khao Lak
#21 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Property: The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Address: 10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing