We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Overall great”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We arrived for our 12 night stay late at night but were greeted by the friendly reception staff who quickly checked us in and showed us to our room.

Despite requesting a room in advance as near to the beach as possible (although understanding we would be at least halfway back as we were in a deluxe room), we were at the very back of the resort. This wasn't really a problem but was a shame our request couldn't be accommodated. Our room had some very unsightly green netting around the garden area which never moved during our stay.. not sure what it was for but it was quite ugly!

The room was lovely. Spacious, clean, cool and kept immaculate during our stay by the hardworking housekeeping staff. Bathroom area was large and spotlessly clean.

The only negative on the room was the terrace just looks onto a wall of the room in front and there was quite a nasty intermittent smell of drains out there so we never sat out. That said, the smell was never in our room and we always sat at the beach bar instead which was fantastic so it wasn't an issue for us.

The resort generally is beautifully maintained and the gardens are lovely and very pretty to walk through to the pool/beach at the front of the resort.

All the meals we had at the resort were lovely. Great food selection at breakfast and thankfully we didnt take the half board option as dinner in the hotel restaurant, even on speciality buffet nights only cost around £15pp whereas the HB upgrade cost we had been quoted was £30pppn! Beach restaurants are plentiful within a 5 min or less walk and all of them served wonderful food with average cost for 2 courses with a few beers or cocktails of £20 per couple.

Each night there was a live band on at the beach bar... it did get a little repetitive as it was the same band and same songs but it was nice enough.

The buffet nights were good and offered good selections of food at a good price.

The pool area was just fabulous in our opinion. Lovely large loungers, some on the beach and some around the pool, lovely clean pool and a swim up bar and outdoor massage area. One complaint we had was that an area of loungers was always reserved every day by tying the towels around them. I queried this with the pool staff and was told we could pay 300THB per hour we wanted them to be saved for us. Outrageous! Needless to say we didn't bother and were more than happy with alternative loungers. What surprised us even more was that on our last day we had a letter in our room from the hotel management saying noone was allowed to reserve loungers and if you left your stuff on a lounger to reserve it and then didn't use it for a period of time your things would be removed and stored in the beach bar for you to collect.... this made us wonder whether the manager was aware that the pool staff were taking guest money to reserve loungers?!!!

Despite comments that the english language is poor in the staff we found it was generally good. Except one lady at the beach bar near the end of our stay who couldn't even understand our request for "menu" even when we mimed eating food?? She had to get another member of staff to help her with every single interaction. Whilst I understand everyone needs to learn, it seems madness to put staff into a client facing role as waiting staff when they cannot even understand the word drinks or menu. Perhaps they could start in another role and progress to waiting staff once they have learned some basics. And it wasn't just english she didn't know, she couldn't assist any Swiss or German guests either.

The spa at the hotel was fabulous, great prices, fabulous treatments and long opening hours - highly recommend. You can also get cheap massages on the beach which are lovely but just a little less luxurious.

We arranged one trip to the Similian islands through Hayes and Jarvis which was ok but pick up/drop off and check in at the Seastar office was a complete shambles. We wished we'd stayed in the calm lovely hotel instead!

We went into Khao Lak to the market a couple of evenings and the hotel shuttle bus was efficient and easy to use. We didn't need to prebook and everything worked great.

All in all a really wonderful, relaxing holiday in lovely surroundings. We would definitely visit again. None of our criticisms are anything but our opinions and aimed to assist the hotel in improving its service even further.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: no rooms have a great view but they are all spacious and clean and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maldivesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Maldivesgirl,

I am very sorry that your where allocated a room a little back from the beach. The problem is all guests want to be as near the beach as possible, and we try but at the end it is first come first serve. The green net is covering an area where we have a leaking main pipe underground. Due to the Hotel is full most of the time I have trouble closing the leak as I would need to turn of all water in 40 Villas for a day and taking a risk that the repair make the leak worse... My sincere apology here too.

The English levels are uhhhmmm " acceptable, to find any staff in Thailand is very difficult, good staff close to impossible, English speaking good staff borders a wonder ( un-employment in Thailand is below 0.5%...

But I am happy to see that you had a great time here and we are looking forward to have you here again soon. I trust with the inauguration of the AEC ( Asian Economic Community ) wwe will be able to employ other nations citizen more easily, i.e. Philippine's who have a better English knowledge than your local associates.

Again many thanks

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    416
    93
    22
    11
See reviews for
101
1,262
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We last came in April to celebrate a 50 th birthday, and had to come back to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary, we are almost packed for the long journey home, but what a two weeks we have had, all the staff really friendly , especially Joy on reception who recognised us straight away, our room was exceptional 3106 right by the lakes and looking down toward the sea. Very spacious and the bed once we got a topper put on was great, wish I could take it home, breakfast was very good nothing too much trouble for the staff, who always smile even though so many people can't even say please or thankyou!!!! Never a mad rush for sunbeds by the early brigade, if I had to change anything it would be to have more colour in the gardens . We had some lovely lunches at the seaside restaurant very good quality, roll on next year when we will return, well done Robert

Room Tip: All rooms are same standard , and none too far away from front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boeing747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear boeing747,

Many thanks for your great response and we hope to have you back again for a third time in the not too distant future.

Best regards ( airbus380 )

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Writing whilst enjoying the last day of 10 days spent at the Beyond resort Khaolak.
This resort is superb from the moment we arrived we have had the best possible treatment from all the staff, we were greeted upon arrival with big smiles and the warmest of welcomes, there was a problem that our villa was not available on arrival and was given a different villa until the following day ( we had booked a premier villa) we understood the problem and accepted without hesitation and was given a complimentary dinner for our troubles. Most of villas are same except for the top of the range ones with their own private pools, we had a premier villa which was in row 13 (1309) near the pools they are the same size as the other villas but premier ones are situated closer to the pool and bar areas but as we stayed in one at the rear of the resort near to reception on night one I can say that there is no difference apart from a few extra benefits ( minibar incl. wifi. Daily paper, fresh fruit daily and an evening turn down service).
As I mentioned all the staff are excellent in particular Oh & Danielle because we have had more dealings with them and they treated us with the service you would wish for and more.
The resort itself is great, pool area is fantastic you will always find a subbed despite the usual crowds putting towels out hour before using them. We had a few meals in the hotel and quality is excellent it is more expensive than the beach type bar restaurants (which we tried quite a few and found all to be ok) but you would expect to pay more for that extra bit of quality and service. As I mentioned the beach hut bars restaurants and good value too and walking out in the evening along the warm sea adds that extra bit of romance to your holiday a trip over the rickety bridge adds to the experience.
We have had a great time here in Beyond Resort Khaolak and hope to return soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Mike M ,

I am very happy to read that your 25th anniversary was a good experience at the resort and that you where happy with our villas and staff alike.
We too, looking forward to have you here again in the not too distant future

Yours sincerely

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannrem, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Arrived Beyond Resort after a twelve hours flight from Oslo, Norway. My wife and myself were wished a very warm welcome at the resort with refreshment. Staff took imediately care of our luggage. Since there was a slight delay before we could have our Villa, the manager himself offered us a different Villa while we was waiting for our Premium Villa to be ready. All luggage was taken care of, we didn't have to ask for any assistance, the Porters gave a very good impression. We were informed that the minibarservice was free of charge!! After a couple of hours I recieved a Phonecall from the reception, saying that we could be transferred to our Premium Villa whenever we wanted. After 10 minutes we were picked up by a nice vehicle. To Porters drove us to our Villa, give informative instructions, took care of our luggage in an excellent manner.
Later in the evening we had Dinner at the Thai Restaurant, excellent food an service for a very reasonable price:))
New evaluation will be reported in two weeks, when we are checking out.
Again, first impression is magnificent.
By the Way, I asked the Manager for ironing equipment by e-mail before leaving Norway. Was my request fulfilled? Of course, the equipment was already brought to our Villa when checked in. It's easy to understand the high rankings Beyond Resort, Khao Lac has recieved through TripAdvisor:))
Best Regards
Mr. Sebaek at Premium Villa 2104

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank Bella7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Bella7770

lets hope all will remain very very good. Looking forward to your final review.

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Relax... Blue Sea..White sand ...Wonderful sunsets ... Great service... Delicious dinners..Comfortable nice villas... You will get All this ..here .. at Beyond Resort Khaolak.. I think we will be back one day...to have All this

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank socox001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear socox001,

Looking forward to have you back soon so you can get some more paradise...

Best regards from Khaolak

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

For our first trip to Thailand we chose the Beyond Resort in Khao Lak and we were not disappointed. Beautifully situated right on the beach, this resort is quiet, spacious but not overwhelming, with everything you need to get away from it all. The spa is wonderful, the food was very good, and the staff was always attentive. The pool and beach area is the star of this resort, with no fighting for lounge chairs and enough space for everyone, without ever feeling crowded. It was really the most pleasant time I've ever had lounging - sun or shade was basically available on demand depending on where you chose to sit or whether you used an umbrella. Really fantastic!

The resort is located a good distance from the nearest town, but access by bus or taxi is easy to get. This is a quiet, restful, relaxing place with a wonderful feel and fantastic villas - spacious and well appointed. If you want to party all the time, you might be better served elsewhere.

I really enjoyed my time at Beyond Resort Khao Lak and I would gladly come again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Solasscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Solasscc,

many thanks for your mail. Happy to see that you have enjoyed yourself at the resort. We are looking forward to have you back again soon

Best regards

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a very good hotel. Nice placed down by the water and beach. Very good Villas with plenty of space and all you need.
The swimmingpools are clean and loveley to be inn.
Most if the staff are friendly and are always smiling when you meet them.
The only problem we had if you can call it that is that many of them are very bad in english, so sometimes not easy to get help.
Carsten for Khao Lak Eco Adventures help you with booking trips for a good price. He speeks english and german and are a good help at the front desk

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Marius A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Marius A

Many thanks for your great comments about the resort, I am sure Carsten will be proud too. It is almost impossible to find English speaking staff in Thailand, unemployment is less than 0.5 %. We will start English and German courses again this low season and hope that this will get better soon.

Again many thanks

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
3.5 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
764 reviews
5.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
4.8 mi away
The Haven Khao Lak
The Haven Khao Lak
#21 of 69 in Khao Lak
807 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Khaolak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Khaolak

Property: Beyond Resort Khaolak
Address: 9 / 69 Moo 1 | Thamboon Khukkak, Amphur Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beyond Resort Khaolak 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Creating memories, in romantic location... Beyond Resort Khaolak." Unspoiled sands, untouched nature, and undisturbed relaxation; Beyond Resort Khaolak is situated an hour north from Phuket International Airport. Famed for its white beaches, slow life style, and natural surroundings Khaolak is the quieter alternative to Phuket. Jungle-clad mountains, nature-based excursions, and boat rides are activities of choice. On the beach, looking out towards the Andaman Sea nothing stands in-between you and horizon's edge. Offering 177 luxurious villas in contemporary Thai-Style, Beyond Resort Khaolak brings the finer things in life right to your villa door.For our active guests we now offer Scuba Diving all year round.Note, this is an couples resort and allow only guests age 18 and older. Please note that if you pay your hotelbill by credit Card the hotel will charge you a 2% bank processing fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Beyond Resort Khaolak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing