We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shambhala Khaolak Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Shambhala Khaolak Resort
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Ao Nang, Thailand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Right on the beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

A lovely resort, with real nice rooms. Pleasant surroundings.
Good restaurant with live music for the evening meal. Located right on the beach can be in the pool and look out over the sea. The place is run by a couple of young friendly Thais.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie888_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    17
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
52
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Spent 8 nights at the Shambhala in February 2014 with two friends. It was everything we'd hoped for: small and friendly, locally-owned with wonderful local staff, spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms, a small but perfectly formed pool area and fantastic restaurant right on the water's edge. This isn't the place for 5-star facilities, but if you want to ensure you actually feel like you're in Thailand (not staying in a soulless, international hotel) and enjoy being within walking distance of the lovely Bang Niang village (for great restaurants and bars) I can recommend the Shambhala.

The only slight negative I would note is that the beach immediately in front of the hotel is not suitable for sunbathing. The hotel (as with many of its immediate neighbours) has been built below the high tide line, with a sea wall at the front of the property. When the tide is out, the exposed sand is damp and hard. At high tide, the water washes up against the front wall. For us, we got around this minor inconvenience by walking 100m north up the beach to where there is a broad stretch of golden sand. You can make use of free sunbeds and umbrellas at the beach if you book in for a massage at one of the huts, which I can highly recommend.

Room Tip: The terraces of the sea-view bungalows are only meters from the poolside, so not very private. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed at this Thai family hotel from 19th Feb for 4 nights with my husband and 13 year old daughter. Had adjoining rooms overlooking the sea. The location is simply perfect if you just want to chill out and relax. Food at the hotel is excellent and everything including the beach is within a few steps. Walk left or right on the beach and stop off at any of the beach bars - cocktails and food won't disappoint with lovely fresh seafood all very reasonably priced. Massages at the hotel recommended but equally good on the beach. Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - great little find.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just spent 4 days in The Shambala Khao Lak. Everything I wanted it to be. It was 6 steps to the pool, 10 steps to the massage hut , 20 steps to the restaurant, and 25 to the beach. I don't think you can get any better than that! I stayed in the seaview villa. Opens to the sea and pool.Modern and simple. Perfect! Had to work during my stay and the internet was fabulous in that room and around the common areas. Never need to step out to eat at all as the food was good and very reasonable prices. Plus why would you want to eat without the view of the sea? You could soak in the small infinity pool and let the beach walkers gawk at you in envy ( cos I did not see any other hotel on the stretch with that facility). Do note this is a family run place so don't expect to be waited on hand and foot. It's perfect if you are the type that just wants to be left alone. My idea of heaven.Definitely going back there again!

Room Tip: Sea view villa. You get the whole stretch of the Andaman . Great sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Shambhala is nice place for couples and families who want to relax and spend some time in the sun and sea. There is Bungalows, with seaview and gardenview ( seaview is way to go )Good location right at the beach, small pool, massages and the restaurant. Not too far from the main town.

We will come back, if we go to khao lak :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I spent 8 glorious days here and were both sad to leave. We had a sea view bungalow whcih overlooked the swimmimg pool and the room was spacious, modern and cleaned every day.

The hotel itself was lovely and situated of the main road. A ten minute walk led you to the town itself where there were many restaurants and bars as well as a large open air market which included many stalls serving cooked food which was delicious.


Breakfast was included in the price and was served on the beachfront. This was varied and of very good quality. You could eat as much as you wanted.

The staff were lovely, polite and always asking if everything was OK. On the day we left they even apologised to us for any mistakes they may have made, which they had not.

When we wanted some variety on our relaxation we had Thai massages which were excellent. The masseurs were polite and friendly and the massages took place in the open air overlooking the sea.

This is a perfect place to visit if you are looking for a quite, relaxed and peaceful holiday

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krystyna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Khao Lak is the perfect beach holiday location, so much quieter than Phuket. It is a one hour taxi drive north of Phuket airport. Bang Niang beach is well located, and the Shambhala is a lovely hotel. Although the area is more expensive then Phuket it is a worthwhile extra expense. The staff are very nice people, relaxed, laid back yet helpful. The breakfast is very good quality, and as much as you want. Motorbikes available for rent, which is useful for trips to the waterfalls or to the local town for the market, shops and more restaurants.
Overall we were very satisfied with our 7 nights, except next time I will book 10-14 nights although at 140 Euros a night it is a bit costly but compared to other hotels in the area the Shambhala is not over priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhiloLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.8 mi away
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
0.3 mi away
Sudala Beach Resort
Sudala Beach Resort
#47 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort
1.0 mi away
Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
The Andamania Beach Resort
The Andamania Beach Resort
#48 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shambhala Khaolak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shambhala Khaolak Resort

Property: The Shambhala Khaolak Resort
Address: 67/62 Moo 5 | Khuek Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Shambhala Khaolak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing