We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shambhala Khaolak Resort
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Friendly caring staff, limited English occasionally impacted ordering at he restaurant/booking taxi etc. rooms were clean and adequate. Pool and beach was beautiful. The food from the restaurant was delish. Very quiet area of town, no nightlife.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jofromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 134 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed for 12 nights in Nov-Dec in a Beachfront Bungalow. We loved the laid back, warm approach that Hong, Tuk and family have. You dont get hassled to do anything but if you need something they are amazingly helpful. For instance, I simply asked if I could buy English books somewhere and Hong immediately said she had to go to Lah On and would drop us off at the Book tree.

Pool is on the small side but abosultely adequate for the size of the resort and its elevated position from the beach is great. The beach was lovely and you can walk for hours on the beach particularly to the North.

An easy walk to to the many restaurants and market, its location is really quiet and uncrowded.

Rooms were clean and had all that is required. The beachfront rooms allowed us to sit and watch the sunset with a drink on our patio and was beautiful.
You could order a few different things for breakfast which were all well done and generous portions.

Its a really lovely place to relax for a while.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoozoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have visited Khaolak many times with family and found Shambhala Khaolak as a great and warm venue to stay. The resort is by the beach, very easy to access in Bang Niang area with many shops & restaurants in walking distance.

I visited this resort during Songkran festival, Khaolak is quite silent comparing to Phuket but it is great option to stay away from busy town.

I was upgrade to beach front bungalow, the swimming pool was just in front of the room. Thanks to khun Hong who was so kind and treated me like one of her family member. There was free wifi in the restaurant area, the speed was okay.

We had breakfast & dinner at the restaurant, requested Thai taste. The ingredient was fresh and the taste is wonderful.

The next day we booked tour with khun Hong and got a very good care taken by her team. Everything was smooth, information was well provided.

I am sure that any time I visit khaolak, I would stay with my family again, see you the Shambhala Khaolak.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keaw_hkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A small hotel where Hong and family treat you like family. Our visit was in low season, so things were quiet. On arrival we were upgraded to Beach Front, where we sat on the verandah and watched the waves lapping the shore. The restaurant was technically closed, but as we were tired from traveling, Hong asked us what we would like and produced a delicious, authentic meal for us. We were plied with fresh fruit and treats during the day and on leaving, delicious cake. We felt incredibly welcome and special. Rooms were fresh, beds and pillows comfortable. At the moment you need to walk about 1k for outside restaurants. If you want a small, casual hotel in a peaceful area, then this is a beauty.

Room Tip: Beach front is the go. There are only six of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GJS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights right on the beach at the Shambhala Khaolak Resort in march 2012 and loved every minute of our time there. Our beach bungalow room was very comfortable and we had a good-sized patio. All the amenities were new. Although the hotel service is a bit informal (reception, etc is in the hotel's restaurant, Sabai Sabai - but they come to your room to check you in) all the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. For example, when the staff heard i had a sunburn, one of the staff went out and purchased aloe vera and brought it right to our room. Totally unexpected but much appreciated. Everyone was very sweet and treated us wonderfully. We loved the pool and the fact that the beach was right outside our doorstep. The food at the restaurant was very good and very affordable. I would definitely stay there again - this cute little hotel was a wonderful way to end our 3 week trip in Southeast Asia.

Room Tip: The beach bungalows are wonderful - just steps from the infiniti pool, the restaurant, an dthe beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OutoftheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We wanted a small hotel with character, away from the noise of the city and this is what we got at Shambhala . As advertised Shambhala is a three star hotel/resort. If you are looking for an impressive reception area, pool side bar, huge pool, multiple restaurants, conference rooms, staff with matching uniforms and themed dinners- look elsewhere. . It is a family run hotel with Hong, her husband and sister leading the team. There is no pretenses here. It is small, very clean and friendly. The rooms are set in a secluded garden area with direct access to the beach. The rooms are a good size with the the usual hard Asian bed, an adequate clean bathroom, AC, small safe, wifi access and a TV with poor reception and limited channels (but that’s not what you are there for!!) It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the main street with restaurants and massage places, although there are some along the beach road worth trying. We had a beach front room close to the pool which was great but may not be so in high season. Breakfast is made to order eggs, fruit and Asian offerings. We had one other meal at the restaurant which was fine. Hong will help you organise tours, transfers to Phuket airport and give you information about the local area and its recent history. Some extras like fresh fruit some afternoons, a vase of flowers one evening and banana muffins one night were nice. We had a late check out (6.30pm) without additional charges. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jvhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I only stayed in this hotel for one night prior to picking up a liveaboard dive boat. When we arrived after a delayed flight the staff gave us a very warm welcome. There isn't a reception area as such so the staff take you straight to your room and check you in there, which is much appreciated after a long journey. As we were only staying one night we had only booked a basic room but had been upgraded to a garden bungalow, which was lovely.

The beach infront of the hotel is very quiet and there are sunbeds which we weren't sure were part of the hotel but we used them without question. The pool area is small but beautiful. Gazing out over the infinity pool looking out at the beach was heaven.

The location is little tucked away, but worth it to be on a prime spot on the beach. We are people who usually stay in the heart of activity and that was probably only around 500 metres away, so fine unless you are being really lazy, and you can always get a taxi for next to nothing if you are. We didn't feel the need, but there were plenty driving around.

We didn't get up until reasonably late the following day and not being ones for breakfast just headed out for an hour or so at the pool. We then went to the restaurant for some lunch, just a simple club sandwich. When we went to pay they said there was no charge as we hadn't been down for breakfast. Such a lovely touch could only come from a familiy resort which cares about it's customers as individuals. They also brought us some bottles of water whilst we were waiting for our pick up and offered us a late check out at no charge. You rarely get service like that a larger chain resorts and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.1 mi away
Ayara Villas
Ayara Villas
#43 of 70 in Khao Lak
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sudala Beach Resort
Sudala Beach Resort
#54 of 70 in Khao Lak
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 70 in Khao Lak
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shambhala Khaolak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shambhala Khaolak Resort

Address: 67/62 Moo 5 | Khuek Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range: $72 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shambhala Khaolak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Shambhala Khaolak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing