We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but great little resort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Khao Lak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lah Own Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 48 Khao Lak B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Simple but great little resort”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I was spurred on to book this resort after all the great reviews I read on TA. I also wanted a place that was smaller and cosier, not a mammoth resort with a million rooms and faceless guests. We had a short stay in a high view superior suite, and had a lovely time. The rooms and bungalows are well spaced out and you hardly hear your neighbours.

Lah Own is situated about half a kilometre in from the main road so the only "noise" you hear is the crashing of the ocean waves onto the beach (which to me is a wonderful sound!). The pool is great for kids and adults alike - there is a shallow kids pool which is about 60cm deep. There are lots of loungers scattered around the pool, and on the grassy area next to the beach.

Although Lah Own appears to be a lone resort on its part of the beach, it's not isolated. There are heaps of restaurants and massage places just on the right side of the resort, right on the beach. Tiew Son does a great bbq fish, and Yimwhan Massage which is near the Bang Niang beach "creek" was particularly good - the older lady masseuse really knows how to get those knots out! We walked from the resort along the beach up to the southern end of Bang Niang beach and that took less than 10 minutes. We also walked from the resort into Bang La On village along the main road and that took about 15-20 minutes. A taxi from Lah Own to Bang La On will cost 100 baht and to Bang Niang will cost 150 baht.

Rooms are spacious and generally clean (although they seemed to forget to dust under the bed!). Really nice to sit out on the balcony with a drink. The free wifi is great. I thought the restaurant was average - the food was a little bland and the restaurant closes at 8pm so if you're feeling lazy and want to stay in for the night, you have to have an early dinner! Breakfast consisted of whatever type of cooked food you want (eggs, sausages, bacon, rice porridge, pancakes, etc) and a buffet table of cereal, toast, and fruit.

Overall we had a good stay and this place offers great value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank missduhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We have visited Lah Own both before and after the Tsunami and it today appears ever better than before. This year we stayed for almost 3 weeks. It is a rather small and very cosy 2-3 star resort situated in a vaste piece of land with a tropical garden and with Khao Lak national park in the background. The beach and the view from there are in our opinion the absolute best of all along the coast. The resort accommodates both couples and families with children, but there is despite of that almost always a quiet and tranquil atmosphere. There are plenty of sunbeds and a very nice infinity pool. The bungalows and rooms are very nicely furnished and with pleanty of space. The bathrooms (shower) are also well functioning with the most basic amenities. The resort is family owned and that you feel in the good way. The service is always very personal and the General Manager Mr. Pisit and the staff are very friendly and always willing to go that step extra. The breakfast is on a la carte basis, but they serve you whatever you ask. The restaurant as such is not something special, but you have plenty of opportunities along the beach so it does not become a problem. The restaurant do not serve wine this year, but due to the owner this will change from the 2012/2013 season. To take Lah Own to the next step would require more staff than today. They all work hard and have challenges from time to time. More staff would make a huge difference in this lovely and authentic resort. Despite of my last comment I will without no doubt give Lah Own my very best reviews. It is seldom that you find such a fantastic place in Thailand without the normal crowd and charter tourists. It is overall very good value for money. Try it out before it becomes to late would be my absolute recommendation. You won't regret. We are for sure back next winter again.

Room Tip: They are all great but the those close to the beach have the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ejaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here after checking out of Khao Lak Laguna early due to poor service. This resort is everything Laguna is not - the staff are friendly from the reception desk to groundskeepeers to housekeeping etc. The restaurant is great with reasonable prices, the rooms are good (we stayed in one of the beachfront bungalows), the beach has bars and restaurants very close by (go to Jims - excellent food and great service).

This was our 4th trip to Khao Lak and we've stayed in various hotels - this is one of the best resorts available

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PaulandTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Lah Own stands out as an even better bungalow hotel after the reconstruction. We had three holidays before the tsunami and was there for 4 weeks in March 2011. Mr Pisit (owner) and his staff do everything in their power to make you happy. There is no better and quieter place throughout Thailand. Very good restaurant, nice beach, nice swimming pool and very nice bungalow! We have had 16 holidays Thailand for the past 10 years! We will definitely return!
Greetings from Rune Johansen, Norway

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rune_johansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Enjoyed every minute of our stay, the staff from management right down to the grounds men are all brilliant couldn't do enough for us nothing was too much!!

Room Tip: Give it a try you won't be sorry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank M179261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
0.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#12 of 69 in Khao Lak
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.1 mi away
X10 Khaolak Resort
X10 Khaolak Resort
#2 of 7 in Khuk Khak
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Khao Lak Resort
Ramada Khao Lak Resort
#4 of 69 in Khao Lak
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lah Own Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lah Own Beach Resort

Property: Lah Own Beach Resort
Address: Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Khao Lak
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neueröffnung der Lah Own Khao Lak im Dezember 2010. (Zerstört bei Tsunami 2004). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing