We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Checked In during a public holiday. Check in wasn't exactly a good start with the receptionist looking bewildered and not having a record of our stay to hand. The actual hotel is new - but with this lacks a polished finish and the whole complex also has a lack of atmosphere to it. Villa rooms certainly aren't as large as portrayed. Reminds me of a thai butlins camp. Perhaps unfairly cutting our losses and leaving second day of a 6 day break - heading to Jw Marriott which is a real luxury for not much more ££

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina2012Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, is sorry that our property was not what you expected and has shared your concerns with our management team. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    310
    66
    18
    3
See reviews for
202
669
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

It's not often you have a holiday that accommodates to everyone's tastes and desires, this however was. With a 5 year old and a 9 year old on board this place had enough to keep us all happy. The resort was just beautiful, great facilities, great service, friendly staff who would go out of their way to help you. Although the food was exceptional at the resort there were also great local eateries to choose from. Darren the Guest Relations manager was a wealth of information on the area, and things to see and do. We loved the great shopping around Bang Niang market and even around Khao Lak village. You never felt pressured by the shop keepers, if anything they were quite happy to serve you. You could see the Thai people enjoyed having the children around and so it was with great regret to hear that the resort was changing to an adults only resort later in the year. We don't usually like to go back to the same place more than once, but Kantary Beach was just such a pleasant experience that if by chance management decide to keep it family oriented even for part of the year ie Mar-Nov, we will be back again and again!

Room Tip: The villas are perfect for a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, thanks you for your endorsement of our family oriented property and is pleased to know that your expectations were met. Your mention of our friendly and helpful staff, some by name and position, will be shared with them. Also your positive mention of the ambiance of the local market and village should be helpful to other readers. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were recommended to stay here by a friend and are so glad we took her advice to stay here. A week of doing very little is not hard at Kantary. Tu ,the Restaurant Manager is a credit to the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and he was always willing to offer advice on what we should do during our stay. Darren, Guest Relations was also a great help and a good source of advice when picking which Elephant Trek tour we were going to do. His suggestion for a restaurant in Khao Lak was spot on for a true Thai experience. The only downside is the organisation of the tours. There were no boards or signs to say when your taxi/tour bus had arrived. We missed a morning shuttle to Khao Lak because the tour desk and the driver did not know who was booked in for the transfer and no announcement was made to let guest know which bus was due to depart. The resort is changing from a family friendly to adults only later this year. This is because the European market has told the resort they want an adult only resort. We travelled as a couple but did not notice the large amount of families in the resort until dinner time. There seemed to be a lot for the kids to do and keep them occupied most days. Would thoroughly recommend this resort

Room Tip: Beachside villas are the way to go. So nice to open the curtains in the morning to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, thanks you for your positive recommendation of our property, after your recent week’s stay with us. Your mention of attentive, helpful, and friendly staff, by name and position, has been shared with them. Your return as a regular guest is looked forward to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley west midland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

A bit late in writing my review, My husband and i spent 3 weeks in a villa in January in Kantary beach. Brilliant hotel, our 3rd year running, cant say a bad word about the place, Darren the manager is brilliant always helpfull and the resturant manager always makes us feel really special. This is a very well run hotel nothing is too much trouble.The resturants are exxcellent and if you want a change there are beach resturants to try. If you want a nice relaxing holiday in a beautiful location then there isnt anywhere better. We will returning in 2014.

Room Tip: Didnt see the rooms, but spoke to many couples who were staying in them and they said they were love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcleod16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, looks forward to your return next year and thanks you for your favourable feedback, including mention, by name, of helpful management staff, which will be shared with him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here in a villa with our toddler and we all had a lovely time. The beach is amazing and the location of the hotel is really quiet. The rooms have all that you could need and it's great having the extra space of a living room with a child. The large fridge also really handy for keeping beers cold. All the staff were very friendly (except the towel guy who was distinctly miserable, which is very unusual for Thailand). The breakfast was great and there was a large selection of everything, loads of high chairs and kids cutlery etc. Darren the guest liaison chap was great and very helpful. It was really useful to have someone with perfect English as Thai is a very difficult language and sometimes its hard to get your message across.

The pools were lovely and the kids one was the perfect depth. The kids club was great and my little girl had a great time. This place is perfect for families, and that's why nearly all the guests have kids. I really couldn't recommend here for a couple, it really isn't that sort of place. Unless you're happy to have children around you a lot, but for a family I don't think you could do much better.

Room Tip: Get a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speed_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak is thankful for your positive endorsement and hopes to see you again soon. Your mention of attentive management and staff, by name is appreciated, and has been shared with them. Also other mention of staff will be shared with our team. Thank you for your informative review which should prove useful to other families planning a visit to the Phuket area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at kantary with our two daughters their husbands and 3 grandchildren.
We were delighted not only with the accommodation but the wonderful customer service by all staff members. A big thank you to Darren guest relations for his amazing help in arranging ambulance transport for our infant grand daughter to an international hospital in Phuket. His follow up and care was most appreciated.
The resort was so family orientated and the grand children could not wait to go to the children's disco and dance with the other children each night. The food at the resort was good but found the meals at white sands on the beach were cheap and beautiful.
We all enjoyed kantary cocktail hour where drinks were two for one each evening.
The rooms were well equipped modern and spacious and we could not have wished for more.
Please retain this resort for families ,we highly recommend it and if the opportunity still exists our family would return next year. Very satisfied Australian patrons.Thank you kantary.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wallydent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
The Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, thanks you for your positive review of your extended family’s stay with us and we look forward to your return. Your mention of attentive management staff, by name, is appreciated, and will be shared. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at Kantary this time last year and had such a great time we couldnt wait to go back again. We have just returned from another 12 night stay. If you are after great value for money, high standard accommodation, a beautiful uncrowded beach and entertainment for children then this is the place for you. The pools are lovely and 2 out of the 4 are shallow and ideal for small children. There is also a shade sail over one of the childrens pools making it even more comfortable in the heat of the day. The beach is picture perfect and as you are over an hour north of Phuket it is uncrowded and you are not hassled by sales people etc. We loved the food and staff at White Sand restaurant (just a short walk down the beach) and ate there most nights. The breakfast at Kantary is fantastic and we found the meals for lunch and dinner quite good too.
The villas are clean spacious and well serviced. The decor is modern and fresh and we loved the indoor bath/shower for the children and the outdoor shower for us. We had a beachfront Villa for part of our stay and believe it is well worth the cost to upgrade. The view is spectacular and looking out at the ocean made us all relax and enjoy our stay even more.
Darren from Guest services deserves a special mention for really looking after us. He was so attentive and whether we needed help choosing a tour, advise on where to eat in town or just general information about the resort etc he always seemed to be there at the right time to assist and was more than happy to help us and made our stay really enjoyable.

We were really disappointed to hear that Kantary may become an adults only resort as it currently caters for both couples and families very well. It would be a shame to change this.
If we are able, we would love to return with our family next year for an annual escape to this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
After your 12 night stay with us at the Kantary Beach, Khao Lak, we are happy to learn it was enjoyable and pleasant. Thank you for your mention, by name, of Management staff, who were attentive and helpful which will be shared with him. Your informative commentary should be useful to others planning a family stay with us at the Kantary Beach. Updates relating to the hotel concept will be posted on our website once available. Please contact me directly if I can be of further assistance at gm@kantarybeach-khaolak.com. We look forward to your return and thank you for your commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
764 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
534 reviews
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
6.0 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
1.4 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#10 of 69 in Khao Lak
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak

Property: Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
Address: 64, 65 Moo2, Kukkak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Khao Lak
#7 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the few remaining stretches of pristine beach in Phang Nga, just north of Phuket, the Kantary Beach is simply breathtaking. Comprised of elegant and modern suites and serene and private bungalows, the hotel fronts a stunning beach and is surrounded by lush, tropical foliage, two relaxing lakes and the hills of Phang Nga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing