We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay at Kantary Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay at Kantary Beach”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at Kantary Beach again for second time at end of September for a 3 week stay. Everything was absolutely great. The staff remebered us from last year and are so happy and friendly I cannot recommend them enough. Mr Tu is exceptional, he went out of his way to make our stay an extremely happy one. We were in a villa again and they managed to put us in the same villa as last year, which we expressed a preference for. Glad to be able to have dinner in the Similan restaurant this time, the food and service was really, really good.
We will be back soon - you can count on it!!

Room Tip: I would go for a villa at not a lot more than a suite. I just love the outside shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
After your 3 week stay with us at the Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak, your positive review of your stay as “Another fantastic stay at the Kantary Beach,” is appreciated. The staff members were thrilled to hear you kind comments referring to them by name. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    310
    66
    18
    3
See reviews for
202
668
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just returned from our second stay at Kantary and again had an excellent experience. Seen the place with some new insights and changes so will update things for you.
GETTING THERE. Try and fly Thai airlines, good quality and excellent service. We went EVA airlines and whilst seats Ok, the service in economy was very basic and despite being a daytime flight on way back, as soon as lunch was over, the cabin lights were put out, window shades drawn and cabin crew vanished! MAKE SURE YOU CHECK FLIGHT TIMES WITH DATES-DON'T FORGET THE TIME DIFFERENCE WILL CHANGE THE DATES!
LUGGAGE WEIGHTS - EVA are quite strict on weight limits- a TIP THOUGH Kantary has a washer dryer available next the the tailors shop 80 baht a wash so we washed half our gear half way through the holiday to wear again the next week. Cheaper than excess baggage fine!
HEATHROW CAR PARKING - We recommend and use PURPLE PARKING. Dead easy, reliable and secure excellent value.
WHEN TO GO. High season starts 1st November and more restaurants open up then. iF YOU WANT A VERY QUIET stay, try last 2 weeks of October moving into November. There were only 90 guests in place and often had pool / bar etc to ourselves. Weather was good, expect a shower a day around 3-5pm. maybe lasts 2--40 mins.
TRANSFERS. Relaible service via Hotel. Just email them with dates and times and flight numbers. Cost is 1800 baht eachway (£37) for a private minibus with aircon. Phuket to kantary beach is appx 1hr 15mins to 1hr 30 mins. fast out here is 55mph!
HOTEL. We stayed in a top floor suite this time instead of villa. Space is pretty much the same but no open air shower. One advantage is that when it rains ( IT REALLY RAINS) the balcony of the suites stays dry, the villa verandahs get soaked as only half covered.
EATING OUT / IN. We wanted to try and eat in town this time but weather was changeable and didn't fancy getting soaked on the scooter!. Again used the AO TONG beach restaurant a few times. Good value and service. If it rains there is nowhere to keep absolutely dry, unlike hotel.
We then ate most nights in hotel and discovered that cost of food was only about 15% more but quality and portion sizes far superior.
MENU TIPS -The Fish and Chips is superb, 3 peices of sea bass in light batter mmmmm!
If you are hungry the Chicken or Pork Cordon Blue is good and very filling as are the lamb cutlets. The spaghetti dishes are ok but not great and portion sizes smaller.A MUST HAVE DISH IS THE PRAWN PANCAKES. 4 large battered prawn circles 4 inches across each, very filling and great as a main with rice etc. Whilst the cafe andeman lacks some ambiance, they do now have some decent music in both the restaurant and bar.
BAR - Now has a Happy hour from 9.30-10.30pm when you get one drink for free though this has to be the same drink, even if another is the same price. The bar is a nice area, take mozzy spray as the lights attract the critters. Sometimes the staff don't put out the cushions on the cement seating and this sometimes lets the atmosphere down. They will get them if you ask, but it should be done automatically. A beer is about £2.20 in the bar, a cocktail around £3.90
The shop sells beer and spirits too. A large bottle of beer is 75baht, about £1.60, great for putting in the room fridge for later or taking to the beach. Wine is very expensive due to the import tax - basic caraffe in the restaurant was 700baht (approx. £14).
BEACH AND POOLS. There are loads of sun loungers and the hotel has a no lounger reservation policy now ( hooray!) Any items left on loungers before 9.30am are removed at 9.30am. The beach remains fantastic, we had 2 days with jelly fish , large 18 inch purple monsters, but the pool guys scooped them out the sea to make sea safe. The sea is walk in bath water warm- lovely!
There are now more kayaks to rent and are good fun. 80 baht for an hour £1.75 with bouyancy aids included.
Mr Tu, Restaurant Manager, was as great as ever and was busy opening up a KANTARY COFFEE shop in the town- go try it!
Another great coffee shop in town is the Stampfler? looks German but is run by Thais and coffee choice, food and cakes are great! Is on main street up some brown tiled steps and is airconditioned.
HOTEL TAILOR - EXCELLENCE TAILORS. Go and see LULU who will give you a very good deal and can tie in fittings before or after dinner which is more convenient than going into town. We ordered a second lot of clothes from him and nothing is too much trouble. TIP 1. make sure you are happy with the fitting of trouser legs and sleeves on jackets. Thais like a tight fit and we found our perfect fit was to add an inch onto their measurment in this area. The quality of jackets and the lining is excellent. The outside tailors will tell you that you will pay more in the hotel. YOU DON'T at Kantary and Lulu is very aware that his reputation is linked to the hotel.
We did speak to the tailor behind Ao Thong restaurant, but found he was both dearer and very very pushy to sell a deal to us. We didn't like the sales pressure so declined. A casual jacket should cost you around £70-80 and handmade shirts aroiund £20 each. Ties tend to be short- so ask for them to be longer.
MOTOR SCOOTERS - AGAIN.Just to clarify. SCOOTER RENTAL IS TOTALLY UNINSURED, AS YOU MAY BE. Check that YOU are covered against injury etc if you have an accident on one. We checked the small print. many travel policies do not cover you for riding a scooter so in an accident you could have a very expensive medical bill. Check the wording, some only cover you if you hold a UK bike licence. TRY MONEYESUPERMARKET MSC INSURANCE BY ROCK. We got an annual multi-trip plan including scooter cover and the highest cover and lowest excesses for £53. Avoid Thompson and Virgin.
WHERE TO RENT A SCOOTER AT KANTARY- Either from the tour desk, at £300 baht a day, or from the Friendly bar and restaurant on the Kantary Beach.( appx 100m down beach on your left) We were lucky and got a 10 day deal on a 1 day old bike for 2,200 baht (£44)
DO ASK AND WEAR HELMETS its the law. If you can get a helmet with a visor this will allow you to keep flying insects out your face when riding and also allow you to see if you have to ride through a rain downpoor. BIKE TIP! The Honda CLICK MODEL IS BOTH NIPPY COMFORTABLE AND HAS A USEFUL HELMET STORE UNDER SEAT.
When picking up a bike, check the tyres have lots of tread on and the brake leavers are not spongy. The back brake can be adjusted by turning the little nut clockwise with your fingers, on the spindle by the rear wheel hub. Make sure the tyres are pumped up for best stability especially if carrying a passenger. TOP UP TANK regularly if travelling further afield as petrol stations are few and far between the main towns. A full tank will cost you about £4!
Be safe and stay off gravel and mud especially in rain, and go easy on that front brake in the wet! The cars around khao lak are very bike aware and give a wide berth. Expect to be hooted at by lorries who are telling you they are there and coming past you.
Kantary Beach remains an excellent hotel with the friendliest staff you could want to meet anywhere and they welcome you with open arms if you go back. Hope you go and enjoy this great unspolied place.

Room Tip: If you can handle 40 steps and have asuite, go on top floor and request an end of block room. Should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grantlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Your positive endorsement of the Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak, after your second stay with us, as “second stay just as good” is appreciated. Your descriptive and informative review, from parking at Heathrow to renting and using a motor scooter in Thailand, will be very helpful to other readers planning to visit and stay at the Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak. We look forward to your next stay with us to “enjoy this great unspoiled place.” Thank you for your commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
285 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice beach resort, we stayed for a week in one of the beach sea front villa's.
Large bedroom, bathroom, outdoor shower and a living room with small kitchen.
Well maintained and clean.
Splendid breakfast, plenty of choise and realy nice quality.
Beach is nearby, as well as different swimmingpools.
Personnel is really kid friendly oriented and plenty facilities for kids.
The hotel is 10 minutes drive from the small city, there are some small beach restaurants at the right.
Only one negative point: the quality of the dinner food (which was à la carte) could be better.

Room Tip: This hotel/resort is for people with kids or for those who like to relax, there is nothing in the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel19721972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your positive endorsement of the Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak, after your one week stay with us, as “ideal for relaxing.”
Your positive review will be useful to other readers thinking of visiting the Khao Lak area. Only today we have opened an exciting new food and beverage outlet, Café Kantary, located in the centre of Khao Lak town only a short shuttle bus ride from the hotel.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Kantary Beach hotel at the end of September for six nights. We stayed in one of the villas which were very spacious and we managed to fit two adults, two kids and a baby although we could have gone a two bedroom apartment. From our arrival we found the staff very friendly and helpful even more so than we were used to in Thailand. The staff continued to be wonderful for the duration of our stay. Our children loved the pools of which there are four. As it was off season, the garden cafe and pool bar was closed but that didn't really affect us.
The food in the restaurant was really great and quite reasonably priced for a resort and you could walk along the beach to restaurants only a few minutes away which were even better value and amazing locations right on the beach. The breakfast at the hotel was fantastic and was fresh and didn't feel like a food court unlike some other places we have stayed.

The beach was really nice and quiet and the small waves were gentle enough for the 5 and 7 year old kids to play in although our kids are more used to a surf beach. You can walk along the beach in either direction and be on your own.

The resort is good 10 minute drive from Khao Lak and is quite isolated however this was a plus for us as we felt out of the hustle and bustle and were able to travel to Khao Lak for a market and shoppng one day. Overall we loved it, in particular all the staff who made the trip extra special, especially Beer and Poppy at reception.

Room Tip: The beachside villas are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julian_bartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Your endorsement of your 6 night stay with us, at the Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak, is very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to give us your feedback. Your positive mention of our staff, by name, is welcomed, as our team tries to ensure that guests are treated like family. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived here on a scoopon deal along with many other Aussie families in the off season. I was a little worried about the mixed reviews.....This place is unbelievable. Absolutely stunning. The staff are excellent, the food and drinks reasonable, and the beach paradise. We found a little place to the right if facing the beach called White Sands which was a great place to go for something different. Lovely guys working there. We also had massages here. When our son needed to go to hospital the staff were excellent organising a driver for us that stayed and helped us through the hospital system. Our favourite little place to eat in town is called restaurant 9, the guy who runs this place is called Beer! He is lovely. If the hotel had one lady offering massage on the beach during low season I bet she would be busy all day long....This would be the only thing stopping me from saying this place is perfection and we will be back next year. WE loved it...Maybe not charge a fee for the Canoes would be awesome.

Room Tip: Go a villa for sure....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Em O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Your endorsement of “Paradise” after your stay with us at the Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak, during the “off-season,” is welcomed. Your feedback will be very useful to other readers planning on a stay in Khao Lak. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Kantary Beach Hotel in February for one week and enjoyed our stay very much but with some reservations.
On arriving at the hotel our first view was of a massive crane which was not working in the high season. More and more suites are being built so this hotel could end up by being very large.
Once inside our comfortable and spacious villa the crane was not an issue. The accommodation is excellent and cannot be faulted. We especially liked the outside shower.
The gardens around the villas are not very attractive and need a lot of attention. Weeds are everywhere and this spoils the surrounding areas
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfasts were first rate, especially the crispy bacon.
This is basically a hotel for families with young children and high chairs are everywhere.It is an ideal environment for children and very good value. I am not sure it suits the older guests as much.
We dined at the Similan restaurant once and it was first class. Otherwise we ate out at the beach restaurants which were very reasonable and enjoyable. The beer is considerably as one would expect away from the hotel.
This hotel is ideal for a quiet holiday and the sandy beach stretches for miles. It is a little isolated but this suited us. We will return to Kho Lak again but probably to a different hotel.

Room Tip: A villa right alongside the sea is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Greetings from Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites, Khao Lak

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to hear that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. All your comments are greatly appreciated as we use all guest feedback to constantly improve Kantary Beach’s services and facilities to the highest standards and guest’s satisfaction.

With respect to your comments regarding the landscaping, please allow us to explain. During low season (April to October) our hotel like many others in the area, cuts back on certain facets of operation such as the number of gardeners. Due to the vastness of our property our current crew of gardeners were apparently unable to keep on top of their duties – hence the unsightly weeds. Thanks to your feedback this issue has been dealt with immediately. We sincerely hope you consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

As a family of 4 with two teenagers we decided to opt for two of the villa type bungalows for the 10 days we stayed, which wasn't much more expensive and proved excellent value for money. The beds were very comfortable indeed and the bathroom and outdoor showers were great. We have only just got back and were blessed with gorgeous weather whilst we were there - one bug bear (or is it bare!?) we had was that when it's that hot, it can be irritating not to be able to walk into a cool room as the air con is activated through the card key - but that is a very small issue as the air con works quickly and it does prevent people leaving it on all day when not in use I guess.
The title of this review is due to the fact that during this time of year, the resort is very quiet and we had the superb pool (there are two actually but we tended to use the ocean pool) to ourselves most of the time. You could also easily find an empty spot on the stunning beach. We were afraid the sea wouldn't be an option to us this time of year but all but 2 days we were there the red flags weren't up and we could swim in the sea and use the canoes and kayaks to break up the day. We were worried our usually very active kids would get bored (we had already spent 4 days in the busier Phuket area) but eventually they got used to a different pace and when a little restless as well as the canoes, used the table tennis and pool table and even the gym on a couple of occasions or we hired the bikes to go to the local shop - all in excellent order. They also used the free wi-fi available in the public areas which was pretty reliable.
All the reviews mention the great breakfast - good enough to go without lunch most days and the wonderful service you receive whilst here - the waitresses seem to remember all your little preferences and again this makes you feel well looked after. We did prefer to eat away from the resort in the evening - either down the beach or in the two nearby villages and didn't have a bad meal the whole time we stayed - some meals were exceptional. We sometimes took the shuttle but as a family of 4 it was cheaper for us to prebook a taxi - I didn't want to risk the mopeds as we saw a couple of tourist bike accidents despite it being low season. We took van type tuk tuks back (don't bother trying to negotiate these always cost 300 baht).
All in all, I would recommend Kantary Beach to other families - it was excellent value with superb service and we all had a really relaxing time. The resort buildings are a little clinical but they do what they say on the tin and the wonderful location more than makes up for this.

Room Tip: We didn't have beachside (a shame) and during the low season I would say it probably isn't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive recommendation of the Kantary Beach, Khao Lak. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your favorable comments about our staff, villas, breakfast, and the excellent value you found for families is greatly appreciated. Your commentary on the general atmosphere, facilities, the beach, local transportation and dining, and things to do for active kids will be of service to other families planning to visit Khao Lak.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your soonest return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
763 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
534 reviews
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
6.0 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
1.4 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#10 of 69 in Khao Lak
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak

Property: Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
Address: 64, 65 Moo2, Kukkak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Khao Lak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#7 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the few remaining stretches of pristine beach in Phang Nga, just north of Phuket, the Kantary Beach is simply breathtaking. Comprised of elegant and modern suites and serene and private bungalows, the hotel fronts a stunning beach and is surrounded by lush, tropical foliage, two relaxing lakes and the hills of Phang Nga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing