We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and high-design - A beautiful hotel”
Review of Casa de La Flora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa de La Flora
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had very high expectations of Casa de la Flora, based on its fantastic reviews and amazing photos. We weren’t disappointed – it is a great hotel, ideal for couples who prefer quieter holidays with lots of privacy.

In terms of accommodation, we had a duplex suites. These are located at the back of the resort, farthest from the beach. The suite was huge (in fact, the downstairs was probably a little too big and sparse!), and equipped with all the features you’d expect from a 5 star hotel – from the lovely products, to the gigantic bathtub, to the complimentary flip flops. Everything is done in a minimalist, high-design way. We loved the free mini bar (stocked daily with 4 beers, cans of drink, water and then followed by a mini sandwich and fruit in the afternoon), as it allowed us to make the most of the pool and facilities in our room without having to venture out if we wanted a drink. The only drawback of the duplex suites is that the pools are located beneath the upstairs balcony, making them shady for quite a lot of the day. The pool also felt quite enclosed as a result. I think if we had had the option, we would have gone for a cheaper studio room instead – as they seem more open, but still very private.

The continental buffet and a la carte breakfast could not be faulted. Excellent choice and service. We also liked that breakfast was served until 10.30am. We ate lunch a couple of times in the hotel restaurant (there is only one) and, while it’s lovely, it would be great to have a few more snack options on the lunchtime menu – and the same applies to the room service menu. Dinner was great – with a wide selection of Thai and European dishes – and the service good, with staff calling you by name and always being friendly and attentive. The food and drink prices reflect the fact that it is a 5* hotel, but it was still cheaper than other 5* resorts we have stayed in before. At all times

The beach is very nice – but not the most picturesque we've seen. The tide also comes a long way, so there’s often little beach. But the amazing beach beds go a long way to making up for this! The main swimming pool is beautiful, and the four sun loungers in the pool are lovely (if you can get one). The circular beds around the pool are also fun.

We were keen on going to a quiet hotel, but one that wasn’t isolated, so this was perfect. Around 150baht and a 10 minute taxi ride will take you into the main town (which is pretty commercial), or you can wander outside of the hotel to the convenience stores or to one of the bars or restaurants (these are pretty mediocre, but very cheap!).

We also went on a day-long excursion to Tachai Island for snorkelling - which was like stepping into paradise - with the most incredible turquoise sea and white sandy beach. This was arranged through the hotel, and we opted for the group trip (8500baht for two people). Make sure you enquire about the group trip - we were intially under the impression that the private trip was the only option, and that is double the price. The ticket included a fantastic Thai lunch, soft drinks, beer, sparkling wine and snorkelling gear.

If there was one criticism of Casa, it would be that the hotel could provide a little more comprehensive information about things like restaurant and bar opening times (and happy hours!), excursions, how to order taxis, local area info etc - but aside from that, a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsChil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Value Guests

First of all I would liek to take this opportunity to say thank you very much for your kind compliments for our hotel & facilities plus our friendly staffs - especial our La Aranya seaview & fine dinding resturant staffs.

I am very very ! pleased to read that your stayed at Casa De La Flora was a wonderful holiday in Khaolak - Thailand.

I note your satisfaction with our service, Resort’s facilities and I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Please rest assured that your complimentary comments will not create complacency, instead you have inspired us to maintain our level of service for valuable guests like yourself.

Mrs Chil, it was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Casa De La Flora.

With our warmest welcome

Shane ( rm@casadelaflora.com )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for Casa de La Flora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 500 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We've been to many seaside resorts the world over and CDLF tops it all.
I made my decision based on reviews and photos.
We enjoyed the very tip top service (we tipped so many ppl), our duplex pool room was the best we've stayed in and the little touches like welcome bouquet, milk bath, floral touches plus the excellent fittings made this a trip to remember.
We enjoyed the meals at the restaurant and most importantly, we felt relaxed and rejuvenated at CDLF.
We have since made enquiries to return to this slice of paradise. Alas, the room rates have increased by more than 15% and hence, we've decided to seek other locations in Khao Lak.
Thanks for the good memories.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haidersayuti88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Value Guests

First of all I would like to say thank you for your kind selected to stay at Casa De La Flora on your own accommodation while visited Khaolak - Thailand

I am very glad to read that you were enjoined your holiday at our hotel and give us a very positive compliment words as posted as in tripadvisor.

Your compliments words have been passed to our staffs to make them feel more confident to servicing our clients and our job is to make them happy with smiling during stay with us at Casa De La Flora.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind compliment and trust in our brand name.
Should you need any assistance or making a new reservation - please feel free and do not hesitate to contact me to get our best available rate offer.

All staffs and I are looking forwards to welcoming you back to our Design Hotel again in one day.

It's our pleasure to be at your service
Best regards

Shane ( rm@casadelaflora.com )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent 9 nights at Casa De La Flora and loved every minute. The hotel location was right on the beach which was exactly what we wanted. It was surrounded by other tourist resorts however the local markets and shops were not too far from a pleasant walk through the local roads. The apartment was very modernised and spacious. It was lovely to come back to treats left in the room during the day from fruits to cakes to sandwiches. One negative about the apartment would have to be that our private pool did not have a heating system in place. We were not able to make the most of the private pool as the water was not as warm as we'd prefer it to be. The food at the restaurant was of a very high standard and each meal was a delight with such friendly staff.

The spa had a good variety of treatments and provided much satisfaction from the black seed oil body scrub, asian body massage and mud body wrap we indulged in. The excursions provided were decent and we were well looked after during each excursion. Majority of the excursions were for touring rather than activities. I would personally recommend going to the Similan islands which was beyond beauty with its white sand and crystal clear water. We were very sad to leave and would recommend anyone whose looking for a relaxing holiday to go to Casa De La Flora as you will be looked after.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Value Guests

First of all I would like to say "thank you" for your stayed at Casa De La Flora during recent visited Khaolak - Thaniland !

I am very pleased to read that you enjoined stay with us and give us a very good compliments for our Hotel's service and facilities. Unfortunately, we have not provide any warm water at out-door pool due to the design concept for Hot Zone country.

Please accepted our sincere apologize for any inconvenience may cause you during stayed with us.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind selected our Hotel and we all are looking forwards to have you here again on your own holiday in Thailand.

It's our pleasure to be at your service
With my best regards

Shane ( rm@casadelaflora.com )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were there in January 2013 for one week with a 6 month old baby. Going there, we were looking for a 5 star boutique hotel (european 5 star standard), and that is definitely what we've got, with an additional smile !
- Overall, the hotel is pricy, but it is definitely worth it, especially because you get a real 5 star service. Here I'm not refering to Thai hospitality which seems to be wide spread and is already in itself nice, but about service standards. As an exemple, between others, we had to call at midnight because an exterior light of the villa was casting light in the room and we did now how to turn it off. We got a technician, 5 min later, very aware that was late and not wanting to disturb. He realised there was no switch found, so he just managed to unplug the light the next minute from the outside. Otherwise, in restaurant, service is very present, but they did not make you fill like it's too much, it seems very natural.
- The great feature is the room, with the villa. What you get is what you see on the hotel picture (even if hotel photos are always magnified). The villa is really nice, features are great, and very important for us, there is a great attention to details. I do not recompt the supposed luxury hotel we've been that cannot have a decent warn light in the room. He light is well managed, and gives the room a very nice atmosphere. Overall, you can say design here is at its best, the form does not deserve usage. Beds are impressive, and almost make the room small, as it is true the side space is not tha big. Matress and linen is excellent.
- resort in itself is not very big, that is a boutique hotel, not a large resort with plenty of restaurants pools and everything... but when you have your own villa with pool why care :) In the know : the infinity pool is great, not crowded as most rooms have pools and still good to go for a change. Restaurant is nice, as mostly outside on grass, it is not very big, and while the inside table are in a very open room, it is really noce to be outside, so probably not to good in rainy season. Spa is very good standard, though expensive for thailand. Food in the restaurant is quite good, but not so many thai dish (that could be improved actually). Beach is good, but do not expect to put your towel on the sand because (depending on the tide) the sea level goes really close to the hotel. However on the front, just below the beach villas you have nice sunbeds on a concrete alley just on the beach. Water in quite shallow for 50 meters, so if you're scared swimming without touching the bottom thats perfect for you.
- Regarding to the baby, we got a nice cot, but the great thing was the staff. Each time we went for diner or breakfast they took care of her for part of the meal, so that we could enjoy it, and mostly you felt because they were happy to see her. More importantly, they did not make you feel being in the wrong place, in this hotel were we definitely only saw couples - Note that baby was not crying to much which helped. Only minor downside, rooms in the beachfront pool villa are not that big to put a baby cot, but that ok, better to choose beachfrony suite villa with the living room.
Overall, there are very few hotels I've been to, I'd really like to put 5 out 5 note on tripadvisor, this definitely one them.

Room Tip: rooms with beachfront are definitely the greatest
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babelrepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Deaer Value Guest

Thank you for your kind compliment and feedback on your last visited & stay at Casa De La Flora Khaolak - Thailand

We are glad to read & hear that you have enjoyed our Design Hotel (Boutique) and especially the friendly service provided by our team and that the issue at night was quickly solved. Please accept our apologies again for any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Casa De La Flora shortly again.
It's our pleasure to be at your service,


Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 5 nights at the end of a holiday touring Vietnam & Cambodia, with the idea of a little recuperation before heading back to the real world. It really did live up to our expectations.

The hotel has been well designed and with being small and quiet, lends itself to being just the place we needed to relax. Our room was upgraded to one of the duplex suites which was amazing and whilst set further back, still allowed a partial sea view from the upper balcony, with our own private plunge pool downstairs.

The staff were incredibly attentive, friendly & always keen to help. The dining facilities offered a wide range of Oriental & Western foods. Although we ate at the hotel several nights, there are also a choice of more modest restaurants a short walk away.

We also made use of the spa which had a great choice of treatments available, as well as the large sunbeds on the lovely clean beach.

The only downside would be that the choice of local trips available from the hotel were bit limited & quite expensive compared to other local offerings.

If heading back to that area of Thailand again. This hotel would definitely be at the top of our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Value Guest

Thank you very very much for taking time sharing your experience during stayed at Casa De La Flora - Khaolak, Thailand.

I am very glad to read that your enjoined your stay and giving us very positive comment and compliments. All staffs and I are very glad to make our Value guests satified, even only a few days !

All staffs and I are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Khaolak again in one day.

Once again, thank you very much for trusting in Casa De La Flora service.
It's is our pleasure to be at your service & make you smile


Shane rm@casadelaflora.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've spent 5 days at this hotel in march 2012 and it was just amazing. We had the duplex suite which was one of the best suites I've ever been to. The staff was very kind and well skilled. Also the cuisine was on a high level , you could have international dishes as well as traditional dishes which are both served in a quite nice way.
As you can read, I can only recommend that place and i hope that I'll have time to come back in 2013.

Room Tip: You can't get a bad room at this place. Every room is just amazing.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Value Client

First of all I would like to say thankl you for your kind compliments and taking time sharing your experience during your recent visited to Casa De La Flora - Khaolak, Thailand.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoined your stay and the friendliness of our service staffs, all compliment words will curtainly motivated them.

All staffs and I are very glad to make our guests smile, even just only a few days that we have a chance to service you and I am hoping that you will be coming back to Khaolak again in the near future.

Once again thank you for your kind compliment words.
With our best regards

Shane rm@casadelaflora.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went to this hotel specifically to chill out and do nothing much after 2 weeks of pretty intense sight-seeing in Burma. It absolutely allowed us to do that and we loved every aspect of it. We had a duplex suite, not on the front but from which you could see through to the sea. There was a huge amount of space, a vast and very-comfortable bed, a private plunge pool, huge TVs with top technology and we genuinely felt very lucky to be there. The restaurant staff were great - warm and thoughtful and we really enjoyed the experience of a magical New Year's Eve dinner served up in a fun way. All the food and drink was superb and we didn't bother going anywhere else. The sea is right there and it is lovely to sit at a table and watch the sunset, perhaps after using the very beautiful infinity pool. We also indulged in a couple of spa treatments which were first-class. It completely satisfied our need to relax

The only reason why I haven't given this 5 stars does relate to the technology. It really has been designed to be very high-spec but that means that when it does go wrong you have to call out a hotel engineer. We had to do that a couple of times when the lighting had all 'frozen' of the wi-fi vanished and the computerised system had to be reset. They came very fast to do this and were really helpful but I think this might be something that happens a fair bit. But by no means did this spoil our experience

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brainyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Value Clients

I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Khaolak - Thailand

I am glad to read that you were very happy while stayed at Casa De La Flora and I am grateful to you for informing us about the high technology defect and we are now working very hard to run the preventive plan to ensure that all Tech will be working in good condition as expected.

Please rest assured that appropriate training and action plan has been taken with our room attendant and our Guest service staffs to ensure this mistake does not happen again or will be solving immediatly.

It was unfortunate that such an incident occur during your stay with us. We hope that it will not deter you from choosing to comeback to stay at Casa De La Flora in the near future.

Once again, Thank you very much for your value comments KRUB!
With our warmest regards

Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#15 of 70 in Khao Lak
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
2.4 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
6.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de La Flora

Address: 67 / 213 Moo 5, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#19 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: $215 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de La Flora 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de La Flora, one of the best new hotels by Conde Nast Traveller’s Hot List 2012 is located directly on the beautiful, palm-fringed beach of Khao Lak, just one-hour drive by car from Phuket International Airport. This ultimate design resort with stunningAndaman views as well as its friendly service warmly welcome visitors from across the globe. We are proud of being the first modernist hideaway in Khao Lak, presenting cutting-edge architecture and unique design amid tropical nature. Whether you’re looking for a romantic hideaway or a luxury holiday experience, Casa de La Flora is definitely a perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa de La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Flora Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing