We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What an experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de La Flora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de La Flora
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“What an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We were lucky to be able to afford a stay at the Casa de la Flora due to a special last minute offer.
The stay was indeed crème de la crème.
From the pick up at a resort in Krabi to the check out it was just what one would expect from a Luxury Design Resort.
Everything is very exclusive.
Our accommodation in a beach front pool suite villa offered all the comfort one can ask for.
As a result of the architectural design it is possible to watch the starry sky at night from the bed and wake up at dawn overlooking the Andaman Sea.
Enjoying the sunsets while sipping the delicious cocktails with unusual exotic names (other than the standard names) could make you an addict to this resort.
The Restaurant is top notch.
The kitchen offers superb food, which is not only presented beautifully but also tastes delicious.
The F&B Manager, Pok, and his crew provide excellent service.

We also tried the newly opened IngFah across the road, which also appears in a very futuristic design.
Another experience to remember.
I can fully recommend the Casa de La Flora, especially for adults who seek privacy in a relaxing luxurious environment.
We find that the resort is not suitable for children from age 2 upwards.

Room Tip: beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear bbt7,

We were also lucky to be able to had you here with our last minute offer :)

Thank you very much for your nice review here, we all happy to know that your staying with us was an enjoyable one. "Exclusivity" is one of our main philosophy and we are pleased that you appreciate that. We has shared your comment to Pok personally and, of course, he is more than happy to realized that you mentioned him particularly.

We also would like to thank you for dropping by to our newest outlet IngFah. We have a very good feedback since we open for only one week.

Once again thank you very much and we look forward to your re-visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    62
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
319
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fittleworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Lovely friendly staff,modern hotel design with all mod cons in rooms apple tv,coffee machine ,free mini bar ,food in restaurant was delicious and not too expensive.
On a lovely clean beach,we where there for new year and a lovely gala dinner with entertainment thai dancers ,live music ,fireworks ,chinese lanterns ,and amazing array of all sorts of food we danced the night away under the stars..

Room Tip: get a room with a pool if you can !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelina688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Angelina688,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during new year celebration. We all glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay and left us with memorable experience.

We do hope to see you back here again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in the beach front villa suite 2115. Casa de la flora exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived the service and property were exceptional. It has been carefully thought out, as to what a guest would like and all comforts are provided. We really enjoyed the plan out and modern, yet comfortable architecture. Although it is minimalist and sleek nothing is missing from this hotel and it is most unique, from the suites all throughout the property. We particularly were impressed by the state of the art in room technology, the free Mimi bar and beach cabanas. We participated in a tour that was well organized and although expensive was worth every cent. We also used the hotel private transportation, again very clean and well organized.
There are only 2 things that need to be improved...the lack of privacy of the toilet area, which is only separated from the bathroom area by a glass door! Although it is a minor point, the room needs to have some drawers installed in the wardrobe, we found this a little annoying for storage.
Lastly, we would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxuryaddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Luxuryaddicted,

It is nice to hear that your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one for you, thank you very much for choosing us and for your lovely review. Apart from positive points, we also take your constructive comments into our consideration and will work out some possibly solution accordingly.

Once again, thank you very much indeed and we all look forward to welcoming you back here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

The setting is just splendid: anyone walking along the beach will stare at that splendid property, which is so cleverly and tastefully designed, extremely modern, and yet, a perfect fit to that beach front of Khao Lak. Located at the end of a small back street, it's also very quiet, extremely relaxing. The rooms are great, again, outstanding design, creative, modern....I love the Apple TV at both levels of the rooms (I was in a pool duplex), I also love the combinaton of concrete and very warn wooden walls or ceilings, it feesl really great. Even light switches are smart, with a great lightning atmosphere. Whichever room you stay, there is a view at the sea.
A big minus: hard to imagine that such a splendid property is using such noisy and cheap airconditonning system, we had to switch off the aircon upstairs and rely on the one of the first floor to avoid that lousy, loud noise, a real lack of tatste considering how the property looks like overall.
The beach front is also great, with fantastic day beds.
Staff is friendly overall, but not always, but it's ok.
Food is relatively average, especially the breakfast, exactly the same small buffer 3 days in a row, not really creative, also something I did not really enjoy - my friend and I went dinner outstid every day, relatively poor choice
Still, in Khao Lak, difficult to find a better place... but you need to pay for it..
In other words; very likely to go again, except for those few details....

Room Tip: All rooms are great, also depend upon the budget you have... the beach front pool villas are not che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc-PhilippeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Casa de la Flora is an exquisitely well designed hotel in the modernist school. Clean architectural lines are complemented by beautiful plantings, and every room is perfectly sited for privacy, from studios to theGrand Pool Suite where we stayed. Even with all that, I can still say architecture was the least of it; the staff was attentive without over-doing it and were so honestly kind and professional, from dining room and housekeeping staff to Jowell, the refined concierge and to the spa staff, that we left with new friendships. The food offering was diverse and exceptionally delicious. There wasn't a single displeasing dish on a menu that spanned traditional Thai, fusion and even Italian...and a full breakfast prepared to order was included with the room rate. We're going back next year!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Rosemary-NY,

Thank you very much for your recent staying with us and for taking your time left the comment here in Tripadvisor. We all happy to know that you have left us with a memorable experience and plan to come back next year.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

A piece of paradise. Good staff. Good service. Very comfortable. The design and the technology at the room are really impressive. Apple computers, hi-end climat control etc. Little bit expensive, but I' d like to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K0nstantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear K0nstantin,

Thank you very much for your recently staying with us and for taking your time left this nice review about us here. We are all happy to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to your returning in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this resort based on the design concept alone. The remote location (1hr 15min from Phuket International Airport) was not of much concern particularly since the resort provided transportation.

Size and location...
I would characterized it as small to medium size resort. It is located just a few minutes from Khao Lak and there are other restaurants and resorts on both sides and nearby. So you don't feel isolated, but the whole area is a bit of a sleepy town. So, if you're looking for any kind of night life... forget about it. When talking to some of the resort staff they were also complaining about the area being too quiet and not having anything fun to do in the evening. Since we were looking for quiet R&R time lack of night-life was not an issue. Our problem was the opposite... We expected the resort to be isolated (off the beaten path) from the rest of the town/village, which was not the case. So a bit disappointed on that front.

Villas & Service...
The villas' design was cutting edge, which compensated somewhat for the rather small size of the living area. We booked a beachfront suite pool villa which is about 1075 sq ft including the outside area. Which means that the inside space was less than 800sq ft out of which 300 was the bathroom.

The living room was small with a built in sitting area which was very uncomfortable. we never sat in that room -not even to eat. However, it was the only part of the villa that stayed cool throughout the day.

The bedroom was good size but because of its orientation it would not stay cool in the afternoon making sleeping impossible (outside temperature 33C inside 28C - 29C!!!). The bedroom would not cool to a more acceptable 25C until after midnight most of the nights.
There was a narrow strip of glass on the was to the side of the bedroom with a strobe light right outside it. The light stayed until after 2am, so if you like a complete darkness when you sleep, forget about it. Again, it wasn't a big issue for us, so we didn't complain about it.

The bathroom was huge with a big tub (easily fit 2 people). However, you couldn't fill it properly because the hot water ran out before it was full to an acceptable level.

The technology at the room was quite impressive but the staff didn't seem to understand it any better than we did after 7 days of staying there.

The rooms were cleaned properly every day.

Food
The resort has only one restaurant. The breakfast was actually quite good. However, the lunch and dinner menu, lacked direction and we found most choises quite blant and unimpressive. Furthermore, half the descriptions were inaccurate. For example, their chicken tortilla is described as chicken strips wrapped on a tortilla with salsa, guacamole, and cheese. When I order it it came with some cold raw peppers and some unidentified sauce, which I still say it was ranch dressing. Other dishes were supposed to come with mashed potatoes and the came with rice... you get the picture.

I think in their effort to please everyone, they please no one. I would recommend the nearby restaurants.

We opted for a package that included a set menu dinner... BIG MISTAKE! The set menu was really limited and again blant and boring!

The service at the restaurant was willing but unable to deliver. They could not get our bill right a single time. They would always miss something. Also, if the restaurant was crowded, an infrequent occassion, they would forget or mess up orders. Having said that, the servers were very sweet and you could see that they were trying hard.

Overall Impression
We left Casa de la Flora with mixed feelings. We liked the staff at a personal level and we loved the minimalist design, but we expected a lot more for $765/night. I doubt that we will be returning there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Alex G,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your recent holidays and sharing your experience with us.

There are some constructive comment in your review and we worked and are working hard to improve as much as we can. For example, we called our supplier to install new version of the software for the air condition system, re-scheduled lighting timer, revised menu description, re-trained staff of in-room technology, etc.

We do hope to have a chance to serve you next time and all look forward to your re-visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 65 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#8 of 65 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
2.4 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
#10 of 65 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Haven Khao Lak
The Haven Khao Lak
#18 of 65 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de La Flora

Property: Casa de La Flora
Address: 67 / 213 Moo 5, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#19 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de La Flora 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de La Flora, one of the best new hotels by Conde Nast Traveller’s Hot List 2012 is located directly on the beautiful, palm-fringed beach of Khao Lak, just one-hour drive by car from Phuket International Airport. This ultimate design resort with stunningAndaman views as well as its friendly service warmly welcome visitors from across the globe. We are proud of being the first modernist hideaway in Khao Lak, presenting cutting-edge architecture and unique design amid tropical nature. Whether you’re looking for a romantic hideaway or a luxury holiday experience, Casa de La Flora is definitely a perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa de La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Flora Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing