We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place”
Review of Mars Bar

Mars Bar
Ranked #17 of 319 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: You can't miss Mars Bar it's the bright orange building with the massive smiley face sign on the edge of the main road 200 meters down from the 7-11 at Bang- Niang market just past the TMB bank.You will always find a warm welcome cold beer and delicious home made English style pub grub. Mars Bar now offers an ELECTRIC MOBILITY SCOOTER for rent at very reasonable rates for our older and disabled customers.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Mars the owner goes out of his way to make people feel welcome. Beers are slightly more expensive here than other places (about 15 baht more) but worth it for the friendly service and opportunity to meet interesting people. Mostly frequented by ex-pat dive boat instructors and the like. They also do English style food - pies, burgers, etc - but I didn't try any.

2  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars58, Manager at Mars Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi there thanks for your review i'm pleased you enjoyed the cold beers and being Australian i would have thought you would have tried our fresh pie selection, maybe next time.
Thanks again Mars and Maem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 250 of 324 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

I just got back from 17 day trip to Thailand, most of which was spent in Khao Lak (most of that was spent in Mars Bar). Mars (the owner) is one of those people whom you feel like you have already known for 20 years from the moment you shake his hand. He is incredibly charismatic, friendly and hospitable; meeting him is a positive experience in itself. He and his team of lovely Thai girls run the place with clockwork efficiency and a smile.

The food and drink are very good value for money. On Mondays and Thursdays there are boys and girls nights respectively where drinks are further discounted. Everyone is able to take advantage of this on both nights regardless of your gender but there is a slight twist involved if you're a boy on girls night and vice versa. You'll have to get down there to find out more ;)

The food is an interesting fusion of English and Thai with some old English favourites and a full Thai menu on offer, served from 9am(ish) right the way through to closing time. Additionally there is a book exchange section, dart board, large screen projector TV and rooms available for rent upstairs which, unfortunately I didn't get to see because they were fully booked.

Overall the place is well worth a visit if you are in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mattwebb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars58, Manager at Mars Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hello there wow what a brilliant informative review thank you ,,the girls are fantastic plus they learnt to cook English style very quickly in fact some nights they don't let me in the kitchen at all,Maem is just making a big batch of Masamaan curry ready to go into pies later.
Thanks again ,cheers Mars and Maem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Where to start. Mars bar is English owned and run and delivers on every front. From the moment you walk in you are made to feel welcome and the place just instantly makes you feel comfortable and like you are home. The food is exceptional and offers a great choice in good quality, low cost English favourites all home made and has yet to disappoint in the countless meals I have had there.
The drinks on offer are great value and with events like boys and girls nights you are always in for a deal.
The best thing about this place though is the owner Mars, he is always entertaining, charismatic and helpful with absolutely anything. The place also offers books for trade which is perfect if you want something new to read as there is always something interesting to pick off the shelves and without doubt is one of the best bars anywhere not just in the area or Thailand. Get your arses down and enjoy a great breakfast, lunch or dinner or come in late and get weird on the crazy fisher mans friends shots. We love you Mars!!

3  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars58, Manager at Mars Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Hello, firstly thanks for your super review it is received in the spirit it was given cheers .We've just had lots of new books kindly donated by customers so next time you're passing pop in for you favorite cheese burger with onion rings and have a browse at our book collection.
Thanks again love Mars and Maem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The owner of Mars Bar, an Englishman by the name of Mars, is a terrific character. He was more than happy to let us trade books (he has an extensive collection), the food is generally excellent, he makes his own special variety of Fisherman's Friend-flavored shots, and he can find just about anything you need. He also gave us a ride to the bus station outside of town - nearly an hour out of his way, simply because we'd been asking about taxis. He cultivates a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere at his bar, and it's a great place to meet people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Niko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars58, Manager at Mars Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hey there good to get your review i assume you're back home now, i trust you had a great time at Thon Sai beach and i'm allways glad to help people in what ever way i can.
Take care and thanks again for the review,it was a pleasure to meet you .
Cheers Mars and Maem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have visit this place several times before and it's a great place for snacks, drinks and meeting great people. If you are travelling alone you should not miss this place. It has a lot of friendly "locals" that are easy to get in touch with.

The owner "Mars" is a great and funny guy that has a lot of good food on the menu. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Khao Lak

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jimZon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars58, Manager at Mars Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hi there thanks for your review, we've been very busy since your visit here it's a great season so far and we have just introduced Home made Cottage Pie to our menu and it's a hit allready.
Hopefully we will see you again next year just look for the smiley face.
Thanks again Mars and Maem .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mars Bar also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khuk Khak, Khao Lak
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Mars Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing