We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overrated on tripadvisor”
Review of Mars Bar

Mars Bar
Ranked #53 of 279 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: You can't miss Mars Bar it's the bright orange building with the massive smiley face sign on the edge of the main road 200 meters down from the 7-11 at Bang- Niang market just past the TMB bank.You will always find a warm welcome cold beer and delicious home made English style pub grub. Mars Bar now offers an ELECTRIC MOBILITY SCOOTER for rent at very reasonable rates for our older and disabled customers.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Forgot our order. Homemade pizza looked like something from 7/11. Water was warm. Don't go there for the food, maybe the beer is cold.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rejsebuddy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars58, Manager at Mars Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hi there i,m very sorry things were not to your liking on your visit to Mars Bar but on looking at your comments about " warm water" we only use quality ice made from drinking water so you could have had ice in your water .I was ill at the time of your visit and the mix up on your order was just communication, sometimes my staff do not quite understand all English especially when spoken by non British visitors so i do apologise . Thanks anyway for your review constructive criticism is always appreciated.
Cheers Mars and Maem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Mars Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 243 of 309 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent, owners are very friendly. Sure to return if we go back to Khao Lak. My kids even had a little attempt at art. Good idea to keep them busy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars58, Manager at Mars Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Happy new year and thanks for your great review the paper and crayons have kept children of all ages occupied for many hours and what a good way to decorate the bar we've got some excellent pieces of art now.
Thanks again for your review . Cheers Mars and Maem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were met at the airport by a car sent by our hotel. The driver was called Samaan and we asked him about Mars Bar which was No 1 on Trip Adviser at the time. He said Mars was a good friend of his and he would take us straight there if we wanted....well why not? Mars' wife greeted us and we soon were sipping a cool beer. Mars arrived shortly afterwards and greeted us warmly and told us his story (he must have done this a thousand times but shows no sign of boredom in re-telling). He enthused about various themes that would be held at Mars Bar during the week we would be staying. We came back twice - once for a break from Thai food - Mars was happy to adapt his menu and do a "Chilli Cheese-Burger" for me and I enjoyed the BEST chilli I have ever had in my life. There was also an Australian chap playing guitar on this Tuesday evening "acoustic guitar at sunset" which was really cool, especially when another guy at the bar did a couple of songs too. The other night we just enjoyed some beers and playing cards. It is a very relaxed atmosphere with a range of clientelle from young backpackers to those sporting grey beards and hair, but whatever your age it is a good place to go and have some good English food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vaughan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars58, Manager at Mars Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

First of all Happy new year to you , thanks for your wonderful review we love it when people come back a few times during their holidays and enjoy our cold beers different theme nights and of course our very British food ,i'm going to start making a chilli beef burger with you in mind so next time i won't have to take your order i'll just serve you up your favorite.
Cheers Mars and Maem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Only managed one visit but my wife got a hug from Marcel just for being there and the atmosphere was welcoming and laid back.
Had to come here at least once given all the "oh my gods" "out of this worlds" "truly amazing" posts, but on the back of all that hyperbole it was easy to feel a little let down by the place (initially,) so perhaps a good idea to temper your expectations a little before going.
Ironically having said that, after two weeks of lemon grass and chilli we were gagging for some comfort food and Mars' chicken pie chips and peas with gravy really was the best we've ever had!
Anyway thats as gushing as I'm gonna get, so if you're in KL, definately give Mars a visit, cool place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars58, Manager at Mars Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Hi there firstly i loved your review thanks very much and i'm so pleased you enjoyed and wrote about our home made chicken pies and chips,you're so right in that we all love Thai food but you can't beat a bit of proper comfort food .
Thanks again and we hope to see next time.
Cheers Mars and Maem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Mars Bar and Cafe is not hard to spot , just look for the big trademark yellow smiley face out front on the main road. On entering you will be greeted by Mars and his lovely lady Maem, the most friendly mine hosts that I have come across in over 40 yrs of visiting eaterys and bars around the world. There is something for everyone here , Mars has a vast array of exciting homemade meals and snacks that don't hurt the hip pocket, his homemade Pizza and Pies are my favorite. The beers are icy cold and you meet some very friendly and interesting ex- pats and seasonal surfers and dive industry workers, as well as many holiday makers and Mars has some "interesting" theme nights. Great place to sit, relax and sip a coffee/beer and chat. Any questions about the local area and Mars will be able to inform/help you as he has extensive local knowledge. When in Bang Niang/Khao Lak you shoud not miss the oportunity to visit this very unique establishment. Do youself a favour and try one of Maem's "Massaman Pies" . One word can describe Mars Bar and Cafe, Awesome !!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Grant Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mars58, Manager at Mars Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thanks mate ,firstly thanks for visiting Mars Bar every day, we look forward to serving you fresh ground coffee and ice cold beer,and secondly thanks for a great review,Maem is making fresh Masaman pies today
Cheers Mars and Maem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mars Bar also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Mars Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing