We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boat with even better staff”

Oktavia Dive Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oktavia Dive Center offer scheduled and chartered diving and snorkeling cruises to the Similan and Surin Islands located in Southern Thailand. Our dedicated liveaboard vessel MV OKTAVIA is one of the largest boats cruising these waters, allowing our guests plenty of room and comfort while discovering one of the most beautiful and fascinating marine areas in the world. Visit our Website for full information on this seasons schedule and prices!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent 4 days/ 4 nights on MV Oktavia April 2014. Allthe staff were wonderful, great guides and instructors. The food was excellent and the captain was truly skilled - dropped us onthe mark every time and never missed a beat picking us up. We did a couple of great beach trips, had some awesome educational talks by Ric Parker on Manta Rays - and saw so much sea life it was incredible. Too many things to list here but the highlight was swimming with Mantas!!!

The boat is big, but they take maximum 20 people and usually less- plenty of room and privacy - but also heaps of fun and social activities.

Thanks to Branko, Ric, Tom and Ray - it was awesome.

I can't recommend the boat highly enough.

Ben & Amber

1  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVOktavia, Manager at Oktavia Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Hey guys and thanks for the review especially the header “Great boat with even better staff” :)

Our captain has many many years experience in the Similan Islands and comes from a Royal Thai Navy background so his skills are pretty good!

There are 30 beds on board but we limit guests to just 20 so everyone should get the sleeping arrangements they request and it never feels crowded.

Thanks again guys and you know where we are for next time :)

The MV Oktavia Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Oktavia Dive Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 164 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

First off, the Similan and Surin islands are truly among the wolds best dive destinations. What you'll see underwater absolutely will amaze you. Oktavia is the right way to get there. I am a very well traveled dive instructor and I am hard to impress. The whole Oktavia operation honestly blew me away. Top notch customer service throughout. Inquiry e-mails were answered very quickly and thoroughly. The transfer from the airport to the office and then the ship was seamless. The vessel itself is comfortable and roomy, and the 4 diver max per group creates an intimate experience in the water. If you have the chance to dive with Tom I recommend it. He did a wonderful job of guiding us around the various sites. He was eager to share his enthusiasm about the underwater world at all times of the 5-day trip. The rest of the crew were always smiling and just as eager to ensure our trip was what we wanted. I have dived with other liveaboards in the Similans and from start to finish Oktavia's crew set her above the rest. For the price you cannot do better.

Thank wanderingshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVOktavia, Manager at Oktavia Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Great review WanderingShep, thanks :)

The fact you have dived Similans liveaboards in the past and we rated number is great to hear as we work hard to ensure it's the best you can possibly have. Tom is a great instructor/guide and his vast knowledge is excellent..

Thanks again guys and we hope to see you in the future,

The MV Oktavia Crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The crew is very professional and they know really a lot about marine life. I learned so much during my five day cruise. Allthough the conditions were challenging at times, I felt safe all the time.
The boat is comfortable and functional + food is delicious.
All in all excellent trip!

1  Thank Marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVOktavia, Manager at Oktavia Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you Marianne L for the superb review :)

Our main priority is safety (with fun a close second) so this is excellent that you felt this the entire time.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon,

The MV Oktavia Crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just returned from 5 nights on MV Oktavia.

Crew is very friendly, trustworthy and helpful with gear, the captain is ex Thai Navy captain so felt in good hands. Of the four dive guides my group had Tom Schwericke. Tom is a top bloke and guide, certainly taught me allot as I am pretty green to diving. All guides are very enthusiastic, Tom said he completed 7000+ dives and he is still very passionate about the sport.

Accommodation is good value, an older lady cooks 4 meals a day so always well fed.

Was able to increase my skills with available courses while at sea and meet new people.

Full life on the corals with highlight swimming with Manta ray and a Whale Shark at the same time.

Tim Forward Western Australia

Thank tmforwardaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVOktavia, Manager at Oktavia Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hi tmforwardaustralia and thanks for this excellent review :)

Yes, our captain has many years of experience of boats, both in the Royal Thai Navy and also recreational for all us divers and snorkelers. He is first priority is safety of our guests and crew so we all feel safe having him on board.

Tom joined us this season after more than 15 years in the diving industry and it's a pleasure to have him guiding, teaching and offering his experience to all who come out with us.

Our cook Ed (she's not that old really) is the best cook out here in the Similan Islands and she will be sure to make sure everyone is well fed even when we have a full boat of 20 guests and ten staff. You can always count her to work tirelessly from before you wake in the morning till late into the evening.

You guys on this trip were extremely lucky as on many trips so far this season we have seen both manta rays and whale sharks but to see them together on one dive must have been amazing.

Thanks again for the five-star review it is truly appreciated :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I looked at a number of different Similan liveaboard operators before settling for Oktavia, and I would certainly recommend them to anyone thinking about this kind of trip. From the very early communications with Jamie in their office, everything was relaxed, efficient and helpful, and the trip itself was a wonderful experience. Oktavia itself is a very safe and comfortable boat. Branco and the dive team are very knowledgeable about the marine life you are likely to encounter, and the Thai crew and team, despite language barriers, are all good natured, helpful and relaxed. Special thanks must go to Ae, who looks after snorkellers, and is one of the nicest, smiliest , enthusiastic, most good natured people you are likely to come across. Obviously divers will get the most out of the trip, but snorkel learns will also have a fantastic time- my two daughters are still talking about the 4 different turtles they were able to swim with! One tip however, if you are thinking of doing a partial rather than full 5 day trip, although there is plenty of wonderful stuff to see on the first 2 days, if you are hoping for Mantas and Whale Sharks they are more likely to be spotted on days 3-5, when Oktavia sails north of the Similans.
Overall our trip was a wonderful experience, made more so by the whole Oktavia team. I would thoroughly recommend them, and am already talking with the family about the next time we will go back!

Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVOktavia, Manager at Oktavia Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you Mark R for the wonderful review of us :)

Everybody works hard at Oktavia to try and make your holiday booking as efficient and simple as possible so you feel relaxed...All the guys and gals on our boat are not just your average guides, they are more passionate, more enthusiastic, more friendly and of course more safety conscious.

Ae has been getting a lot of praise lately and rightly so...He is an experienced Divemaster with around 2,000 dives under his belt and is just as experienced as a snorkel guide. He knows just where to look and is very attentive.

Yes, the farther north you get the chance increases on seeing manta rays and whale sharks but this is the sea so all I will ever guarantee you can see with us is the sea and your guides fins...

Thanks again guys for your review

The MV Oktavia Crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oktavia Dive Center also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Oktavia Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing