We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have been thinking alot about this review, its hard to complain when you have only paid $80N, this resort has lots of potential, some things just missed the mark. We have travelled alot in thailand and must admit that this is probably the only resort we have ever checked into where there was no welcome drink or cool towel, this is a small thing but when you have travelled a long way your room is not ready and you have a small boy 3yrs asleep in your lap and in your in 44 degree heat with no fan or aircon a drink would be nice. Instead we were directed to the mini mart! I did ask for an early checkin which we were given but meant that instead of a ground flr room were were given a room on the 3rd flr in a resort with no lifts, so 3 weeks of 3 flights of stairs every day was good exersice! The resort is huge, this is our first time in khoa lak. And we were not one of these people who write glowing reviews because they got an upagrade! Perhaps i need to be less freibdly when i check in. How do you do that!


The positives: lots of facilities, 5 swimming pools, on the beach, excellent gym with big proper treadmills and TV's, pool tables, table tennis, big playroom for bigs kids and little. With playstations and wii games and for the little ones lots of toys and activities (not that i ever left our little on alone). Not far from main street and lots if golf buggies to travel you around if you cant make it walking. Loads of sun lounges and towel. And a couple of restaurants. Free wifi. They have a movie night on a sunday fir the kids with bean bags and free popcorn that was lots of fun. Our room was ok really large which was good but nothing amazing

Cons: it was sooooo hot (can remember thailand being this hot at this time of year before) breakfast room has aircon on at full titlt but all the doors are open so its boiling. The sports bar is the same all the doors are open so the aircon doesnt work and its too hot ( other than the barman not wanting ti change the TV to the aussies channel because he didn't want to miss the soccer). The food in the resort is just average no better or worse than other resorts i have stayed in. I do agree that thailand itself is catering less and less to aussies, and we hardly saw any whilst we were there. The beach is lovely and they do make an effort to pick up rubbish and leaves from the beach, all the sun loungers are contained behind a little wall and the sand is full of cigarette butts and rubbish. Its a bit grosse and didnt entice me to sit here at all. The maid for our room kept leaving our balcony door open and our little boy kept getting eaten by mozzies. Also this green sheet change thing, finally after a week of trying to get our sheets made with ll new sheets (i know the doona cover was nit changed as the same hole kepts showing up every second day) i finally stripped the beds in the morning to get new sheets. spa was nice expensive as usual but the treatments were a little under. I paid 50$ for a facial and got a scrub and some moisturiser!

None of these things spoilt our time they just didnt enhance it. Would i stay here again. Probably not.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    313
    95
    44
    23
See reviews for
414
250
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I got the ocean front facing room, mind you it does not mean sea view or ocean view , it's only the building facing the ocean but you can't see anything . I don't like how that play on words fool people, I think they should make it clear and precise of the room names . So that was disappointing . The hotel was large and they had big pools which was nice . The hotel also had a very nice beach. I only stayed for one night so I could not indulge in everything but the rooms are very basic , old and Thai style but not attractive , it was clean though. The staff was not great , I saw a couple walk up to the reception requesting if they could see the room first , the receptionist goes "ummm please wait a moment sir" sounding awfully unsure . She made them wait for ages , at least 30 minutes before they decide to leave . No welcome drink or cold towel for them too. Not very professional if you ask me.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonyzaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We visited this wonderful resort in February and March, this was our second visit we had a wonderful time in November so much so we could not wait to return and it did not disappoint us we enjoyed every minute of our holiday, we had a beautiful villa with a sea view and a private pool we could not wait to get up to see the sunrise and we were there at the end of the day to see it set. All the staff were friendly and caring if we were happy they were too. The Spa was the highlight of the holiday I went many times and it was always wonderful Amy, Ream and Ao made every visit a joy, when we left I did not have a pain in my body. The pools are great and the beach is truly beautiful. Breakfasts were extremely good , I loved the smoothie bar and the fresh fruit, the egg station, and the bakery, again the staff worked very hard to make everything perfect.
The hotel has themed buffet nights and it is set by the beach at high tide it makes a fantastic setting they have a Thai dancers night with Thai Food, a Cabaret with Italian Food and a Fire Dancers night with a very extensive BBQ very good value for money. One review complained that there were no sunbeds on the beach you will notice no other hotel does as this is not allowed by Thai law, but people can sunbathe on towels as much as they like. The management is always on hand for a friendly chat or to solve any of your problems,housekeeping was very promt to put right any problem we had do not be slow to ask for anything to be put right we love this resort and Khao Lak and cannot wait to return in October. They also have a very good gym and you can hire
a personal trainer or join classes for yoga, aerobics etc. We feel you would be very happy here
and of course the weather was fantastic. You can also visit many nearby beaches our favourite
was White Sands Beach it is about 30mins away by taxi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mercedes616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Nice Resort settings, staff and checking were as expected no problems then came the room. We had an ocean facing room vary dated dark rooms on 1st floor the smell in the room was damp mouldy smell thought where room had been not used, After 1st night asked to be moved as could not stand smell did not have room until following day, moved to ground floor seemed ok little did you know that could not sit on balcony or have door open infested by Mosquitos from fish pond that runs around. Both rooms no hot water only warm, 2nd room wires were loose in bed side lamps, Wardrobe door handle hanging off was glad to leave definitely not 4* punching above its weight.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DJParker193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I went there alone and for me it was just to much noice.... A lot of familys with children. Room was big and nice but a bit tired. Resord is very big and you have see side rooms and rooms wich are more inside of resort. A lot of pools for children.... There is a beach but no sunbads there i did not get it why??? Thre are nicer beach hotels near by if you want to have some rest in paradis :) but very nice for familiys!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Luckynata007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed in the family room out the back. And I do mean out the back. The room was very modern and fantastic for our family of two active boys. Yes it is a bit of a walk to the beach through the resort (5 mins max) but it is less than 50 m to the main street where we went to dinner every night. Golf carts will pick you up if you need so everyone is catered for. It is a bit of a weird set up but security are present 24 hours.
Swimming pools were impressive. We only ate the breakfast buffet which was good. Bananna smoothies great! We didn't come across any other Australians the entire 7 days (even on tours to the Similan Islands and Khoa Sok National Park).

Con: Way too many rude, miserable looking Russians, but that is all over Thailand.

Khoa Lak is a brilliant place to stay, probably realised this more after we stayed in Kata Phuket after our trip. While there are more modern places in Khoa Lak, Centara Seaview ticked all the boxes for us. As we are Aussie our Beach standards are high and the beach (Nang Thong) in front of the resort is what we would classify as ok (our boys loved catching the waves). Catch a taxi to White Sands beach and you wont be disappointed. We also walked 10 mins left of the resort and enjoyed Sunset beach and caught a 5 min taxi to the National Park beach which was lovely. Memories bar was also a highlight, we took a cricket bat to play on the beach and the bar staff played a game in the middle of the restaurant (much to the delight of my kids) and then when the surf picked up we couldn't order a drink as all the staff went surfing. (didn't bother us as we were on holidays, we thought it was pretty cool)

Room Tip: Family rooms are fantastic but have pros and cons. Close to shops but away from reception and beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haydos2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

When we were there last year they were renovating the place. Now we spent another 10 days there and all the building work has been finished. What a marvelous place it has become. Everything you Need for happy Family Holidays is available: three pools (two of them huge, one with a slide), beautiful beach, good restaurants and a cosy bar, game rooms, Fitness Studio and wonderful thai style Bungalows in very well kept surroundings. A big compliment to the friendly and welcoming staff (Special thanks to Manager Khun Manop whose good command of English is very helpful). The Price for four was excellent and very competitive. The Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak is on top of our list of Hotels to be visited again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bungalow with two roofs. We love those in the rear of the compund, close to the biggest po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter Henri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#2 of 4 in Khuk Khak
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 64 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#14 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.1 mi away
Khaolak Oriental Resort
Khaolak Oriental Resort
#26 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak

Property: Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak
Address: 18 1 Moo 7 Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Khaolak Seaview Resort & Spa managed by Centara)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#23 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#28 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#32 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak is located on Nang Thong Beach and connected to the main center of Khao Lak. From the hotel it is a 5 minutes walk to restaurants, bars and shops. Centara Seaview Resort features two beautiful pools, one of meters long with a fun slide and one of 55 meters closer to the beach. The hotel offers 9 different room categories including family room that offer availability for a family with two kids (bunk beds or twin beds). Also available are interconnecting rooms. The beach restaurant is open for lunch and dinner, the pool bar from 11 AM to 4 PM and Time Out Bar from 4 PM to later in the night for a relaxing cocktail or snack. For an active game of tennis or squash, contact our sports team, available also as partners. The fitness is on the ground floor as well as the welcoming kids club or the play station room. Also offered are snooker and pool as well as magnetic hockey. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the resort. Cenvaree Spa welcomes those guests looking for heaven on earth, offering a wide range of treatments. Centara is a great hotel for everyone and a good base for doing some of the many exciting excursions offered in the area. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Seaview Hotel Khao Lak
Khao Lak Seaview Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing