We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Resort Wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Resort Wonderful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and i stayed at Riverside Resort for 8 nights and it went too quickly, the hosts Marcus and Bruno could not do enough for you to have an enjoyable stay. the rooms are spacious and very clean,. the staff are very friendly and efficient . we dined in 2 evenings and the meals were delicious as well as the breakfasts !! the pool was beautiful and the beach only 1 minute walk , a wonderful holiday if we return to Khao Lak this would be the only resort we would stay at!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    29
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
145
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Riverside Resort and wished we could have stayed longer. It really did tick all the boxes - fabulous setting, totally relaxing and with the feeling of sophistication but without all the pretention of other hotels. The bedrooms are really lovely and the grounds are very well kept. We have already recommended it to our son who has now booked and we will definitely return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Dear reader, the glowing TA reviews are right - believe them!

This is a small, tranquil hotel, spotlessly clean with lovely grounds and spacious, well-appointed rooms. It does not pretend to be a 5* with all the bells and whistles but it does all the essentials very well indeed, thanks to the dedication of Markus, Bruno and the staff. What is more, the price is a fraction that charged by its competitors in the area. We have stayed in a few of these but will go back to the Riverside because it represents by far the best value.

If you are interested in nature, the location is a real bonus. My wife recorded 45 different species of birds in the land just a stroll from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have just spent 11 nights at this lovely hotel and have returned totally relaxed with our batteries recharged. Bruno and Marcus are great hosts. Every request from extra pillows, arranging taxis and sorting out golf and diving excursions were dealt with quickly and efficiently. The staff are exceptionally friendly and are a credit to the owners. The chef even came out for a chat during one of their Thai curry evenings as we were the only diners that night. As has been said before the rooms are huge with a statement bathroom and are kept spotlessly clean. Drinking water is replenished daily free of charge and they don't mind you using the mini bar to store your own purchases. There is only 27 rooms at Riverside but even though the hotel was fully booked during our stay it was very peaceful both day and night. Breakfast on the terrace was a joy every morning and yes the pancakes are amazing. It was lovely to be in a hotel which doesn't have blaring music around the pool and no staff encouraging you to take part in some activity or another. You are really left to your own devices here, which suited us just fine. Close enough to beach and local shops and restaurants and we weren't bothered by any insect bites during our stay. If you are looking for the run of the mill resort with lots of different things to do and places to eat this is not for you. If you just like to kick back and relax come here you'll love it! Wouldn't hesitate to return and only hope the obviously planned building work on nearby land doesn't spoil this wonderful retreat. It was also exceptional value for money, the room being half the price of a standard garden view room at the nearby Ramada.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 and had lovely sunset views every day. It also had the extra benefit of being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garden3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ramada last year and loved it, so were hesitant about trying somewhere else - especially as it is much cheaper. We needn't have worried - the Riverside exceeded our expectations and we would definitely return. Marcus and Bruno are great hosts and you can tell that the hotel owners manage the place - it was spotless and beautifully tended. The pool and grounds are in lovely gardens next to a river, so very relaxing and peaceful. It is 2 minutes walk to the beach and I thought I might mind this, but it was no problem at all. In case you are worried about Mosquitos due to the riverside location - don't! Very few mossies due to the fact that the river is mixed with salt water from the sea. In terms of location, it is a 10 min walk to the restaurants in Bang Niang - again not a problem at all and we liked a gentle stroll each evening. If you are in 2 minds, try it, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Every room has lovely view to the pool and a balcony. I preferred a second floor room but that is pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinders888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent 17 days in Markus´and Brunos Hotel and it was the optimal place for us, to enjoy great hospitality, warm welcome in this marvellous cosy hotel and to relax in a tropical garden surrounding - 100m away from the beach we were able to enjoy wonderful Thai (spicy) dinners. Local market was in walking distance, organising diving trips or renting a motorbike was easy. We enjoyed the pool, the wonderful view towards the sea and the river and no wish was left unattended -or by the Swiss-Thai-Owners Markus and Bruno or the friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Manfred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Khao Lak Riverside Resort is, in my opinion, not really a "resort", but definitely a serene, beautiful property.
The rooms are large, all with beautiful views and super clean and well appointed. The bed was one of the hardest I've ever slept on though, like a plank with fine linens?
The entire property is very, very well kept - almost clinical. You can see that from the photos, I think.
As alluded to in other reviews, interactions with the owner Markus can be ... awkward. You get the sense that Markus is managing you, but not in a positive way. Bruno was sweet enough to offer to drive me to the doctor's office when I arrived sick, which I really appreciated as a single traveller. Also, I had an evening flight and Markus was kind enough to give me a late check out - I really appreciated that too :)
It doesn't front the nicest beach in the area, so I was told when I asked around. I thought the beach was dirty - twigs and rocks and stuff. Not white sand or soft, not clear blue/green water. If you are there for a week or more, and have time to walk or take a taxi or shuttle to other beaches, it shouldn't be an issue. I also had to take a 150 baht taxi to the town when I wanted to do anything off property (eat, shop, be out and about with other people). The cost wasn't a big deal though, and the taxis are everywhere and friendly. It's just a little removed from main areas. Frankly, I found it way too hot to walk that far!
I would recommend this resort for older couples who love the pool and just want to relax on their own.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabulani26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.3 mi away
Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#13 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suwan Palm Resort
Suwan Palm Resort
#53 of 66 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
0.6 mi away
Sudala Beach Resort
Sudala Beach Resort
#52 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Shambhala Khaolak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa

Property: Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
Address: 67/167 Moo 5, Bang Niang Beach | Khuekkhak Subdistrict, Takua Pa District, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa is located along Thailand’s beautiful west coast, 90 km from Phuket International Airport. Situated next to Bang Niang River, overlooking the unspoiled Bang Niang Bay and the sapphire Andaman sea just 80 meter from the golden sandy beach. A total of 27 rooms designed and built in Asian-style, are spaciously positioned on 7200 m2 that guarantees private and quiet atmosphere. All elegant deluxe double rooms are fully air conditioned with individual climate control, mini bar, Satellite television, in-room safe, bedroom with king size or twin beds, outdoor balcony with a splendid panoramic view over Bang Niang River and the Andaman Sea.Private washroom, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, shower cabin, hot and cold water, toilet and washbasin, bathtub with stunning river and ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing