We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
Ranked #51 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Find”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We have just left this great little resort and can not reccommend it highly enough. In some ways I would like to say nothing and keep this little gem to ourselves but that would be unfair to both Markus and Bruno who have obviously put so much thought, time and effort into creating such a stunning boutique resort that is so incredibly reasonably priced. We could not believe that we had the whole resort to ourselves for our stay! The swimming pool is a good size and so crystle clear, the rooms are spacious and tastefully done. The whole place is spotlessly clean. The grounds are lovely and as they are only a year old will only get more beautiful with time. The minibar, bar & food prices are so reasonably priced that we never left the resort and were happy to use the minibar & bar for our drinks, and eat all our meals there. I also had a massage at the resort which was also very good and again so reasonably priced why would I go out for one? We had moved from a so called 5 star resort in Cherngtalay to Riverside, but to us the star rating was wrong, there is no way we would go back to the previous resort but we would return to Riverside in a flash. Khao Lak is a small quiet little town which is just what we needed to rest and re-charge our batteries. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same & great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netteTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    30
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
145
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday in Khao Lak staying at the Riverside Resort and we would have no hesitation in highly recommending this wonderful hotel to you. Bruno the owner and his family made us feel very welcome and they have paid a great deal of attention to the design details and all the finishing touches within the hotel. The Riverside is a beautiful resort set in fabulous manicured gardens with a large swimming pool, our room was beautifully decorated and fitted out to the highest standards. The hotel is located next to the river and not only benefits from the terrific views of the surrounding hills but also the beach. A short walk through the gardens down to the bottom leads you to a sandy track and the beach, there you will find a number of Thai resteraunts and bars all of which serve amazing food and are extremely reasonably priced. Depending on the tide you can walk as far as the eye can see in both directions. The beaches are un-crowded and particularly so in the low season – absolute bliss.

You can get to Khao Lak town either by walking or a short taxi drive but we tended to stay in the area around the hotel which has quite a large number of shops, restaurants(Italian, German, English, Indian), bars, tailors and a Seven Eleven – basically everything that you need.

A fabulous holiday and we look forward to returning to the Riverside.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanislaw187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgique
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Nicest hotel we’ve stayed in in Thailand. Rooms are lovely and bright and very spacious, with beautiful bathrooms. Top quality furnishings and decorated with taste and style. Lovely swimming pool and garden. The owners Markus (and his son Kim) and Bruno couldn’t have been more helpful to us during our stay especially trying to locate our missing case in Bangkok airport through many phone calls and faxes. Nothing was too much for them - Markus even drove us to the market and some restaurants in the village. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Delicious food! If we go back to Khao Lak one day, we’ll definitely stay their again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvm2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were met by Bruno/the owner around midnight who didn't know of our booking.He graciously let us stay in our room till morning to see if everything was ok with sawadee.com...Everything worked out fine..!!...It was great to see Bruno's smiling face everyday,not to mention the smiling faces of our maids,Bruno's wife and all of the workers at the resort....
Riverside is a very happy place....!!....
Our room faced the ocean with a fantastic view of the long tail boats in the river,the trees lining the beach and the huts on the beach too....Our large side window faced the river...Another incredible view....!!....
We rented a canoe off Bruno one day and paddled up Bang Niang River to discover some wonderful natural sights,and even an abandoned long tail most likely left there after the 2004 tragedy.....The elevator made life easier to transport your luggage to your room....TV reception was great even tho' there are blackouts during storm periods but that's not Bruno's fault....
As has been said before,this resort has to be the cleanest I have ever stayed in anywhere....The cleanliness is just wonderful...!!....
Little geckoes run around on our room walls which we just loved....Little fireflies flying onto our balcony was like a fairy tale.....And the view from our huge arched bathroom window was a picture of perfection of typical Thailand....
Of course we have no complaints as Bruno was always there to help us out with anything....The perfect host....!!

Room Tip: Our room number was 201...Great views..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cocotang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The Riverside resort and spa is an excellent choice for those who wish to chill out in a well run modern hotel/B & B. The grounds are immature but you can see that in a couple of years time they will be when fully grown absolutely superb. The planning and decor that has gone into the hotel has been cantinued into the planning of the grounds as well, and no expense has been spareed in that respect. The pool is beautiful and well maintaned by Bruno and the grounds staff, Bruno complete with aqualung even scours the pool bottom once a week to ensure no mould is allowed to grow, and the pool staff are always attending to any minor grounds maintenance.

The rooms are exctly as shown on the website, roomy, very clean, lovely balconies and the two staff that clean every day are great they must have obtained and "ology" from Bangkok university in cleaning, couldnt fault them at all, their smiles every day are a pleasure to behold.

Markus had a lot to do with the overall design and planning and building of the hotel as did Bruno, but the decor is modern and very well thought out and would do credit to any 5 star hotels around the world. The little touches are so nice to see and the overall thought that has been lavished in the design must be seen to be appreciated.

Breakfast is good with a wide choice and in 12 days did not get bored, service very good, because we were two of anly 10 guests at the time no evening meals were being served, but so what, in Thailand most people prefer to eat out anyway, but if you want to stay in a hotel all the time the Riverside IS NOT FOR YOU.

The beach is only about 200 mtrs away, so you have the best of both world at this location. Beach bars all along the beach give a good choice of snacks and drinks, and the main hotel has sunset views second to none, (when the sun is out which it wasnt for most of our trip)

Overall I think that this is without doubt the best B & B we have ever stayed in, and it is a credit to Bruno and Markus who were involved from the very beginning of the build, post tsunami, a real gem in Thailand. Good luck to them both for the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanLincolnEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days. The Hotel is new, and the location is quiet and close to the beach.

The hotel is beautifully designed with perfectly manicured grounds, green surroundings and a very big and clean swimming pool. The rooms are bright and spacious, all furnished with taste and style. The bathrooms are especially nice, with a huge picture window over the bathtub.

Owners Markus and Bruno are really friendly, helpful and they will make sure that you get the best stay possible helping you with whatever you might need. The staff was very smiling and helpful. The two girls who cleaned our room were amazing. We have never seen a cleaner hotel room, spotless!

Wi-Fi is available in all rooms at a cost and in the bar/restaurant area for free. Very good breakfast with a nice selection of items from À la carte menu.

The location is excellent, only a short walk to Bang Niang beach and the main tourist strip, but it's far enough away from other hotels and restaurants that you'll never have to worry about noise keeping you awake at night.

We would advise anyone looking for a perfect stay in Khao Lak to look no further than this resort. We would certainly not hesitate to book this accommodation again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 14 days. Actually the rest of our travel campanions stayed on another hotel and moved to this one insted after visting us. The hotel is run by Marcus and Bruno which you are likely to meet at check in, and their presence is aiming to make sure that you get the best stay possible helping you with whatever you might need. Very helpful and friendly staff.

The Hotel is new, and the location is quiet and close to the beach. This is a perfect place for relaxation, and if you prefer to do some activites there are enough to choose form within short walking distance.

The cleaning of the rooms where incredible! The best I´ve seen, which is a surprisingly important thing when you get sand etc in the room after a day on the beach. It really makes a difference! Even our last day checking out at 5 pm we got our room cleaned as soon as we sat down ) at the breakfast table (apprenetly they planned to time it like that) even though we where supposed to be checked out just a few hours later.

Great value for money, and the personal service you get compared to bigger resorts makes it a much more luxorious stay. Thanks Marcus and Bruno!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank No007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.6 mi away
Sudala Beach Resort
Sudala Beach Resort
#52 of 69 in Khao Lak
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ayara Villas
Ayara Villas
#43 of 69 in Khao Lak
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#15 of 69 in Khao Lak
1,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Vela Khao Lak
La Vela Khao Lak
#37 of 69 in Khao Lak
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Shambhala Khaolak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa

Property: Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
Address: 67/167 Moo 5, Bang Niang Beach | Khuekkhak Subdistrict, Takua Pa District, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa is located along Thailand’s beautiful west coast, 90 km from Phuket International Airport. Situated next to Bang Niang River, overlooking the unspoiled Bang Niang Bay and the sapphire Andaman sea just 80 meter from the golden sandy beach. A total of 27 rooms designed and built in Asian-style, are spaciously positioned on 7200 m2 that guarantees private and quiet atmosphere. All elegant deluxe double rooms are fully air conditioned with individual climate control, mini bar, Satellite television, in-room safe, bedroom with king size or twin beds, outdoor balcony with a splendid panoramic view over Bang Niang River and the Andaman Sea.Private washroom, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, shower cabin, hot and cold water, toilet and washbasin, bathtub with stunning river and ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing