We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“almost perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khaolak Oriental Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Khaolak Oriental Resort
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a beautiful room with pool acess, excellent staff, beautiful breskfast and would be perfect except from the smoking in the pool area. My daughter and I had to constantly move to avoid being smoked over, my suggestion in the staff survey was to make a part of the pool area non smoking so that people like myself could relax and enjoy their holiday without having to breathe other people's smoke.

Room Tip: We had a room with pool access fantastic, beautiful resort , wonderful breakfast, would be perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenenne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Jenenne W,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a good time staying here with us however as you mentioned about non-smoking area at the pool I have noted in suggesstion report to the Management team ka.

Thank you very much for choosing us on your recent holiday and we are looking forward to welcome you back in Khaolak Oriental Resort.

With my best regards,
Praire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    74
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
181
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in the lowest of low season, yet it was full. Indeed, on arrival, the reception staff sought to relocate us to their sister hotel next door, the Bhandari, which is rather less comfortable, in our opinion. We refused, since we had booked 3 months in advance, and were apologetically upgraded. Thank you.

So what makes the resort so popular? Well, it is clearly tied up with a major provider of package deals to Europe. And it is essentially an adults-only hotel, with no one under 12 years old permitted. It is also stunningly well designed, with all rooms located around a beautiful L-shaped pool complex. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with space and grace in both room and ensuite. The restaurant is also a high point. The main pavilion is a beautiful hardwood structure with a soaring ceiling and wonderful carved timber panels, along with impressive lighting and Thai artworks. It’s simply a joy to eat there and enjoy the ambience. The food is also excellent. We were so pleased with the variety and quality of the Thai food and wine that we ate there each night of our stay. The breakfasts were similarly outstanding. This is a great kitchen.

However, on the downside, the hotel is patronised almost exclusively by those who choose to ‘reserve’ their chosen sun loungers long before breakfast by placing towels on them - and who smoke heavily in the restaurant. I can honestly say that I’ve never eaten in a restaurant anywhere with more people smoking in it. We were also appalled to find that some guests filled private drinks bottles from the selection of breakfast juices to take away each morning. It is hard to imagine more anti-social behaviour than some we observed during our time here. For that reason alone, I doubt if we would return. Naturally, the wonderfully gracious and helpful Thai staff always seek to avoid conflict and let these boorish people get away with behaviour that is simply unacceptable in any civilised resort.

Room Tip: There's a generator at the Northern corner of the property which is best avoided in the interest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear EHinOz,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort.
Thank you very much for your time sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor and thank you very much for your kind understanding our situation. I am appreciated to hear all your feedback both good side and down side part. Regarding to your comments about sunbed reservarion, smoking area zone in the breakfast and also some guest's behavior as mentioned in the review. I will bring up in the meeting to find the solution. I would like to say thank you once again for your comments that really help me to improve our hotel for better standard of serivce ka

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in Khaolak Oriental Resort on your next visit to Khao Lak

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had the most wonderful 9 nights in a pool access room at this beautiful resort. It is so charming and peaceful and the staff are some of the best we have ever had in any place we have stayed. Winnie welcomed us with a warm smile, cool drink and cold towel. We were checked in efficiently and taken to our room where she gave us the rundown on how things worked. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable with the added bonus of being able to roll off your balcony into the pool. The pool is maintained exceptionally well and is perfect for cooling off. Everything you could want is available for breakfast and as much as you can eat. We ate at the resort restaurant quite a few times, very reasonably priced and again wonderful staff. We had a wonderful massage at Bhandari spa, walked to the beach and ate at the restaurant there and had massages and pedicures at the hut. Walking to the Main Street takes 10 minutes. Here you will find many shops, restaurants, tailors and tour operators. We visited during low season (May-September) so could not visit the islands for snorkelling and diving. If this is an activity you would like then you must visit during high season (October-April). We couldn't fault anything about the resort or the staff and would like to especially thank Dech, Pong, Bam, Fah and Kevin for making our stay special.

Room Tip: Pool access is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Cate G,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort.
Thank you very much for your time sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor. I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Especially your compliments to all of our staffs that you mentioned in the review I am sure to pass your words to them. On behalf of Khaoalk Oriental team, I would like to say it was our pleasure also to have a chance to welcome you to our place in Khaolak Oriental Resort and we are very glad to be a part of your memorable holiday.

Thank you again for choosing us on your recent holiday and we are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Khao Lak ka.

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwood, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

What a ripper place to spend your holidays at. The staff are sensational and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is fantastic with different choices each day and you are greeted with happy smiles every morning. Rooms are neat and clean. The resort is close to the beach and is just a short walk to the main road. The poolside bar has good cocktails and meals, prices aren't too bad either! And the best part is........ no BRATS. Thanks again to everyone at Khaolak Oriental, you guys made this holiday very special.

Room Tip: West facing rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Rex1965,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for you time sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor. I am very happy to hear that you had wonderful time staying with us and we are more than happy to be a part of your memorable holiday with us as well ka

Thank you for choosing us on your recent stay so we had a chance to welcome you to our place and I am looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We often travel to Khao Lak and I must say that this resort has been one of the best ones we have stayed at yet. Is is situated in a perfect location as it is a short walk to the main shopping area, restaurants and virtually beach front.
Lovely, friendly and the most helpful staff that greet you warmly every time. Clean and comfortable rooms with all amenities required are provided. Great breakfast choices and loved the peace and quiet as no children are allowed. It is perfect for relaxation!
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Katarina W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Katarina W W,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor. I am very happy to hear that had a pleasant stay with us and also our team would feel very happy to know that we are one of the best hotels in Khao Lak in your mind. We do really appreciated that you love our way :)

Thank you very much for choosing Khaolak Oriental Resort on your recent holiday and I am looking forward to welcome you back again on your holiday in Khao Lak ka

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thready@esc.net.au
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at this friendly smaller hotel. It isn't your modern tasteless option, and it oozed charm and peace and the staff were super helpful and interested in your wellbeing. You know you are in a top resort when the manager helps serves breakfast too. We had a large poolside room which was quiet and kept very clean daily and allowed us to fall in to the crystal clear pool. The breakfast was the best fresh variety we had on our Phuket holiday and the restaurant served excellent food also. You are a very short walk from the lovely beach if you wish. Khaolak is a smaller Phuket location with all the typical Thai options a short walk or cheap tuk-tuk away. We had our "personal" taxi man who was always ready; Purng mobile 0843 40926.
If you are looking for a relaxing location away from children, then this is it>

Room Tip: ask for a pool access room preferably not on the main pool. we had room 314.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Thready,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for your time sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I am very glad to hear that you really enjoyed your holiday here with us and It was our great pleasure to welcomed you to our place as well ka. All of our staffs would feel very happy to hear your feedback and I am sure to pass your compliment to them.

Thank you very much for choosing Khaolak Oriental on your recent holiday and we are looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future ka


With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We recently stayed at this wonderful resort and I cannot wait to return. Everything about this place is spot on. The staff cannot do enough for you plus you are always greeted with a warm friendly smile. Rooms are very clean, breakfast has plenty of choices, and hotel next door offers amazing spa treatments. This resort is only about a 10 minute walk into town and beach is just across the road. It's not often that I dine at a resort for meals other than breakfast but this resort has a good menu and it's prices are very reasonable and food is great. We had a pool access room and it's nice to be able to just have the luxury of having a swim whenever you feel the need without having to walk to the pool (lazy I suppose) but that's my idea of a little bit of luxury. Overall excellent value and looking forward to staying longer on my next return.

Room Tip: The pool access rooms are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Kerry T,

Sawasdee Ka
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for your time writing your experience on tripadvisor. On behalf of Khaolak Oriental team I am very happy to hear that you had a relaxing holiday with us and ejoyed with our swimming pool :)

Thank you very much for choosing Khaolak Oriental on your recent holiday and I am looking forward to welcome you back again on your next visit to Khao Lak ka

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#2 of 7 in Khuk Khak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
0.1 mi away
Suwan Palm Resort
Suwan Palm Resort
#54 of 66 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.1 mi away
Khaolak Bhandari Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Khaolak Laguna Resort
Khaolak Laguna Resort
#1 of 7 in Khuk Khak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Oriental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Oriental Resort

Property: Khaolak Oriental Resort
Address: 13/120 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Oriental Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaolak Oriental Resort is an Oriental Style resort situated on Nang Thong beach, the sister hotel of Khaolak Bhandari Resort & Spa! The hotel is reserved for An Adult hotel only. No child under 12 y is allowed to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Khaolak Oriental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing