We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for what I paid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Value for what I paid”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Check in 27th Dec 2013
I like this hotel quiet surrounding planted with many trees and a swimming pool is surrounded by the hotel rooms.The location is good not crowded neither noisy even though there are many other hotels beside it.It is about 10 mins walking to the main road with many convinient stores,restaurants,shops and 5 mins to the Nang Thong Beach just opposite the hotel.The staff is friendly,fast check in and out,big balcony,large room,clean,cozy,simple design with a feel of country home.Breakfast just ok,not much varieties,anyhow it was very relaxed and nice to stay

Room Tip: Spacious room with bright lighting Firm mattress Safe box Clothes rack Stainless steel kettle
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank est0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The place is literally a short walk across the small street from the Nang Thong beach. The grounds dont look like anything from the main entrance but in fact there are plenty of rooms and the pool is a good size. The rooms are very spacious with big balconies. The bathroom is a bit on the 2 star hotel side but overall the room has what is required of 3 star holiday place. The restaurant is underrated - very cheap and the quality and portions were some of the best we tried among Thai food places. Once we tried we had lunch there almost every day. The staff and service is a bit on the too relaxed side ie dont expect much. But overall I would stay here again but my first choice would still be a cottage in the Nang Thong Beach Resort 100 meters away.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the rooms closest to the reception and the restaurant because the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ania8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Before choosing Countryside Resort we got acquainted with the Hotel websites and the reviews. Especially Kadi 111's review, Feb 27 2010 we found very helpfull.
We stayed at Countryside Resort for two weeks in November 2012. Afterwards we can agree with Kadi's comments, plus there is some good news!

The following lacks mentioned no longer exist: 1. there is wifi now and it is free and fuctuioning. 2. The safty in the room was free of charge, too. 3. There was a kettle for tee or coffee in the room.

The beach is nice, not too crowded. Water is warm and clean. When you come to the beach from the hotel and walk to the right, there are restaurants on the beach with sunbeds and umberellas, free for the restaurant customers. You were allowed to take the hotel pooltowels to the beach, as well.

We were very pleased with our stay in Khao Lak and at Countryside Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a rental car and was exploring southern Thailand. We returned to Khao Lak several times and stayed in a number of different resorts. This was by far the best value for money with a nice bungalow, great food and fantastic staff. Also a super location. Although not on the beach, it is only a 1 min walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalcolmManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We ended up kinda stuck in Khao Lak having missed the morning boats to Similan (dumb, I know) and jumped on this as one of the best offers we could get at the last minute. Room was pretty OK, service just OK, location good (5 minute walk up the hill to the nice little town of Khao Lak, 1 minute walk down a lane opposite to the beach). Pool OK, small, but OK, breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toomanymatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Although the hotel is in a good position (a 5 min walk to the beach and 10 mins to the main street) and has a nice pool area, the hotel didn't live up to our expectations. The rooms were spacious but worn around the edges and not cleaned properly. The service was also not what we had been used to in the rest of Thailand and the attention to detail was not present. (This included the manager's young son using the computer to play games when customers wanted to log on to the internet). We left (early) with the impression that this hotel was used heavily by package tourists and the staff/ hotel were indifferent to guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ienjoytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at the countryside resort.
On arrival we were pleased with our room, and how clean and fresh it was,although the bathroom could so with a bleaching.

The staff were very friendly, although Engilsh was very limited.

Most of the guests at the hotel, and within Khao Lak as a whole, were mainly German or Scandinavian which was not a problem in the slightest, just a general observation.

The breakfast included was adequate and filled myself and my husband up every morning. There were made to order omelettes and fried eggs, ham, hot dogs, bacon, eggy bread/pancakes on alternative days, salad (?), potato slices, pineapple, watermelon, papaya, cereal, yoghurt, toast etc. So enough to choose from.

There was fresh coffee and tea, orange juice, pineapple juice also.

There was 2 bottles of water left for you in your room daily which was a nice touch, and a fridge to keep them in.

The grounds were very well kept, and the beach was 90 metres away - not a problem at all - it is even sign posted when you arrive where to go.

The only little quirk we had was there was no wifi and the internet near reception (1 baht per min) was soooooo slow that it kept cutting off. We had already found a little cafe at the top of the main road on the right that did free wifi, but couldn't be bothered to keep walking up and down, but in the end we had to. The good thing about that was once you had the password, they never changed it!!

Hotels need to understand that internet is quite an important thing now, and if it is free wifi with a £1 cup of coffee, why is it not free, or even available in a £45 per night room!!

The only other thing was there was no shade in the afternoon around the pool area no matter where you sat. It was great in the morning, but come the afternoon, it was too hot so ended up back at the room.

Couple of film channels on the TV if you are interested in that, and the aircon was lovely. Had provisions for tea and coffee but no kettle, which not sure if you got charged for, but we didn't ask.

The safe (in your room) was 60 baht a day, which again, we didn't understand why, but there was a little lockable drawer in the room we used instead. There was a free safe behind reception we believe.

Overall, a comfortable quiet stay, but I would try to get a room that is not next to the road. We had a room overlooking the pool and was quiet, but even though the road is quiet, it is the main strip to walk down and it can get a bit people-noisy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kadi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.2 mi away
Suwan Palm Resort
Suwan Palm Resort
#50 of 68 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#3 of 7 in Khuk Khak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rakkawan Residence
Rakkawan Residence
#32 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Khaolak Oriental Resort
Khaolak Oriental Resort
#15 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Khaolak Golden Place
Khaolak Golden Place
#17 of 46 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa

Property: Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa
Address: 28/15 Moo 7 Soi Nangthong | T. Khuk-khak A. Takuapa, Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Countryside Resort And Spa
Khaolak Countryside Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing