We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional and very well run !”

Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the world of Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak. With easy access to the renowned Similan Islands on our state-of-the-art catamaran in only 2 hours, maximise your safety, comfort and service. Or join one of our liveaboard trips and dive Richelieu Rock, Surin Islands, Koh Tachai and Koh Bon. Sea Bees Diving - Adventure in good hands
thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Professional and very well run !”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

With the huge range of dive shops to pick from .. I was very glad we picked sea beas ..

The place is managed very professionally .. one instructor for every 4 people when you dive .. which is a good relaxed way to dive. You can also pay extra and get a dive instructor assigned just for you. Our dive instructor catelyn was very knowledgeable and also fun to hand out with after the dives.

The boats are very well equipped, good on board kitchen .. the food was yum .. tasted better after the dives. the dives sites were not very commercial so the number of people from other dive companies were lesser.

The boat has a nice friendly atmosphere and we met some interesting people. Very experienced and serious divers seem to use this company ..and it was good getting a few tips from them!

Equipment provided is good .. cameras and dive computers available on rent if required.

The highlight of our three day ( daily dives not stay aboard) was the wall at koh ban !! it is the wall of life itself .. and i wish we could have spent more time just exploring it !

Price wise on the expensive side compared to the rest of Thailand !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 007travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Owner at Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear 007travelbug,
Thank you for your detailed review. Our aim is to look after all our dive guests with an all round service that is professional and safety orientated but with fun in mind too. That is why we go the extra mile on certain aspects to maintain our high standards. We're glad though that the small price difference allowed you to have some great dive memories, get some good dive tips and we look forward to taking you back to Koh Ban again - hopefully soon!

Your Sea Bees Diving team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    53
    14
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilderswil, Switzerland
1 review
“Diving with Sea Bees”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This November I want to spend my holydays with diving in Thailand. So I choose Sea Bees and I’ve never regretted it. It was one of the best experiences I ever had. On the second day I decide to make my AOWD and with Andrea I got a super instructor, especially for the underwater photographer course. I can only recommend Sea Bees (and the Mars bar in Phang Nga;) ) to everyone.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin-Meier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went on the North Island tour in November.
Firstly the good things: the food is great.
Secondly: The boat My Genesis smells of fuel, even with engines shut down we often had fumes.It's also very noisy. Even when the engines are not working, there are 6 or 8 air conditioning units scattered throughout the boat so there's nowhere quiet.
The groups are relatively small but we dove altogether so we often cross the other groups underwater. One local guide was treating us like open water students, breifing us on how to inflate/deflate our BCDs whilst we all had 60-80 dives, and made it a safari like experience.
I paid 900 euros for 3D/3N, it's way too expansive for what it is;
I definitely won't dive with them again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank froggie10Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear froggie10Paris,

Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry that the liveaboard trip did not fulfil you expectations and we are continually striving to improve our service.
Unfortunately, not everything is in our hands and external circumstances like wind direction can result in temporary fumes from the exhaust heading upwards and we agree this can be annoying for a short while.

With respect to sound, the boat needs to generate its own power and for guest services it has to be on even if the engines are not running. This results in a constant sound, but it has never been mentioned by other guests in the boat’s many years of operation.
During your trip, there was a total of 7 guests on board, separated into 2 groups of 3 and 4 divers respectively. But even with these small groups it can happen that you meet other divers from the same boat during the dives.
Lastly, as our guests’ safety is of paramount importance, we may have over-emphasised this a little and we apologise if it was more than perhaps you are used to as an experienced diver.

But I have to say that, in the end, if you had brought this issues up during your stay on board, we might have had the opportunity to deal with them directly.

Salutations amicales et nous vous souhaitons de bonnes plongées dans le futur.

Your Team Sea Bees Diving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great week of diving”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I booked a 10 day trip to Khao Lak, Thailand to dive the Similan Islands. Sea Bees was rated well and they deserve it. Everything was arranged like clockwork. The 3 day diving on the Genesis liveaboard is a MUST!!! Diving at Richlier Rock was the highlight of our trip. The crew were excellent and the food - OH MY GOD, the cook Sao is the best. Our diveguides Janoesh and Nui were great and provided an excellent dives. For the first time we saw and filmed a dragon-tail seahorse.
JUST DO IT!!

Helpful?
Thank yscheimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear yscheimann,

Thanks for your great feedback. It's nice to hear that you all had such an enjoyable time on your liveaboard trip. Good to know that you enjoyed the food too, why do you think some of us live here? ☺
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sea Bees, perhaps next time for a 6 day safari on Marco Polo?

Team Sea Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dive operation!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent three days on Stingray last week (how it seems so far away in cold London)
Everything is so organised on the boat, the hotel pickup and dropoff was prompt, everything was efficient, staff are friendly and you are well looked after.
The boat crew do a great job and the food is good.
It's the small things that stand out, Sea Bees provide a towel and bottle of water, lunch, soft drinks, dedicated space on the boat when you arrive, prompt dive times and excellent dive plans.
You just dive and leave everything to them.

Our dive guide Anita was very good and we enjoyed all our six dives with her, she was a pleasure.

Now the only thing is diving in Similan is not cheap when compared to Phuket, Phi Phi and Koh Tao, but the visibility is unbelievable, easily 40m viz on most dives! Then again fuel costs explain the diving costs as it takes two hours to get to the sites and then two back!

However costs aside, we will certainly be using Sea Bees again when we are back in Thailand, by far the best dive operation we have used!

Helpful?
Thank Makkatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Makkatini,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased our efforts were noticed. We completely agree with you: it’s the small things that make you unique and special ☺
We look forward to your next trip with us, perhaps in Phuket, Koh Phi Phi or Pak Meng!

The Sea Bees Diving Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours also viewed

 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing