We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice for a peaceful beach vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“A great choice for a peaceful beach vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at JW hotel Khao Lak for less than a week to get away from the city for a little bit and in general we were happy with our stay. The hotel location is away from all the noise, the rooms are spacious, the beach and the water in the sea is clean (which is a big Big thing for us) and the facilities are taken care of well. However, restaurant staff service needs some improvement and the breakfast buffet needs some more variety of choices as it's quite limited compared to the ones at other 5 star hotel brands.

Would like to say a special thank you for Khun Jazzy, the duty manager who made sure everything goes well during our vacation as it was our first stay at Khao Lak branch of Marriott hotel. If there are any even minor issues, she is a go-to person.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamiladalatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Kami I,

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred holiday destination!

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed a great stay, thank you for your great comments about our rooms and beach area.

We will certainly recognize Khun Jazzy for her outstanding service and efforts, thank you for your feedback.

We have well noted your comments about service in the restaurants and breakfast buffet variety; we have reviewed this with the team for further improvement.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience, we all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,263
    721
    160
    52
    28
See reviews for
1,003
1,603
51
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

one of the top hotels my wife and i have stayed at. the hotel is amazing. the free standing wings of the hotel are traversed by the swimming pool, in reality a network of canals more than 3 kms long ranging in depth from 1 to 1.5 meters. the best rooms are right on the "canals," and the "banks" of the canals are lushly planted. the plants provide both privacy and a feeling a pool in a tropical jungle it takes more than an hour to swim and walk through all the canals.

the beach is also secluded and very private. unlike other resort beaches in thailand, there are no vendors offering services, both naughty and nice. stately palms sway in the breeze and provide both shade and majesty to the setting.

the food is also splendid, from the breakfast buffet to the wonderful restaurants, including thai, japanese, italian, a deli as well as a buffet/coffee shop.

the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. the general manager is refreshingly so, and displays none of the haughty airs affected by `so many of the northern european hotel school graduates who manage competing hotels.

Room Tip: try to get one of the poolside rooms. you can roll out of bed for a swim in the "canals."
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CMKeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear CMKeur,

Thank you for writing us about your experience in our resort, we are very happy to learn you enjoyed a great stay.

It's a great pleasure reading your review, thank you for your great comments about our lagoon pool, beach, restaurants and associates.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
300 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This property was maybe half-decent 10 years ago. Now its badly run, food is the worst I have had at a five star hotel in Thailand. If I owned the JW brand, I would sell this hotel or refurbish it. The room I had was smelly due to sewage and water issues, we had to leave two of the restaurants due to bad food and terrible service, and even the towels are used more than its should. The breakfast rooms is a convention-standard size and its just interesting how little the management did with my complaints. The list of complaints is so long I do not waist your time listing it.. Choose another hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyCollins, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Gudleiv,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the resort. We are deeply saddened that we were unable to meet your expectations. We would appreciate if you could share more specific details at mhrs.hktkl.duty.mgr@marriott.com, so that we may have the chance to follow-up and rectify your concerns.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to more details.

Respectfully,

Ty Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed at JW Khaolak for only one week and I missed the place already. It's such a beautiful property with great breakfast. The Staff are awesome and super friendly. They can answer to all your requests. The place is romantic and perfect for couple. would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piyal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Piyal M,

Thank you for writing a great review about your recent experience in our resort!

It's wonderful to learn you enjoyed such a wonderful stay with us - thank you for your great comments about our breakfast and associates.

We look forward having the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Try to book a pool access room they are by far the best to enter one of best pools I seen in a resort took us 30 min to swim to the pool bar it's that big
The resorts right on a lovely beach front also a bit far from the local town we did not leave the resort for the 5 days we were there

Room Tip: Pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarBkk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Marcel S,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience with us!

It's a great pleasure to learn you enjoyed a comfortable stay, thank you for your great feedback about our Pool Access room and 16,000 square meter lagoon pool.

We look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort soon!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We travelled to this hotel with Thomson 25th March 2014-9th April 2014. The flight was ok, transfer was via private taxi which was nice after being on a plane full of people for 11.5 hours. Its about 1hr 20 from the airport. Once we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a refreshing drink and a cold towel to cool us down. This was lovely except we were kept waiting for over an hour until we were told that the room wasnt ready and we would need to wait until later on to check in, I was really not happy about this as we had spent hours travelling so I complained and we got put in a different room straight away. I am happy to say this is the only negative thing about the whole trip.

Our room was on the third floor and was beautiful, all the rooms are. The breakfast had a really wide choice you can literally have anything that you want there. We only visited the one restaurant on resort which I cannot remember the name of but it is as you go down to the building that breakfast is in its the furthest on the left. Really really great food, but expensive. Much cheaper food can be found in the restaurants surrounding the hotel, the best are out onto the beach to the right, very very cheap food here and good food at that.

The pool area is amazing, lots of little cove areas to sit in, feels like nobody else is there! The pool is just so big, there are plenty of loungers and so much space. The beach area was our favourite though looking out over the beautiful view and every 30mins or so a waiter comes round and serves ice cold water to everyone, then in the afternoon they also hand round cold towels to cool down with. Absolutely perfect.

We went on two of the trips with Thomson, would recommend the khao sok national park, this was a brilliant experience, riding elephants, feeding monkeys and a trip down the river on a canoe. You really do get so much for the money and the guide is a lovely guy really helpful and informative. The other trip was to the similan islands which was good too, but we were disappointed with the Thomson reps advice on this one. Its quite an expensive trip and its much cheaper to book with either someone in khao lak town or some of the restaurants on the beach to the left sell them much cheaper and from closer. With the Thomson one you travel 1.5hours in a mini bus to phucket then 1.5hours on the speedboat to get to the islands. Its a lot of travelling really un necessary to be honest as khao lak is closer to the islands than phuket. The Thomson guy Alan told us not to book with the beach ones as they dont go from a proper harbour and they dont have life jackets etc, well we were shocked when we arrived at a pub and had to walk across the beach to board the boat from a disused section of the beach, certainly not a proper harbour in anyones sense. Anyway once we got there was a lovely trip swam with fish, sea turtles and saw dolphins.

Really would recommend this hotel, we had a really lovely time here and would recommend this to family/friends. The hotel is amazing and from talking to other travellers on the excursions/ at the airport it sounds like we were staying in the best hotel in the area.

Forgot to say the hotel also run a shuttle into the local town which i think was about £1 each, well worth visiting the local town so many little shops and eateries. We also went to the market which was a worthwhile experience.

Room Tip: The swim up rooms looked amazing but to be honest all of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank V A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear V A,

Greetings from Khao Lak!

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing a detailed review about your experience in our resort.

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed a relaxing stay, thank you for your great comments about our rooms, lagoon pool and breakfast.

We have well noted your comments about the room availability upon arrival; we regret to learn we were not able to meet your expectations. We have evaluated the procedure with the team to further improve.

We look forward having the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our last night in Phuket was at JW marriott Khao Lak resort. We had a big trouble to find this hotel through our phone GPS which had given us many wrong directions in Phuket. It was amazing from the check in all the way to the check out. I enjoyed every bit of this resort. The pool, restaurant, breakfast, activities, and certain the duplex room we were upgraded to by being a platinum member of marriott rewards. I would definitely come back again in the future and stay in for a few nights without the need of getting out of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Frank S,

Thank you for writing us with your feedback describing your experience in our resort!

We are very pleased to learn you had a great stay, thank you for your feedback about our Duplex Suite, lagoon pool, breakfast, activities and restaurants.

We sincerely appreciate and would like to thank you for your continuous loyalty to Marriott; we look forward to welcome you back to our resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.5 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#11 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
3.5 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#10 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#2 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Address: 41/12 Moo 3 | Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing