We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the last week in April and loved every minute. The grounds are very well looked after and the pool area is amazing. There was a nice quiet adult only area of the pool for those of us without children. The room, overlooking the swim up rooms was lovely and very comfortable. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and the choice for breakfast was fantastic, with very attentive staff. We ate in the Thai restaurant on our last night and enjoyed the meal, the rest of our stay we ate at the beach restaurants either side of the hotel which were all equally good and very good value.
Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnyGillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear DawnyGillingham,

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing us about your experience in our resort!

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed a great stay, thank you for your kind comments about our rooms, lagoon pool, breakfast and associates.

We all look forward having the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,439)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,599 - 1,605 of 3,439 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our wedding at the JW Marriott in April this year. Firstly let me start by saying that the JW Marriott is a gorgeous resort. I was a bit apprehensive about holding our wedding somewhere I had never visited, but I was confident by all the glowing reviews on trip advisor, that we went ahead and booked!

To our pleasant surprise, the resort was even BETTER then we imagined! As many people have
commented here, the pool is HUGE (it's more like a lake/river). I don't think many of our 70 guests even had the time to swim around the entire pool.. I know I definitely didn't! There
are 2 swim up bars + multiple events/facilities at the resort. It is a massive resort, but you never feel crowded - except for at breakfast maybe. On this matter - the breakfast is awesome, the biggest selection I have ever seen at a resort. The rooms are also beautifully appointed and the service at the resort is 5 star (except for at the pool bars which I thought lacking due to lack of English). Everywhere else was fine though.

The beach is long, rustic and beautiful.. the sunsets here are gorgeous. The resort itself is very isolated, but there are a number of beach hut restaurants right next to the JW Marriott which service delicious food for a fraction of the cost. We actually held our wedding welcome dinner here, at Blue Mist restaurant, for all our 70 guests which was great.

I must give special attention to the Events Manager, Mr Zaffur Noor. Zaffur is an absolute asset to this resort. Zaffur was not only incredibly patient, professional and informative throughout the entire wedding process (which took over a year to plan), he executed the wedding day with beautiful precision. Most of our wedding guests told us it was the most amazing wedding they had ever been to, which was mostly due to the tireless efforts of Zaffur and his wonderful team.

I highly recommend holding your wedding or function at the JW Marriott. It was a truly beautiful experience and I will definitely be going back..

Michelle

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelbelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Shelbelz,

Greetings from Khao Lak!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred destination to celebrate your wedding, we all are very pleased to learn you enjoyed such a fantastic, special event!

Thank you for your kind comments about our lagoon pool, beach area and sunsets.

We will certainly ensure to recognize Zaffar for his outstanding service and efforts provided during your special event.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort for your 1st anniversary!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have just returned from 7 nights at this hotel. as a travel agent I cannot fault the property.
the staff were gorgeous and courteous and went out of their way to assist with the smallest of
requests, the rooms were spacious and very well equipped and the restaurants we found to be very reasonable. the only issue I will comment on is the pool! as nice as it looks - it was TOO hot! I think they had the heater on and it was no relief from the heat at all! but.. if that is the only complaint then the hotel are doing a pretty good job! this is a 5 star hotel that I highly recommend to couples who want to do nothing but chill... it is remote and not much happening around the area. Phuket is 2 hours away if you can be bothered..

Room Tip: the spa is the best! staff are well trained and know what they are doing!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank symbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Symbo,

Greetings from Khao Lak!

Thank you for your kind feedback about your recent experience in our resort!

It's a great pleasure to read your review, thank you for your great comments about our associates, rooms and Quan Spa.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at the JW Marriott Khao Lak for 8 nights. Our package included all meals, 4 spa treatments each and a pool access room.

Firstly, our room was lovely with traditional furnishing, a huge bed, a huge bath and a rain shower.

The whole resort was surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens which were maintained immaculately.

The 3.3km round-resort pool was fantastic although the water does get quite warm at times in the hot season.

The resort has three restaurants plus waterfront restaurant where breakfast and lunch is served. All three restaurants served sensational food especially the sashimi at Sakura. The breakfast buffet had a really wide selection of food and everything was very fresh. The staff at all restaurants (and, indeed, throughout the whole resort) were excellent, very friendly and always willing to help.

Lastly, the beach at Khao Lak is amazing. Beautiful green waters, clean white sands and some of the best sunsets you will ever see.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank akc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Akc2010,

Greetings from the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing us with your kind feedback - we are very happy to learn you enjoyed a great stay.

Thank you for your great comments about our rooms, resort gardens, 16,000 square meter lagoon pool and restaurants.

We look forward having the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We selected this hotel for our Honeymoon... this property is right on the beach... a superb property with breathtaking views and PERFECT hospitality.. We stayed for 4 nights and wished to continue our stay even longer.. :)

Room Tip: Pool view or Pool Access rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shwetasrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Shwetasrw,

Greetings from Khao Lak!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred destination to celebrate your honeymoon, we sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience.

Thank you for your great feedback about our associates and facilities. We all look forward to welcome you back to our resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed for 8 nights over Easter and had a fabulous time. We had a pool access room which was fantastic especially when you have kids. The pool provided endless hours of fun for all. The resort being so large you never felt that any area was crowded. Great cocktails at the infinity pool at sunset. The grounds are well maintained. Every afternoon when we needed time out of the sun we played table tennis or air hockey followed by ice cream at the Deli. The food in Sakura and Ta Krai and Olive restaurant was amazing. I ate the best Japanese and Thai ever. Pizza and pasta at Olive were huge and delicious. Buffet breakfast was sensational. So much to choose from and the freshest waffles. A big hello to Bee who makes the best breakfast smoothies and to Nana for her friendly chats. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. After a long flight to Phuket it was a long drive ( 90min) out to the resort but worth it once you are there. Just relax in the pool.

Room Tip: If you have kids, a pool access room is a must.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 650trishb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Trish B,

Greetings from Khao Lak!

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing us about your experience in our resort.

We are very happy you and your family enjoyed an amazing stay, thank you for your kind comments about our Pool Access room, cocktails, resort grounds, facilities, restaurants and associates.

We will certainly ensure to recognize Khun Bee and Khun Nana for their outstanding service and efforts made.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed 6 nights with our 4 and 6 year old kids and had our best ever vacation with the kids. Every day they woke up and swam out of our the doorstep of our ample sized family suite, it was like having a private pool. They had the nutella crepes or waffles nearly every day, followed by more swimming at the ocean or one of the endless pool selections. Every night we had dinner on the beach at a different venue at or near the JW or in the small towns nearby. The kids loved the kids club anytime of day. We had wonderful couples massage, and thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary happy hour for MR platinum members (breakfast was also complimentary).

We can't think of a better place for a family vacation to get the best use of MR points after a years worth of work travel at Marriott properties around the world. #2 would be the JW Marriott Phuket just north of the airport where we stayed for Xmass - but for us the 1 hour drive to Khao Lak was well worth it. Staff was friendly beyond belief and the whole experience couldn't have been better in any way - other than if we had used more sunscreen our first day. We will be back soon for sure!

Room Tip: The family rooms are larger and are especially nice if you have 2 kids.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumbai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Mumbai69,

Greetings from Khao Lak!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred holiday destination, we sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your recent experience.

We are very happy you and your family enjoyed a great stay, thank you for your great comments about our Pool Access room, pool, breakfast, Kids Club, associates and restaurants.

Thank you for your continuous loyalty to Marriott, we all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
3.6 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
2.5 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
552 reviews
4.6 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
810 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 70 in Khao Lak
500 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Haven Khao Lak
The Haven Khao Lak
#20 of 70 in Khao Lak
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3 | Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: $67 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing